09-06-2007, 11:45 AM
Hey guys
i am woundering if you have any information on the 18 HP tohatsu
i am thinking of buying one and just wanted to know what you thought of them

thanks Boatie

09-06-2007, 12:19 PM
Where's Blaze??
How many hours you got up on yours now Blaze??
:)

Fish Guts
09-06-2007, 12:50 PM
best mate has one on his tinnie. had it for about 15 years. starts first or second go every time. and they have a heap of power and i think a carby change can bring them upto a 25. dont quote me on that thou. but yeah good engine !!

sik008
09-06-2007, 01:14 PM
tohatsu are a japanese motor as you would already know. me neighbour has one and he reckons they are the bees knees aye. They are only 40 kilograms which is pretty light compared to my 40 kilogram 6 evinrude..

cheers alex

09-06-2007, 01:40 PM

The 18 tohey is also the mercury 15super. May be worth keeping in mind when comparing prices and warranty

lenthals_barra
09-06-2007, 02:41 PM
i have and 18 tohatsu n my 13ft tinny and i havnt ever had a thing go wrong with it. im always fishing in it heaps and heaps and never once has it let me down.

09-06-2007, 05:41 PM
love mine, havnt done a lot of hours. Its on a 12 foot brooker and plains 3 people with ease. I looked at suziki, yamaha, johnson and a couple of lesser brands. For me it wasnt a dollar thing but I was looking for something that looked solid, to me they look a little agricutural (said in a good way), very simple = very happy
love it

boatie
09-06-2007, 06:38 PM
thanks for the relpys guys. I agree the 18 is a light outboard for its size. I read some where the other day that the 18 actually puts out 23.8hp and was badged 18 so it was cheaper to import them, dont know if its true or not but it sounds good! if this is true you get almost 25hp in a outboard that weighs as much as a 15.... Power to weight ratio = good!

jimbo 69
09-06-2007, 06:53 PM
what are they worth?

boatie
09-06-2007, 07:10 PM
hey Jimbo69
my dealer said around $2200
and i think thats what Blaze paid for his aswell.

thaks Boatie

seabug
09-06-2007, 08:50 PM
love mine, havnt done a lot of hours. Its on a 12 foot brooker and plains 3 people with ease. I looked at suziki, yamaha, johnson and a couple of lesser brands. For me it wasnt a dollar thing but I was looking for something that looked solid, to me they look a little agricutural (said in a good way), very simple = very happy
love it

I think blaze is being reserved here
He could have really said,
IT GOES LIKE ROCKET with 3 on board.

seabug

fishin_till_late
09-06-2007, 09:00 PM
yer mate fantastic motor
my mate has one.
On his 12 footer it is absulutly flies.
We've had 3 in the boat and a bloke behind on the surfboard and it still up and planing.
I reckon it goes like a 25

Good luck with it

cheers Jono