PDA

View Full Version : Hi all. Looking for help..:-)

daniel.morris
06-06-2007, 04:06 PM
Hi everyone. I am new to the Gold Coast and as with pretty much every new member here I guess, I am looking for some advice.
I am renting a house in Monterey Keys backing onto the lake/canal and was wondering what the fishing is like in there. I am guessing there is plenty of bream in there but does anyone know any more about it? I have a boat too, but just felt like walking to the bottom of the yard after work with a beer and chucking a line in. I would throw most back but may keep the odd one to eat if they were big anough and the general consensus was that they werent so polluted it would kill me....:-)
The kids want to have a crack too but I dont want them to get sick of catching nothing and lose interest. If I know what to target I can figure out the best way to fish. I also thought about giving some fly fishing a crack.
Any help would be appreciated guys.
Thanks all
Hope to post more as I learn more about the Gold Coast waterways.

wombie
06-06-2007, 06:36 PM
can't help you out mate but welcome to the site

cheers Paul

daniel.morris
07-06-2007, 08:46 AM
Hi Paul and thanks.
I had a good look at the lake last night and there were a heap of fish around the 30-40cm mark jumping out of the water. I couldnt make out what they were as it was dark, but the only thing I have seen swimming during the day have been bream. Granted they were small ones but with the small ones must be some bigger ones.
I think it would be a fair bet that there would be a heap of carp in there too which I will be catching and mashing!
If anyone knows anything about monterey keys I am extremely interested.
Boat goes in the water either friday or saturday! Looking forward to getting it wet with something other than rain....;D

Roughasguts
07-06-2007, 11:40 AM
Them fish that are jumping, are possibly Mullet, good luck catching them.

daniel.morris
07-06-2007, 11:43 AM