PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Boat

shabss
04-06-2007, 08:47 AM
Fellow Ausfishers

I need some advice. I have only recently got my boat licence and only been fishing for about a year and a half. So I am fairly new to fshing and boating as well. I am about to purchase a 4.3m Clark Abalone 96 model with 98 model Yamaha Enduro outboard for around $5000. It is in very good nick but dirty and I have gone out with it around Coochie and am happy with it. Any advice on whether this is a good boat or not and whether I am making a good choice. All help will be appreciated. As accessories the following is included.
EPIRB, 4 life jackets, 2 anchors, oars, Lowrance X86 f/f brand new, hand held VHF radio, flares, Lowrance gps which needs some attention, registration till about september, crab pots, bilge pump, yabbie pump, spare s/s propellor, outboard prop, tilt trailer, spare tyre.
I am going to get the outboard checked some time this week

finga
04-06-2007, 09:12 AM
What size outboard matey??
Sounds good though.
Dirt can be washed off. It's what's under the dirt that matters.
It might be an idea to go for a longer cruise in it though.
Make sure all the safety gear is in test date and the jackets are of the approved type.
GPS needing attention sounds suss though as repairs sometimes are more expensive then new ones.
Your doing the right thing in getting the outboard checked :)

shabss
04-06-2007, 10:20 AM
sorry to mention outboard is 40 hp yamaha enduro

shabss
04-06-2007, 10:45 AM
heres some pics of the boat

saurian
04-06-2007, 11:26 AM
Chubby , used to own 4.3 with 50 honda.I took it all over the kimberleys buy road & sea and it never let me down.The hull likes to have a decent load in it to counteract the beamy nose.Can be a bit wet ( more like soaking) but a very strong tinny for size.Mine cost $ 2,500 hull only new in about 1994/1995 ??Double gunnells will be annoying for mounting rod holders, apart from that looks like a safe purchase, albeit motor.Ta

FNQCairns