View Full Version : yamaha cv series

swamped
30-05-2007, 04:19 PM
hi all,

i was just wondering what motor i should get for my tinny and i was told that the yamaha cv series motors 25-30 are suposibly 100cc more than a stock 25-30hp and they are supposibly cheaper and ligher than the normal yamahas.

I was wondering if anybody knew the exact price and if you can get them in a shortshaft or long shart version.

swamped8-)

30-05-2007, 05:02 PM
mate the Yammy website is good for the tech stuff.. Cv From memory was the pre-mix engines with no guages or somthing to that effect

30-05-2007, 05:29 PM
Gday swamped The 25cv weighs about 5kg more and has a bigger displacement 496cm3 compared to 395cm3 in the standard both have the same output 18.4kw. WOT 4500-5500cv and about 5000- 6000 on the standard.They come in longshaft as well. I had a 25cv longshaft on my first boat good motor, tended to splutter a bit if you did a bit of trolling though. Don't know prices sorry.

30-05-2007, 05:57 PM

Best off looking up the yamaha marine website and then ringing a few dealers to get an idea of $$$

Bowser
30-05-2007, 08:25 PM
The CV is the Belmont of the Yammie range. You will really notice the difference in engines, especially in the 30hp. The CV is a single carb 2 pot vs triple carb 3 pot and compared to the standard motor (or hi tech motor as some dealers will call it) the CV will run rougher and transmit heaps more vibration to the boat and particularly to the poor bloke holding the tiller. Unless cash is a major problem I would always buy the standard motor over a CV. It is just a better motor and you will appreciate the diference. And if money is a concern I have a good 3 pot for sale since I upsized my motor. PM me if you are interested.

Coontakinta
31-05-2007, 11:23 AM
Swamped, have u considered a Tohatsu over the CV Yamaha? Tohies are fantastic value sure they may not have the resale of the other brands but they are soooo smooth and reliable.

swamped
31-05-2007, 03:32 PM
dunno im not sure bout the tohi, only cus its hard to start and i dont relly like the feel of em and i want a yammy cus i know how to use em better than the tohi and the tohi is more bulkier

BM
31-05-2007, 06:18 PM
CV stands for Customer Value and is a nice marketing spin on "tight arse" model. No oil injection, instruments or any other bells and whistles.

Edencraft
31-05-2007, 06:21 PM
Most small 2-stroke non efi motors ar built by Tohatsu and just rebadged for the individual manafacturer. IMO they are the best value two stroke on the market by a mile.