View Full Version : Dolly weave

Owen
27-05-2007, 03:22 PM
Just finished wrapping the weave on the rod I started at the RBW.
Decided to put a dolly on it in the hopes that it will attract them ;D

Pretty happy with how this is going so far.
I made a few mistakes, mainly due to the fact that I lose concentration after a couple of hours. I also really struggle at night to see :(

Anyhoo

Here's how it goes.

Pic 1 shows the layout I did in PicToWeave.

Pic 2 shows my very expensive weaving jig.

Pic 3 shows the beginning of many many hours of weaving :)

It's Madeira Polyneon thread.
I must say I like this stuff! (Says the expert doing his second ever weave)
Stay away from the rayon though. It's very weak by comparison.

Owen
27-05-2007, 03:25 PM
This series shows

1: Just finished the weave (83 threads X 135 rotations - 4 layers)
No tightening or packing done yet.

2: Started to tighten it up.

3: Starting to look like a fish :)

Owen
27-05-2007, 03:28 PM
Now we have

1: Final tightening introduces a few gaps we have to pack out.

2: All finished ready for CP

3: First coat of CP (still wet)

Owen
27-05-2007, 03:32 PM
One thing with this weaving caper is you're always a hairs breadth from disaster ;D (well I am anyway)

You'll notice a second run of thread on there. Guess who trimmed the tag too close and snipped the wrap thread? :dunce:

I'm crapping myself about this CP too. It seems to have darkened the threads quite a bit. I'm praying they don't lose their lustre.

More pics to come when I start the finish.

sid_fishes
27-05-2007, 06:43 PM
owen, mate the weave looks bloody great and the program worked a treat as well. so how long did the weave take from start to finish cheers ian

DaveB
27-05-2007, 09:07 PM
:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Great effort! Thanks for posting the pics. I'm keen to see pics once the poxy is on too.

Owen
27-05-2007, 09:19 PM
owen, mate the weave looks bloody great and the program worked a treat as well. so how long did the weave take from start to finish cheers ian

Took a long time. After a couple of hours I start to go :dizzy:
I reckon probably 15-20 hours all up from laying up to finishing the weave.
i put too many fiddly bits in it that didn't really add much to the finished product as they're too small.

Ya live & learn I guess.

2DKnBJ
27-05-2007, 09:26 PM
Looks damn good Owen.
I think i will get my cross wraps looking a bit better before i try a weave like that.

Cheers Dazza

28-05-2007, 06:25 AM
Nice one matey. The hours show in the nice job.:D
Bummer about cutting the wrong thread though. Idiot me :wut: did that the other day but it was only on a runner. I would have been peeved for days for cutting the wrong thread on that weave. But that'll only be after a big :bigcry:

At least by doing the weaves you now have another excuse for going blind eh ;)

Well done eh :)

Owen
30-05-2007, 07:45 PM
I made a few changes to the design.
Made the pectoral fin grey the same as the belly.
Got rid of most of the bones in the dorsal fin.
Made the blue spots design threads instead of using the wrap thread. This will make the spots stand out better.
Altered the mouth area.
Made the anal fin green so it would stand out.
Used a lighter wrap thread.

If anyone would like to try the MkII version you can download the design & left list (no need to use the programme) in PDF format from
http://www.dare.id.au/dare/photos/MKII-dolly-weave.zip

I won't get time for a while, so I'd love to see how it goes for someone else.

Owen
16-06-2007, 10:06 AM
Had a major disaster with the finish on my weave.
The idler wheel on the drying setup worked its way up the rod and mangled both the almost dry epoxy and the thread :'(
Never had it happen before so I'm assuming the helix wound fibre on the pacific composites blank worked like a thread.
Needless to say all parts of the dryer are henceforth bolted to the bench.

So I re-did the weave and thought I'd try a few changes to make it stand out better.
Whent for a light blue background thinking it's make the fish stand out more and changed the layout a bit to make some details show up more.

Interestingly, the metallic blue bits which show up well in the photo are almost imperceptible by eye. Maybe when I can see it outside in the sun??

After I finished I decided I hated the light blue :-/
So I tried a bit of marbling to spice it up. Was hoping it's look like rippling water.

Having heaps of trouble with bubbles on this one. They seem to be coming out of the underlying thread (at six layers it's pretty thick).
Applying heat in some spots actually makes it worse! Bubbles pour out.
The cold weather doesn't seem to be helping either.

Might have to try more coats of colour preserver in future to try to seal it.

anyhow, here's a pic of MKII so far.
One coat of epoxy applied.

19-06-2007, 09:20 AM
Doooh :wut:
What a bugger matey.
Over engineering is the go ;D

Which CP are you using???
I tried the American Tackle one and thought it was crap.

Now the Cook's gee-gee paddock is nearly done I'm planning on next week to be able to do something else...weave/wrap don't know yet. :)