View Full Version : Clever boat names

mowerman
26-05-2007, 03:44 PM
I was coming thru Cleveland this morning after dropping the eldest at netball, when waiting for traffic at one of the roundabouts, this vehicle and boat went past.

The boat was an older white glass model. About 15 feet.
And the name on the side was FAR-CANAL.

Strange name was the first thought. One of my slow ex country boy moments.

Then I said the name aloud.
You try it. Only not in front of the missus or kids..

johnsonMAN
26-05-2007, 03:53 PM
u have never heard that??

mowerman
26-05-2007, 03:56 PM
Herd it plenty of times. Mainly directed at me.

ashh
26-05-2007, 04:14 PM
saw a builder towing his boat and the name of it was "Fish'n'Chippy"

ffejsmada
26-05-2007, 05:25 PM
There's a pro boat up here called "ARMAGEDDIN'', and in smaller letters behind this reads "da fuk oudda here"
Pretty good I reckon.:)

Dan5
26-05-2007, 05:29 PM
Seen a small noosa cat called TUNNEL VISION {think a ghinocologist owns it}

snelly1971
26-05-2007, 05:39 PM
The previous owner named my boat WASN`T ME....All my mates think that the name suits me very well...

Cheers Mick

snelly1971
26-05-2007, 05:40 PM
PS...An Ab diver here just renamed his boat Blewhisarseoff.....

Blew his arse off.....

Cheers Mick

26-05-2007, 06:22 PM
There are a couple of clever boat names out there for Poly boats. One I saw at Bribie called "FANTASTIC PLASTIC" but the best one I saw was a large poly in the Pin named "MICROWAVE SAFE!"

mirage
26-05-2007, 06:34 PM
There's a tinny in an ad on TV (might be for BCF) named "Unsinkable II". I thought that was original!

dunmears
26-05-2007, 06:54 PM
I like to have a bet on the horses now and again with very little luck. I think my name (Dunmears) is a good choice.

manchild
26-05-2007, 06:55 PM
Maybe old but i think norfolk enchants takes the cake
George

manchild
26-05-2007, 07:02 PM
There's a tinny in an ad on TV (might be for BCF) named "Unsinkable II". I thought that was original!
Makes you wonder what happened to unsinkable 1:)
George

tully
26-05-2007, 09:11 PM
since I usually go solo, I called my poly "Bloke & tackle":P
All the best poly puns were taken.

27-05-2007, 05:10 AM
would love to hear people have to make a may day or similar call with the boat names they have...or even logging on or off.

27-05-2007, 05:15 AM
Boat skipper: Mayday, mayday, mayday..this is far-canal…taking water rapidly etc

VMR: boats name and location etc

B-S: Far-canal

VMR: Cut out the language and give me the boat name please.

BS: far-canal

VMR: I know you are stressing but please give me your boat’s name clearly and concisely.

BS: far-canal, my boat’s name is far-canal

VMR: Please settle down and give me your boat’s name

VMR: ok, we give up..

maztez
27-05-2007, 06:55 AM
Brett and I have the "MISTRESS" to play with . spose its a bit of a bloke thing.The one before was called "XTASEA". My father in law has his cc called "LIAR"and has called all his boats the same name for the past 45years that I know off .
cheers Terry

27-05-2007, 09:48 AM
About 25 yrs ago there was a boat that was a regular out at deep tempest called CATCHALOT the next season a rival fisho was seen out there with a boat named CATCHALOTMORE.

My boat's name is ASPRO cuz it spends so much time outa the water its sure to fizzle next time it hits the river.

Ryan.S
27-05-2007, 12:11 PM
I worked construction with a bloke who's brother hurt his foot at work. Got a substantial payout, bought a boat and called it the "Crookfoot." Thought that was pretty clever. Im still of work from a bad burn injury. Wonder what i should call my next Boat?????

fish_on
27-05-2007, 01:02 PM
i have heard of it before only after my brother and i named our first boat far canal. gee and that night after a thousand beers we thought we were original. ha ha

dnej
27-05-2007, 01:10 PM
Like me,mine is "Fairly Olde"

bay_firey
27-05-2007, 02:57 PM
Not so much a funny boat name but many years ago in hervey bay saw a 4wd towing a boat down the main street.
Car rego plate was - MY CAR
Trailer rego plate was - MY BOAT

eimeo
27-05-2007, 10:20 PM
WOFTAM
waste of f,,,,,ing time and money is one you see a lot

dave

Sea-Dog
27-05-2007, 11:09 PM
I Googled boat names once.

My favourite was "Fog Ducker" ;D

Wait a moment...... wasn't that a spoonerism? :-[

27-05-2007, 11:31 PM
Boat skipper: Mayday, mayday, mayday..this is far-canal…taking water rapidly etc

VMR: boats name and location etc

B-S: Far-canal

VMR: Cut out the language and give me the boat name please.

VMR: I know you are stressing but please give me your boat’s name clearly and concisely.

BS: far-canal, my boat’s name is far-canal

VMR: Please settle down and give me your boat’s name

VMR: ok, we give up..

Wouldn't want the VMR vessel to be named Focker Freindship.

VMR: We'll be sending our Focker Freindship out to help.

B.S: I don't want your Focker Freindship i just want your Focking help!!!!

Deiter
28-05-2007, 01:08 AM
double up, sorry

Deiter
28-05-2007, 01:09 AM
Getting the letters made up for my tinnies new name,

"For King Tacks"

Damo;)

mako101
28-05-2007, 07:54 AM
I have come up with what I think are original names for my boat.

Best so far is decent sea and Fishin Sea.

Anyone heard any of these before?.

Chris Ryan
28-05-2007, 10:16 AM
Saw a large cruiser with a great name "She got the House & Kids". Seen a cute one "Dad & I".

I called mine "Lions Pride" as we all have birthdays in 3 days together in August so all Leo's - besides I am proud of my boat we are a family of Lions :)

28-05-2007, 10:22 AM
My mates boat is called `"Make my day" soley because he loves it when he calls into Seaway tower and they reply " Go ahead,'Make my Day"

28-05-2007, 10:55 AM
not mine, but have seen "r sover" "r sup" "far Q" "far cough"

the gecko
28-05-2007, 11:03 AM
I saw a boat called 'red sky at night'. Thats a good one (- sailors delight).

angler1
28-05-2007, 11:25 AM
my first tinny was called "bait & wait" .

Chris Ryan
28-05-2007, 11:29 AM
My mates boat is called `"Make my day" soley because he loves it when he calls into Seaway tower and they reply " Go ahead,'Make my Day"

That is bloody clever! LOL ;D

28-05-2007, 11:39 AM

I bought a little caper cat a few years back, it was called "keeps me sane"

russ81
28-05-2007, 11:43 AM
Hows it going guys
Mine is called "fishin impossible" cause the misses never lets me out.
Russ

longtail
28-05-2007, 07:44 PM
my boats called 'need-a-feed'

Jason.

nclemo
28-05-2007, 08:10 PM
we were up at the fraser comp last week there were 300 plus boats there with some great names but the one i thought was a laugh was WIFE SWAP
the boat we fished out of was HOOKED UP had a great week

clemo

Chris Ryan
28-05-2007, 08:11 PM
There are a couple of clever boat names out there for Poly boats. One I saw at Bribie called "FANTASTIC PLASTIC" but the best one I saw was a large poly in the Pin named "MICROWAVE SAFE!"

Oh Poo - that is very funny. Gave me a good chuckle!!!;D

28-05-2007, 08:20 PM
Oh Poo - that is very funny. Gave me a good chuckle!!!;D

Yeah I think Microwave Safe is a clever and funny name for a polycraft. Was a big blue poly. I was with Scalem that day and we decided to hover over a spot which looked interesting and we scored a couple of Pin squire. I should go there this weekend and see if I can find it while I am out there during the Touchy Wood M&G. Bream are good to catch but a couple of squire to compliment the catch would be pretty good. ;)

PeteM
29-05-2007, 11:57 PM
There are some good boat names (with a degree of thought put into them), and there are some very funny ones!

A mate of mine had been on to his wife for years to get a boat, but she wanted to spend the money on a new kitchen.

In the end the mate got his boat, but he thought of his wife and called the boat........."Jenny's Kitchen"!

Chris Ryan
30-05-2007, 07:02 AM
Yeah I think Microwave Safe is a clever and funny name for a polycraft. Was a big blue poly. I was with Scalem that day and we decided to hover over a spot which looked interesting and we scored a couple of Pin squire. I should go there this weekend and see if I can find it while I am out there during the Touchy Wood M&G. Bream are good to catch but a couple of squire to compliment the catch would be pretty good. ;)

We'll be there for Sunday mate - hope to finally meet you face-to-face!!;D

rando
30-05-2007, 09:58 AM
Two doctors up in FNQ had a yacht called,"OUTA SIGHT OUTA MIND" one of them was an optometrist the other a psychiatrist.

30-05-2007, 10:13 AM
mine is called "TMD"..nothing funny or very clever in naming it...but it does stand for something pretty special to me.

murf
30-05-2007, 02:46 PM
my little tinnie is called Good SPOT

she loves it when I am on it;)

Cheers Murf

Danthefireman
30-05-2007, 02:55 PM
My wife lets me fish for as long as i like and when i like. i can buy any gear i need without a fight. She even let me buy the boat i wanted, her only stipulation was she wanted to name it so i said "Thanks Hun", she said that would do. ;D gets a few laughs at the ramps but what shuts them up is when i tell them that she never asks or demands for me to fish(except a feed):)
Dano

Birchy
30-05-2007, 04:22 PM
A Clever boat name i have come across is PORK HUNT,
Abit crass but it would be funny radioing the coast guard.

Birchy

sambos
30-05-2007, 06:44 PM
my brother in law is getting a new boat built.we have been thinking of a name for some time now.just came up with a good name."OFFICIAL BUISNESS".The secretary is all ways asking where we, are so now we can truthfully say were out on official business

Chris Ryan
30-05-2007, 06:58 PM
mine is called "TMD"..nothing funny or very clever in naming it...but it does stand for something pretty special to me.

I hope you don't mind Pinhead but I asked Scalem what boat you had the other day and he told me what it means. I think that is fantastic and a great tribute mate!

Puff ;)

withoutatrace
30-05-2007, 07:10 PM

crazboutfishin
30-05-2007, 07:12 PM
the new boat is called "spin doctor" which has a few different meanings. The main one being that the old mariners that would come back from sea and would often tell there tales but would always spin a yarn to make it more exciting. They ended up being called Spin Doctors. the second being that the term Spin Doctor is used in the media and politics for reffering to dishonest politics. and third and final is to mean the spin a reel for mackeral or lure fishing. dad thought he was pretty clever. hahhaa. i plan to call my tinny "Crazy" haha. Col helped me with that.

Crazy

russ81
30-05-2007, 07:15 PM
I was over in WA recently and saw one named " FLUK 'N' BROKE and by the state of the tinney he was in i think he was dead on.
Russ

mamu
30-05-2007, 07:16 PM
I worked construction with a bloke who's brother hurt his foot at work. Got a substantial payout, bought a boat and called it the "Crookfoot." Thought that was pretty clever. Im still of work from a bad burn injury. Wonder what i should call my next Boat?????

"third" degree,( pun being thats what you get from yhe cook when you get home late from a good day out and ......well its obvious.)
or "Smokin"

brettrock
30-05-2007, 07:26 PM
Bring Out Another Thousand......is a good'en.

and Tax Dodge I saw up north..

3rd degree
30-05-2007, 07:53 PM
My Boat is called "3rd Degree"

This is for several reasons;

My surname is Byrne;
I some times get burnt out there;
I usually get the 3rd degree on arrival home

goldie 70
30-05-2007, 08:28 PM
Mine is 'Knot 'A' Clu'

tully
30-05-2007, 09:03 PM
Used to be an old bluefin parked near my place called MULL-A-WAY. :freak: :beatnik:
Couldn't help having a chuckle at that every time I drove past. No wonder it never seemed to move.

Jabiru658
30-05-2007, 09:07 PM
I must admit to being a Star Trek Fan (yes I admit to being a geek), so I looked for a boat name that had both a fishing reference and a Star Trek reference and I ended up with "Delta Flyer".

I mostly fish in the rivers and estuaries (river deltas are at the end of big rivers), and the Delta Flyer was the name of the shuttlecraft on the USS Voyager in the Star Trek Voyager series.

Reel Nauti
30-05-2007, 09:39 PM
Mine's the same as my membername, "Reel Nauti"

trueblue
31-05-2007, 08:44 AM
There is a big boat that puts in regularly at Scarborough called "NRNR"

In small letters underneath is says "No root no ride"

31-05-2007, 06:49 PM
Know some top blokes and top fishermen that own an old quinne CC with NAFA in big letters on the side. When i asked what it meant they said "Not A Fishermans #######.

Giggle to myself everytime i see it considering theyre rarely without a jack when theyre chasing them.

Cheers Chris

manchild
31-05-2007, 07:51 PM
My first boat was called MILFER and its wasnt about the fish either if you know what i mean::) I was 19 with a 37 years old girlfriend:o
george

hijacked70
31-12-2007, 11:22 AM
Mine is 'Knot 'A' Clu'

By far the best name for your boat too. Sure you didnt jinx it when you named it that?

::)

Noha
31-12-2007, 11:54 AM
i have got a 4.55 poly that i named polygamous, look it up in the dictionary if you dont know what it means.
seen a boat on the hawksbury river years ago with the name Master Baiter.

Wahoo
31-12-2007, 12:10 PM

thats a beauty, i like that.... LOL

SNAPPERCOFFIN
31-12-2007, 01:29 PM
Something about different

SNAPPERCOFFIN

This is the boat where all snapper come to die.

flairj
31-12-2007, 01:40 PM
My dream boat would be one of those pointy new fibreglass tournament boats with a giant outboard on the back and a wrap with a women in lingerie laying down the length of the boat and the name of the boat is "High Priced Hooker".

One day ( after I win Lotto )

Josh

upstart
31-12-2007, 02:08 PM
I have two boats, one is called Great Karma and the other is HelBenT which is a mix of my name (Ben) and my wife's name (Helen).

Fatenhappy
31-12-2007, 03:12 PM
Had two boat in recent times called Fatenhappy and Fatenhappytoo

Cheers Greg ;D