View Full Version : drag on sol 2000 v2500

gregdeeth
26-05-2007, 10:59 AM
looking into buying a sol but cant decide on which size 2000 or 2500, im assuming that the 2500 is going to have a sturdier drag,
but would prefer the size and weight of the 2000, which balances up better on the rod i want.

does anyone know the drag capacities of each?

i would be using the reel with 8 & 10lb braid.

any info would be great

greg

27-05-2007, 09:33 AM
G'day Greg,

Not sure about the difference between the two - but here is some useful info for you http://www.tackletour.com/reviewtdsolspin.html looks like the 2500 has in excess of 6kg of drag, at a guess I would say that the 2000 would be similar. If you are only using 8 - 10lb braid I don't think you'll have any problems with either.

skeeter
27-05-2007, 02:19 PM
Hi Greg

I bought a td sol 2000 about 2 months ago and still have original box, instructions but no where does it reference drag specifications (other than its waterproof). When I compared the 2000 and the 2500 spool sizes were the only noticable difference but I admit I didn't check the drag strengths. I run 4lb and 6lb fireline of the spools with no problems yet. Nice reels.

yellahunter
27-05-2007, 02:42 PM
thats interesting Peter,
so the main difference is the spool.

when i got my sol 2500 they didnt have the 200 so couldnt see the difference,

Cloud_9
27-05-2007, 04:29 PM
i think unless your running 20lb briad ether 1 will be ok.
there TD reels so the drags are good if not fantastic.
they would be as a stella.
cheers Cloud 9

ANGLERnotDANGLER
27-05-2007, 05:50 PM
the only difference between thse reels is the spool size

27-05-2007, 06:37 PM
the only difference between thse reels is the spool size
This is close to the mark for most brands ! .... Nagg

gregdeeth
29-05-2007, 05:46 PM
thanks for info guys great food for thought

land-lubber
29-05-2007, 08:52 PM
both will handle 8-10lb no problems, i have a diawa laguna 2000 thats 2 yrs old and have never had a drag problem, it has caught some pretty impressive landbased fish so its had a good test. Barra to 80cm, squire to 56cm, 2.5kg parrot, 4kg blackall etc. i reckon ive tested it pretty thoroughly :)
that was a 175 buck reel at the time so id say the sol is even better

Bennywise
30-05-2007, 03:15 PM
Hey Guy's.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but it is my understanding that in the daiwa range that most of the 2000's have a 4kg drag and the 2500's have a 7kg drag.

marty+jojo
30-05-2007, 04:34 PM
Greg,
I have a TD Sol 2000 with 6 pound fireline on it, the drag is silky smooth, it is strong and best fish to date on it is a 72cm Snapper that went 4kgs, it handled it no worries at all.
The only reason i would go for the 2500 would be if you were to use it for chasing macks or tuna, if you were the 2500 would have a slighly faster retrieve ratio and more line capacity.
Marty.

gregdeeth
06-06-2007, 07:31 PM
hey guys

extending on the topic of spool sizes. if thats the only difference in the reel is it then possible to have a 2000 spool for light work and then switch to a 2500 for bigger fish. or do they not fit. has anyone tested it out?

davo
07-06-2007, 11:54 AM
The difference is that the Daiwa 1500's and 2000's are the same but one has a larger spool, while the 2500 and the 3000 have the same gear box. If you fish lightter then go the 2000 if you are a hard core snapper plastic fishermen then go the 2500. Also the 2500 has the larger handle.

barkers creek
07-06-2007, 07:01 PM
gday greg
at my local tackle shop they do what they call a "drage upgrade" dont ask me how but it cost $25 dollas and it allows u to put more line on and stonger line it also does sumthingh to the drag but cant really help ya with the quistion hope this helped a bit