View Full Version : Transducer Power
chainsaw
26-05-2007, 08:49 AM
I am fitting the Furuno 585 with the Airmar SS164 tilted element to the boat. My problem is that I cant decide between the 600w or the 1Kw (cost, no worries). Will be using boat in rivers and on the reef (Mackay to Cape). Have spoken to a few people and get various answers, so is there a problem by having too powerful a transducer in shallower water?
26-05-2007, 03:58 PM
I am fitting the Furuno 585 with the Airmar SS164 tilted element to the boat. My problem is that I cant decide between the 600w or the 1Kw (cost, no worries). Will be using boat in rivers and on the reef (Mackay to Cape). Have spoken to a few people and get various answers, so is there a problem by having too powerful a transducer in shallower water?
Only if you don't know how to use the sounder properly :P
Tassie JR
26-05-2007, 04:05 PM
hey mate have the 585 with a airmar 600w it picks up the bottem in 100 meters of water with no problem and in shallow water it is just as good.
cheers tassie JR
26-05-2007, 04:12 PM
Chainsaw
i have just got this set up and you can regulate the power to the transducer so this isn't a issue, what is the issue is that the 1kw transducers are not just more powerful there also more sensitive as they have separate heads for the 50khz and 200khz functions and these are going to give you better readings. In short the 1kw is going to do everything the 600w is going to do ,but the 600w can not do what the 1kw does.
snelly1971
26-05-2007, 04:42 PM
What is the max depth that you will be fishing at...?????
Cheers Mick
chainsaw
26-05-2007, 06:20 PM
Thank You to Spaniard_ King, OK thats me. also Tassie JR and Snelly 1971, thank you also for your comments. I did find a previous thread on this subject but it did not cover my question. Finding_Time you have got my money, thats the answer I was looking for. Anyone care to differ feal free, we all may learn.
Thank you to all I hope that this will help others. (buy the way the Airmar SS164 which has just been released, I have been quoted $569us, for the 1Kw.
Regards Rod