View Full Version : Using Up 2 stroke fuel ?

kingtin
25-05-2007, 09:40 AM
To settle an argument, ::) What are your thoughts on using up 2 stroke before it goes off?

An example.........unleaded mixed at 50/1. Would you put it in your vehicle and if so, at what ratio to what's in the tank ie if you had 30 litres in your vehicle, how much of a 50/1 mix would you feel it is safe to add.

Once added and burned, would you consider topping up with fresh petrol and adding some more 2 stroke? would there be a cumulative detrimental effect if you did this regularly? eg you have 20 litres of 2 stroke and 80 litres in your vehicles 90 litre tank. Would you think it safe to add 5 litres of the 2 stroke.........run your tank down to say 10 litres, fill it to 80 again and repeat the process 4 times till the 20 litres of 2 stroke is used up? By the time you'd got to the third or 4th go, those 10 litres that you're leaving in your tank each time you top up, would be adding more oil to the next 50/1 mix, would it not?

On a less safe note, would you add 2 stroke to your boat's tank if it was a 4stroke or sterndrive?

I know it's been covered before but we now have many new members so what do you consider the safe storage time for a 2 stroke mix?

25-05-2007, 09:51 AM
no problems with putting it in your car, you will not even notice any smoke, done it heaps of times, you can even run a fair percentage of diesel in a petrol car with little or no damgae, when we had the petrol strikessome years back and you could only get certain amounts of petrol everyone used their outbopard fuel and many (me included) added a few dollars worth of diesel at times to keep the tank topped up, probably would not recomend trying it any high performance cars, but your common old "family sedan" no problem.

Grunter71
25-05-2007, 11:31 AM
I have done it before.

I added 5 litres each time I filled the tank(40 litres).

No smoke, no difference to the running of the vehicle.

25-05-2007, 12:35 PM
Probably wouldn't use more of the mix than 20% by volume of new fuel at a time due to catalytic converters and some of the engine managemant sensors in new cars but only if I was pedantic, being early to 'flash' tcw3 gets a good workout in modern high heat engines, tcw3 is also a low ash formula so no problem from that direction either.

In the past I have run 50:1 ex outboard fuel almost straight in an injected car a fair few times+ it has had hundreds of L of premix through it over time, never a problem noticed over a real test period - 300k/km.

seabug
25-05-2007, 12:43 PM
Seems to go OK by itself in the ride-on mower.

seabug

snelly1971
25-05-2007, 02:23 PM
Yeah I am the same...I usually empty the boat tank every 6 months and run it in my car....Never caused me any problems...

Cheers Mick

CHAPPY
25-05-2007, 02:57 PM
Re 50:1 Outboard Fuel In The Car.

I Usually Only Store Mixed Fuel For 4 To 6 Weeks Then Empty It Into The Falcon Ute 96 Model Injected. The Car Shows No Reaction . I Have Been Doing This For Years With No Adverse Effect. I Was Caught Once Up The Creek With Bad Fuel. Never Again. The Thing Is, All You Are Loosing Is The Cost Of The Oil.

Regards And Best Wishes
Bush Budah

hondaguy
26-05-2007, 08:11 PM
May off topic but my mate use 2st oil 10ml/litre in the old '76 crusier with a 2F motor. Stops all rattle and pinging reckons better than valve saver. Tows over 2t