View Full Version : Mariner 25 For Sale

23-05-2007, 07:41 AM
G'day everyone, just seeing if anyone with outboard knowledge is interested in my now surplus Mariner 25hp outboard. It is '70's vintage when Yamaha made them and it still goes but one cylinder is down on compression so for someone with a bit of knowledge it might be of use to you. Top cylinder is still a healthy 165psi but the bottom one originally was at 70psi but after a run it came up to 80psi. A good source said it may well be a stuck ring due to carbon build up or something and may well come good with use but I am not sure about it. The motor had been sitting still for about 4 years before my first run with it. The motor itself has no visible signs of corrosion around the gaskets suggesting little or no saltwater use so it might be worth doing up. Have been told that it is probably worth around $500 for me to sell but I just want it gone because I have way too much clutter around the house as it is so out it goes for $300 if anyone is interested. Here are two photos of it actually going. The first is depicting the tell tail because I did put in a brand new impeller and the second is an action shot of it pushing the tinny along with me and the two kids on board.

P.S. I could have paid someone to rebuild it however it would cost more that way and I don't have the mechanical know how to do it myself and save so when another motor came along at the right price I snapped it up. Was a faster way to get me out on the water.

25-05-2007, 12:31 PM
Okay it seems that there is no interest at $300.00 so let's try $200.00 . Surely someone would want to do an old Mariner 25 up for that? Will try the Trading Post next I think.

Achjimmy
25-05-2007, 08:12 PM
Okay it seems that there is no interest at $300.00 so let's try $200.00 . Surely someone would want to do an old Mariner 25 up for that? Will try the Trading Post next I think.

Hi poodroo

I can not Pm yet. Where is Mt Warren in relation to Brisbane/beenliegh. Do you know how long the leg is?

Rgds

26-05-2007, 08:16 AM
Mt. Warren is on the south edge of Beenleigh (near the showgrounds) and it's a short leg with new impellor

26-05-2007, 01:47 PM
Mt. Warren is on the south edge of Beenleigh (near the showgrounds) and it's a short leg with new impellor

Well said by the man who installed the new impeller but finga didn't mention the motor is worth every bit of $200.00. Heck I spent $60.00 just on the new impeller. :-/ ::)

26-05-2007, 05:42 PM
Well said by the man who installed the new impeller but finga didn't mention the motor is worth every bit of $200.00. Heck I spent $60.00 just on the new impeller. :-/ ::)

And I spent 4 hours fixing the broken gear linkage :-/

Achjimmy
26-05-2007, 05:56 PM
Couldnt get hold of my mate today. Do you think this would be too heavy to be an aux on a 4.5m Quintrex?

26-05-2007, 06:41 PM
Couldnt get hold of my mate today. Do you think this would be too heavy to be an aux on a 4.5m Quintrex?
I'm not so sure. It probably would be a bit big.

28-05-2007, 06:52 PM
Well no takers??? Final price reduction. $150.00. Has to be worth that surely?

DR
28-05-2007, 07:48 PM
i can't believe you haven't sold this motor, it's probably worth heaps more than that for spares.. but a working outboard for $150 :P

29-05-2007, 04:25 AM
i can't believe you haven't sold this motor, it's probably worth heaps more than that for spares.. but a working outboard for $150 :P

Yeah tell me about it DR. There is potential for someone to buy it with no anticipation to use it but rather resell it for profit. I just have no use for it and it is going be another thing for me to trip over in the dark if it stays here. If I had the know how I would pull it apart myself and rebuild it but I don't.

29-05-2007, 08:32 AM
I'll play with it for $100.
Seeing I already know how to take the power head off.
Only if your desperate though as I really don't need another project. I have way too many projects as it is.

darrmun
29-05-2007, 12:55 PM
gi'day mate,
have just shown this to a mate @ work & he's instructed me to reply @ once to say that i'll pick it up if still available mb 0408877733 ,wk 37172639

regards darryn

29-05-2007, 04:58 PM
Well finally I can say the motor is sold!

pimp my boat
29-05-2007, 06:49 PM
gee poodroo I thought you may have to chuck in a few snapper to get a bite.
IF ONLY

29-05-2007, 07:27 PM
gee poodroo I thought you may have to chuck in a few snapper to get a bite.
IF ONLY

Lol. It was beginning to look a little like it huh? As it turns out Darrmun is a great person and it was a pleasure meeting and doing business with him. It looks likely he will be coming out with me on a snapper hunt in the near future so technically there are snapper included in the deal. ::)

20-06-2007, 02:50 PM
Gawd, I was starting to think EBAY !!!

Poodroo, you better register yourself as a charity ;D

23-06-2007, 03:51 PM
Gawd, I was starting to think EBAY !!!

Poodroo, you better register yourself as a charity ;D

Gawd I thought this thread was done and dusted but there had to be one last comment. Good on ya Dirtysanchez. :P