View Full Version : They're on! But for how long?

kingtin
19-05-2007, 06:36 AM
Just got back from dropping the little feller off at his footy match at shorncliffe.

We counted 47 tinnies directly off the end of the pier in an area no bigger than a footy pitch.

Dunno what I felt really :-/ but for some reason, it wasn't happiness for others, at getting a feed of prawns. Yes, it's a big bay, but is this, (and it will get worse with time), really "sustainable farming" by "reccos"?

I looked for the refrigerator truck but it wasn't there, as it has been in the past. Perhaps it is all innocent "fishing" but strange that so many people can be in one place at one time?

Perhaps I'm just pisssed that I wasn't out there with them :-/

19-05-2007, 06:51 AM
me thinks you wanted to be out there Kev??????????:o ;D

Never had the patience to throw a cast net for a feed of prawns. never had the patience to learn how to throw one ::) ::)

19-05-2007, 07:43 AM
Any yellow rain coats??

kingtin
19-05-2007, 07:49 AM
Any yellow rain coats??

Yep, that's why I was looking for a (the) cold truck.

19-05-2007, 08:22 AM
just take the whittley for a run up thru them Kev..that would make their day.

kingtin
19-05-2007, 09:40 AM
just take the whittley for a run up thru them Kev..that would make their day.

I think your rig going through 'em, would make for a lot more fun, Greg. ;D

19-05-2007, 10:19 AM
Let me steer Greg !!

juju
19-05-2007, 11:18 AM
Watched them one day, turned up in a convoy at the ramp....must have all woke up with the same idea at the same time.......lucky that one guy was there to run form boat to boat and take the catch back to the creek every 20 mins or so...where this guy offerd to let them keep the prawns cool on ice until they were ready to go home to feed thier familys...thats called being friendly

shaman
19-05-2007, 03:18 PM
The Old Yellow Raincoat................ Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
Is it a fashion statement????
Obviously it is above board or the authorities would be straight on it.....
Wouldn't they ?????????????? hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

kingtin
19-05-2007, 03:42 PM
The Old Yellow Raincoat................ Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
Is it a fashion statement????
Obviously it is above board or the authorities would be straight on it.....
Wouldn't they ?????????????? hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Ever encountered anyone from fisheries before 9am ?

The point I think that I was raising, and I think has been raised before is that the average "above board" recco likes solitude in his fishing at the least, and isn't likely to tell the whole fishing fraternity just where he is getting a good catch.

There is a fair amount of preparation to have a boat on the water at any given time and in any given place.............just how do we reconcile those facts with 47 tinnies all in the same place, at the same time, in a spot that has no particular structure? You see it at the entrance to Nudgee/Schultz as well. Too much of a coincidence in my books. The fact is, that although this may appear legal in that the folk involved look like reccos and may only be catching their bag limit, there is also likely valid suspicion that this practice is on an organised scale and at the least, is not in the spirit of recreational fishing, and at the most, is likely a commercial enterprise that hasn't yet been fully understood/sussed.

I'm confused myself, I just don't see how so many boats can come together without it being an organised event.

If it continues unabated, the likelihood is that we will all be subjected to binning our castnets. Surely, without proof of illegalities, and no other means of preventing this wholesale onslaught, Fisheries will have no option other than to legislate for a cast net ban?

I posted merely because the unexpected sight of so many boats that early in the morning, took me quite by surprise and just got me to thinking, which, at that time of the morning, is a feat in itself ;D

19-05-2007, 06:31 PM
The yellow coats are like a well oiled machine. They know where the prawns are and they radio one another exact GPS marks and literally swarm the area and look out if you get in their way.

19-05-2007, 06:35 PM
Fisheries don't want to know.

It's in the too hard basket cause someone might accuse them with the dreaded discr.......tion word.

fish_outta_water
19-05-2007, 09:57 PM
hi guys
not doubting that your suspitions are unfounded , but i reckon unless there taking well over there bag limit its not much of a commericial enterprise , the cost of fuel for 47boats , and the crew to run em all would eat into any profit
imagine being the first guy to catch in that spot then having that lot turn up on your elbow
carl

kingtin
19-05-2007, 10:05 PM
hi guys
not doubting that your suspitions are unfounded , but i reckon unless there taking well over there bag limit its not much of a commericial enterprise , the cost of fuel for 47boats , and the crew to run em all would eat into any profit
imagine being the first guy to catch in that spot then having that lot turn up on your elbow
carl

4 metre tinnies, 15 hp, less than 2km outside nudgee/shorncliffe, 3 crew = 30 litre prawns. x 47 tinnies...............yeah, for sure.............one guy found the prawns, and it just so happened that there was another 46 tinnies out in that area at that time that just thought he was lucky so zoned onto him. Doesn't need Inspector Clouseau to draw conclusions, does it?

20-05-2007, 07:32 AM
Amazing scenario, never seen anything like it, times have changed, what is the criteria for organised crime?

Who you gunna call, ghostbusters?.

Better hope family dad on the jetty later in the day catches his young son before he places a little Bream in the bait bucket unseen, it is a shame.

B_E_N
21-05-2007, 01:37 PM
yeh i know what you kev, lived at shorncliffe all my life and we would go out and catch a feed of prawns out in the bay years ago now, even then there was dozens of boats, but what pissed me off was if you wer out by yourself and as soon as you threw your net in you would be surrounded by the coats, oversized nets, full of people throwing them with no consideration to others, what would piss em off and was always good for a laugh was if you caught hundreds of little catfish keep em alive in a bucket and if they came near to you throw em in the water, next cast, they found out that they had hit jackpot, catfish style. now im going out on a limb hear but not meaning to segregate or stereotype but most of them arent english speakers nor do they understand OUR rules and regulations of this country but still continue to rape our coastline. honestly i think the dpi or epa should crackdown, if their not willing to get up early and target the bay what good do they do, thats when most people are out and active in the bay areas. the people with power need to use it IMO

kingtin
21-05-2007, 02:08 PM
now im going out on a limb hear but not meaning to segregate or stereotype but most of them arent english speakers nor do they understand OUR rules and regulations of this country

Oh, I'm willing to bet they do, mate. There's bound to be one English speaker amongst 'em, and likely, he's the gangmaster.

I've seem 'em mob handed taking undersize whiting fishing the shallow at the first coffee pot outta the brizzy river. 7 boats, all fishing with handlines, 2 or 3 to a boat, and even from where I was, fishing the drop off, you could see that nothing was returned.

A police vessel headed towards us, (not fishery), the shouts went up, and every boat but mine buggered off. Happy to say, that after me chatting to the police, one of them was apprehended and was last seen being accompanied back to port.

I think I reported this incident on Ausfish a while back

B_E_N
21-05-2007, 03:12 PM
spose all we can do is report what we see when we see it, which boat ramp does this cold truck appear at, the one behind the yatch club? and i take it your young fella plays at curlew, was there saturday also watching the 1st rugby

kingtin
21-05-2007, 03:25 PM
spose all we can do is report what we see when we see it, which boat ramp does this cold truck appear at, the one behind the yatch club? and i take it your young fella plays at curlew, was there saturday also watching the 1st rugby

It used to park on Sandgate promenade. They had "runners" on Shorncliffe jetty, saved 'em coming all the way in. I suppose they thought it would be nice and quiet that early in the morning but they didn't reckon on the guys who used to fish all night there. that was the first season they brought in the 10litre rule..........haven't seen the truck since.

Yeah, he normally plays at curlew but he was playing away at Southport last weekend which is why I was up above the pier.........waiting for the coach to pick him up.

B_E_N
21-05-2007, 03:43 PM
they would be seeling these prawns for sure wouldnt they, the amount caught must be far to many to be consumable unless stored for the year. maybe the selling prawns to anyone/store should be made illegal unless licensed, just a thought to combat this

kingtin
21-05-2007, 03:57 PM
they would be seeling these prawns for sure wouldnt they, the amount caught must be far to many to be consumable unless stored for the year. maybe the selling prawns to anyone/store should be made illegal unless licensed, just a thought to combat this

Mate, no-one would really know if it was a commercial proposition or not, but one things for sure, when the prawns were on, they were taking more than legally allowed, otherwise why fetch a bucket back to shore and go out again?

It' not just me that's seen this happen....it's been reported here by other members way back.

The thing that baffles me is that I always thought that I was pretty good at getting onto the prawns when I wanted to, but even so, it takes some doing to get more than 10 litres doesn't it? (I've come close over a 4 hr stint), yet these guys are fetching buckets back to shore that must be full, otherwise why fetch 'em back? Are they working all night in shifts? Is it really worth that effort for wholesale prices? Hardly seems worth all that effort to me, which, as I've written before, has me to thinking that they're out there because they have to be for some reason.

21-05-2007, 04:04 PM
Makes me want to dig out that panel drill from the tool box and me snorkelling gear.. you could do some real damage going from boat to boat and making just a small hole in the hull under the water line.

Whats that ? you are sinking ? gees, let me help you, hand over your catch and I'll take it to shore for you.. :(

B_E_N
21-05-2007, 04:26 PM
one thing, oversized nets, look next time you see them cast, on that note what is actually the maximum legal size you can throw? ive heard a few sizes tossed aroung in the past.

21-05-2007, 05:38 PM

The maximum legalsized cast net here in QLD to my understanding is 12'.

This is measured from the tp of the swivel to the bottom of the pockets I think.

With a properly constructed 12' net, you should get a spread of better than 18'.

21-05-2007, 07:24 PM
Boy's where do you thing the praws in the speciool fli lie comes from. And the Garlic prawns. You dont think theyre comming from a co-op do ya.

Fisheries should set up a hotline. Surely most systems have (someone) on working the bad shifts. He can be on an oncall basis and go from there?

Can anyone see why that wouldnt be feasable. Old mate fisheries just gets to sleep in a bunk until a call comes through. Then BANG on with the Starsky suit and bad hair!!!!

Cheers Chris

hungry6
21-05-2007, 08:13 PM
Haha, after reading all that makes me laughs abit as to the frustration some of the members have, I come from the same background as the ppls everyone note as "yellow coats" lol, it funny though, to see it from the other side of the fence, I myself not a drinker or smoker, but I know alot of these ppls are law abidding citizen with a few exception who are "truely RUDE and ARROGANTS"
see the way most of these ppls socialise, is by having huge piss up at someone house, and there would be around 40-50 ppls there predominantely males, and it is at these gathering that they would hatch a plans for all of them to meet at such and such a location to give the prawns once over or whiting once over. it is just co-incidents that members here have run into them at odd time, you have to remembers alot of the fellas are ex. commercial fisho from where they come from are very adapt to reading the waters and bottom structure without the aid of sounder which we rely on. I know the prawns that is collected are for piss up purpose and not even for general cooking LOL, as I've seen these piss up in the flesh and it is not unheard for them also to purchase a few kegs and empty them over a period of 18-24 hrs, and at the end of the events a date would be organised for the next "seafood" gathering.
I can understand alot of the ppls frustration and confusion as to these ppls abilities to comprehend the laws. But I have to say, and must express that most of these ppls do is above board and legal, it just they excersise their skill abit better then alot of us, ie. they throw a better net and most of them will sit and construct a net from a roll of nylon, it does put new meaning to custom nets.
I just hope sometime in the near future ppls from all walk would understand each other, join in and maybe gain a few new fisho friends from the other side.
I hope I've shed abit more light on the scenario you've encounter Kingtin.
Don't despair with the situation, next time you see them, get in amongst them, it a good chance they're onto a good school of prawns or what ever they're chasing, and save yourseld looking around, i'm pretty sure that's what they're doing to everyone else, they see things differently, hrmmm how would I say it, ok. they don't see it as your catch until it's in your boat, but they would be highly impress if you caught a better fish then them or got a better casting session then them. that's the way they were brought up, and they're not going to change in a hurry.
Also I nearly forgot, you know all those fisho who carries out illegal activities, well if it make any difference, alot of it is reported to fisheries from withing their own communities, they go as far as supplying boat rego, address and Mob phone numbers, LOL.

kingtin
21-05-2007, 08:23 PM
Haha, after reading all that makes me laughs abit as to the frustration some of the members have, I come from the same background as the ppls everyone note as "yellow coats" lol, it funny though, to see it from the other side of the fence, I myself not a drinker or smoker,

Inferring what? That drinker's and smokers are in someway "inferior"? Sounds like a type of racism to me? ::)

hungry6
21-05-2007, 08:27 PM
No not at all, Kev, when they get together, for some reason I end up being the taxi driver, so I avoid them like the plague, but they do hand out some good tips, just got to put up with the sour smell of ale and stale smoke , Yuck!
imagine 50 or so blokes no shower for the whole week end piss as an old fart in someone back yard and garage when it rains haha.

kingtin
21-05-2007, 08:36 PM
I just hope sometime in the near future ppls from all walk would understand each other, join in and maybe gain a few new fisho friends from the other side.
I hope I've shed abit more light on the scenario you've encounter Kingtin.

So do I, and no you haven't.

The people I've encountered engaging in these practices are not people who would "purchase a few kegs and empty them over a period of 18-24 hrs" but are more like the people who would pretend not to understand Aussie culture or language, and would likely deride the culture which has welcomed them. They are adept at pleading ignorance to our rules and standards.

I'm happy that you haven't succumbed to the evils of smoking and drinking, but sad that you apparently seem to extol that fact as a virtue and have to use it (it appears to me) to in some way explain your "superiority" over those who by some reasoning you illustrate as having "huge piss up" and are "ex commercial fisho"

Speaks volumes dunnit? ::) ::)

hungry6
21-05-2007, 08:40 PM
I try to shed abit of light on an area, that is largely misunderstood,
crap, I give up.

kingtin
21-05-2007, 08:43 PM
And Hungry 6, lay off the pm's you sarcastic bastard. If you've anything to say, say it public, as I do, white, yellow, black...........it doesn't matter to me, what matters is fact. I tell it like it is, and if you don't like it, argue it out in public.

kingtin
21-05-2007, 08:46 PM
Humility is not a weather condition.

Neither is abstention a virtue ;D

Dezzer
21-05-2007, 08:53 PM
I look out for the "yellow raincoats" every year around Easter cause its the only way I know the prawns are schooling. 2/3rds of the netters aren't yellow coaters so I guess I'm not the only one of non yellow raincoat extraction to do this!

rayken1938
21-05-2007, 08:53 PM
Thanks for a different perspective Hungry 6. I have always found the yellow raincoats to be polite and helpfull. Maybe its because I dont abuse them first.
As far as law abiding fishos the worse that I have encountered are people from pacific islander origion. I used to work with a few of them and their attitude was what god provides i take.
Ray

hungry6
21-05-2007, 08:56 PM
hrmmm ohhh ok, this is my PM to you "in public"
Today, 10:32 AM http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/_cat-top_rht.gifhungry6 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=29837) vbmenu_register("postmenu_", true);
http://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/starsbronze.gif

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/image.php?u=29837&dateline=1178525884 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=29837)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/_postbitspacer.gif

hungry6
Ok, you made your point, lol, So just to make it up to you for that bad morning, you can come out on my noosa cat for a day out without cost or deckie duty on an overnighter out wide barwon banks or caloundra wide getting stuck into snappers or what ever is on the bottom, but no drinking is allowed.
That is if you bring yourself to fishing next to an asian dude, lol.

after reading, I didn't even relise that little comment at the end might offend you, If so I'll retract that an apologise for the comment, but my offer is still there if you have the time to take up that offer.

I'm alot simpler than ppls think and takes it "as said' and nothing more or less, and too dumb to read between the lines

so sorry about that. Please understand I did not or purposely attemp to mock you, just a figure of speech i throw around friends who fishes with me, that's all.
wayne

hungry6
21-05-2007, 09:08 PM
Rayken1938 there are always a bad apple in every communities, maybe you happen to work with a couple of bad one, I've been to a few "hungi" I'm not sure that is the right spelling, but the ppls who attend that are generally friendly and shares what they have. I'm not sure if they share similar social networks as other asian communities, I would imagine they do, so other than that I can not make further comment or assumptions.

kingtin
21-05-2007, 09:10 PM
hrmmm ohhh ok, this is my PM to you "in public"
Today, 10:32 AM http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/_cat-top_rht.gifhungry6 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=29837) vbmenu_register("postmenu_", true);
http://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/starsbronze.gif

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/image.php?u=29837&dateline=1178525884 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=29837)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/_postbitspacer.gif

hungry6
Ok, you made your point, lol, So just to make it up to you for that bad morning, you can come out on my noosa cat for a day out without cost or deckie duty on an overnighter out wide barwon banks or caloundra wide getting stuck into snappers or what ever is on the bottom, but no drinking is allowed.
That is if you bring yourself to fishing next to an asian dude, lol.

after reading, I didn't even relise that little comment at the end might offend you, If so I'll retract that an apologise for the comment, but my offer is still there if you have the time to take up that offer.

I'm alot simpler than ppls think and takes it "as said' and nothing more or less, and too dumb to read between the lines

so sorry about that. Please understand I did not or purposely attemp to mock you, just a figure of speech i throw around friends who fishes with me, that's all.
wayne

Wayne, your apology accepted, and mine offered, if I read more into what you said, than was intended, then I apologise.

I will fish alongside anyone.....even non-drinkers ;D Despite my current gripe, I can assure you that I am not racist, and I do not attribute the behaviour of some, to an ethnic group as a whole.

I also do not deny that although I may attribute a behaviour to one particular group of people, that I would dismiss that the behaviour is in someway alien to another group of people. It has nothing to do with race. I have seen people of all races disregarding the law with regard to fishery protection.

The point that I somehow have failed to make, is that I consider that whoever is responsible............white.............asian.... .........Islander..........Anybody......it seems to me that it is organised and not what one could class as recreational fishing but is being carried on under that guise.

Ray, I know where you're coming from...try chucking a net on woody point when the mullet are running ::)

hungry6
21-05-2007, 09:26 PM
Kev, I never said you were a racist, far from it to be honest. I was laughing at the fact that ppls have "be wary" of other group of ppls. nothing more.
To be honest I've read alot of your post in the past and have found some of it hilarious and wity.
But what you said about organised is true, but on a social scale and the impact it has on a lone fisho must be negative enough for them to be concern, everyone has a reasons to be concern about activities that leads to degradation of their pastime.
I was merely offering a look into the "window" of the asian fisho, nothing more.

Me myself, I don't get into the nitty gritty fabrics of social ill adjustments, I'm happy to be left alone to fish on a quiet morning, failing to do that, I'm on here reading posts, making replies and getting my head blown off at time, Please understand, this is not directing at you but elsewhere other forums, but at the end of it all, I don't get worked up over it.
It's the NET!!
Real life issues have no right to be discuss in a sensible manner.

kingtin
22-05-2007, 07:23 AM
Real life issues have no right to be discuss in a sensible manner.

Well, I think i know what you mean there Hungry ;D It should be that things should be discussed in a sensible manner, but it often doesn't happen on the net ::)

Once again, sorry if I misunderstood, and also if I offended you.

You'll regret this.........I may just take you up on that offer of a trip one day ;D

timddo
22-05-2007, 09:09 AM
Gee's all this reading is making me lazy at work. Better get back to some real work b4 the boss comes in.
As for gatherings, I find it easier to go in lots of 2-4 boats when prawning, More chances of actually finding them. As for selling, why whould you sell them when it's $5 a kg for imported prawns????.

B_E_N
22-05-2007, 10:21 AM
i know this thread seems to be at a close but as hungry stated there are gatherings where ya qrganise these trips, id like to know how often these are, because i for one know there are loads of boats out of shornclife in the bay almost everyday, weekday/weekend, driving to school couple years back we would detour up around the top of shorncliffe just for a geez and would see the 'schools' of boats hitting it hard.
and as for net casting, i could hold my own against anyone, have been doing it for years, since i was 6 if i can recall, and yes i know how to make a net out of a ball of nylon but it still dosent excuse me from being able to make one 'oversized' and useing it. im not trying to segregate against race but the majority of the time it has been men from an asian background. now im not saying this is the thing all asain men do, not at all, it would be the same if someone said all caucasian men are neo natsi romper stompers, thats not my point at all. what im saying is they may have a good understand of net skills and are useing it in an unfair practice. and it was just a shame to see that they would go to the lenght of getting a truck and a runner to gather as much as possible.
now i didnt want to stir to much, only single out the offending