PDA

View Full Version : fishy work?

captain catty
12-05-2007, 08:59 AM
whats up everyone? ive been doing a job that i hate for the last 12 months in civil administration. i youst to work on charter boats out of southport and then worked for mono out of brunswick. I also did a stint in a tackle shop in sydney called fish outta water..........anyway the point being that i was working toward my fishy goals and something changed in me and i felt the need for more money......something that ive come to regret as i quit this horrible job.....i did the job in the first place to buy my boat.......but get this ...could barely ever use the bloody thing cause im working so much. I dont want to be a winger, what i would like is for any other stories of people that have given up chasing there dreams for the empty promise of a better life with more money? i mean really what more can you want in life but to have a crust of salt accross the week old beard smelling like the trash can outside of the crazy horse?;D post your stories and if you own a game boat and want a good deckie PM me.......;)

blaze
12-05-2007, 10:02 AM
15 years ago I chased big money, earnt it too but often worked 20 hrs a day, 7 days a week. Health suffered and hit burn out. Went on the dole for 12 months and done it bloody tough for money. Now in semi retirement (work on average 20hrs a week, some busier than others), only ever commit to 5 day weeks, week ends are mine and money cant buy them. Happy with older cars, boats and toys as I own them, to upgrade means work. My dad said to me when I was chasing big money that it wont make ya happy, so right he was.
life style is priceless.
cheers
blaze
ps
just add that I am earning about half what I did 15 years ago and have double the dollar in the bank

SgBFish
12-05-2007, 06:54 PM
Blaze you are deadright.
Somebody with 20 million in the bank is no happy than someone with 15 million.
As long as you have enough to meet your needs.

shaman
12-05-2007, 07:28 PM