PDA

View Full Version : Surface Lures and Spinnerbaits For Bass

Hoomooloo73
07-05-2007, 09:08 PM
G'Day to all, I'm only new to this site and have found alot of useful info on it, as I'm only new to the freshwater scene I would like to know peoples ideas on what are some good surface lures and spinnerbaits for Bass and techniques to use them, I've never tried surface lures or S/B's before and am keen to give it a go. I fish in the dams of SEQ I haven't been to many but am slowly getting round to them. Thanks in advance for any info. Cheers Matt

el_carpo
09-05-2007, 03:51 AM
Hoomooloo73,

Surface lures (by type)--

1. Poppers: Cast, let it sit. Then give it a twitch of your rod tip to make it "pop." Wait until the water rings fade out and give it another twitch. These are slow retrieve surface lures that imitate a dying fish. Best used early or late when fish strike the surface most.

2. Jitterbug: Look like popper with a metal blade across its front. Same retrieve as a popper but with a longer twitch of rod tip (more of a short pull). It waddles side to side spitting water.

3. Surface minnow crankbait: Fat bodied or thin in form. You swim them just under the surface. I like to either use a slow, steady retrieve with a few twitches tossed in or a stop and go retrieve where I swim it for 10 feet and let it rise to the surface and repeat. Very good lure to use when you see minnows being chased and smashed at the surface by a hunting bass.

4. Jerk baits: Look similar to surface minnows. You jerk them in with a slow or fast retrieve. You want to make it look like a dying fish struggling to swim.

5. Walking bait. Look like cigars. You retrieve them by reeling slowly while rhythmically twitching your rod tip. You want to make it dart at the surface in a side to side manner. It looks like a snake. It takes a little practice to get it right but it's not too difficult and they work quite well. Google "Zara Spook" to see them.