View Full Version : Holy Flying #2's Batman!

07-05-2007, 06:31 PM
Well the maiden voyage take 2 took place today after a brief fishing trip in Scalem's boat around Green Island. Our vow was to be headed back home by 9am and we were true to our word however the fans turned up to high speed and the trip back became a lot rougher than anticipated. I was itching to get back to Scalem's place so that I could change a flat tyre (heard it leak when I pulled up at Scalem's) and then head home and gather the troops to get #2 back in the water to try out the new motor. Didn't take too long and we were hitched up and headed for Carbrook boat ramp. By 1:30am #2 was launched and being held by my wife Trudy while I parked the car and trailer. Something I dreaded after the last boating trip was having to yank a zip cord once again. I primed the fuel bulb, put the throttle just under half and didn't even choke it and the motor came to life after the first pull. Wow was I not only impressed but I was happier than an rooster in a hen house. Family all aboard and I jumped in and reversed out. Once in forward gear we idled out past the no wash zone and I suggested to the family to hold onto their hats. Opened the throttle to about half way and was already impressed by how fast we were going. The temptation to open it up a little more was there but just a quick spirt revealed some unusual handling characteristic. It seems to want to dig into one side on its own accord giving us all a fright. I put it down to the fact that it had hydro foils mounted and they may have been a bit too low in the water and digging in or something. The power of this 25 hp Tohatsu is nothing short of mind blowing. That motor really has some gumption. :o Once I got the feel for it I just kept it at half throttle all the way and we all had a great time in #2. Some fine adjustments need to be done but otherwise I couldn't be happier. #2 can fly along now. Don't have any photos this time because I didn't have an escort boat for this trip. Happy I finally have it going like it should be and to top it all off the hull was basically dry when we returned around 3pm. Very happy man indeed!!! :)

07-05-2007, 06:39 PM
Told ya so. :)
It's a bloody good motor that Tohy. That's why I've never sold it before hand. But 18months in the dungeon is just too long

07-05-2007, 07:11 PM
Told ya so. :)
It's a bloody good motor that Tohy. That's why I've never sold it before hand. But 18months in the dungeon is just too long

That word that I heard you say "Scary" was certainly not an understatement Scotty. I was game to give it a bit more throttle but the steering was acting strange. Could it have been the hydrofoils doing it? At a certain speed it seemed to want to just plough in and the only way to stop it from doing a loop and throwing us in the water was to simply back off the throttle. Also I noticed the faster I went the hard left it seemed to pull. Upon arrival back home Scalem and I noticed there is no trim tab? Perhaps it should have one? It travelled quite well at half throttle but found myself consciously having to back off every now and again. It just wants to go frightening speeds I think. lol I would love to see what it can really do one day. But I will stand on the bank and watch a daredevil stuntperson put it through its paces. Lol

07-05-2007, 07:32 PM
They have no trim tab. Move the motor to the left a bit.
Take the tabs off or raise the motor to where I told you. I did say to watch them and that they could be bad if not setup well.
To be blunt that boat may well not be able to handle the speed full power will achieve. A morris can only go so fast before it's dangerous.

07-05-2007, 07:39 PM
They have no trim tab. Move the motor to the left a bit.
Take the tabs off or raise the motor to where I told you. I did say to watch them and that they could be bad if not setup well.
To be blunt that boat may well not be able to handle the speed full power will achieve. A morris can only go so fast before it's dangerous.

Thanks Scott. Yeah I knew it was going to be a bit of trial and error setting it up but I will get there. I did take the hydrofoils off. Now all I have to do is water test it again to see how it goes without them. Looked at the motor alignment and it is spot on centre. I now know that the Tohatsu will not ever be pushed beyond its limits whilst in my possession. I value my life and my passengers' lives as well. Lol
I will be on two weeks holidays starting from Monday the 14th. I hope so I will have time to play for sure.

Sea-Dog
07-05-2007, 07:59 PM
Many threads on here suggest getting rid of foils - for the reasons that you have stated.

A bit of flex, caused by water pressure at speed and they "dig in" on one side, causing the dangerous symptoms you have experienced. :o

Outboards are manufactured without them.

I think the outboard manufacturers know what they are doing.

I reckon Number 2 will do far better without the foils - you have plenty of power anyway.

07-05-2007, 08:04 PM
Many threads on here suggest getting rid of foils - for the reasons that you have stated.

A bit of flex, caused by water pressure at speed and they "dig in" on one side, causing the dangerous symptoms you have experienced. :o

Outboards are manufactured without them.

I think the outboard manufacturers know what they are doing.

I reckon Number 2 will do far better without the foils - you have plenty of power anyway.

Exactly what I thought too Sea-Dog. I will water test it again soon without and see how she performs.

07-05-2007, 10:34 PM
RIP Mariner! Hope you got a good trade from the bloke you bought it from:)

There is nothing healthier on gods green earth.

no stopping you now!

07-05-2007, 10:56 PM
When it comes to foils, I think you need to separate them into 2 groups, the ones that look like wings and those that are solid one piece metal like Permatrim & Solas.

When deciding on which to get, I went with a Permatrim due to its total lack of flex and solid mounting. I've never regretted doing it.

As far as the 'winged' ones, I did'nt like the flexing and believed that the way they're mounted could put a huge amount of stress on the cav plate.

I remember reading reports of cav plates snapping due to the stress from winged foils.

LOuc

08-05-2007, 05:37 AM
RIP Mariner! Hope you got a good trade from the bloke you bought it from:)

A good trade you say. IMO he couldn't have done any better especially on a Sunday of a long week-end.
It was a good trade for Poo.
Poo gave me money. I gave him a ripper of a motor.
I also lost the ability of buying a bigger boat to put the motor on and flogging the lot off as a package.
As for the Mariner though I'm sorry to say Poo has to find another home for it.
For what the Tohy cost he could use the mariner for a mailbox.

The best thing is The Cook is happy. More room in the dungeon. Might look for motorbike No. 6 to fill it back up and to give her something new to get cranky about ;)
Or I could get another water tank :-[

08-05-2007, 05:42 AM
When it comes to foils, I think you need to separate them into 2 groups, the ones that look like wings and those that are solid one piece metal like Permatrim & Solas.

LOuc
Luc have you seen the ones that are solid alloy or stainless plate (sheet really) and are not as wide (about 200-300mm) as the solas ones but a lot longer (about 600mm+ long)??.
They look a bit like a diving board off the back of the motor.
They're supposed to have less kickback through the steering if the outboard isn't setup right.
All foils are bad IMO if the motor isn't setup right.

08-05-2007, 06:22 PM
Yes, they do look a bit like a diving board and make an excellent boarding step.

After various bits of testing with my Sea Jay Bass N Barra (engine height, weight distribution etc...) I ended with the Permatrim which is powder coated aluminium.

Has definitely improved hole shot, low speed planing and I haven't noticed any unusual vices.:D

When I upgrade to a new boat, I'd be quite happy to fit another Permatrim if necessary.

Despite what some have said, IMO, you can't make a blanket statement that foils should not be fitted.

08-05-2007, 07:42 PM
Whooo Hoooo floating Poo good to see you got it goin Andrew with the help of Finga(good man finga kudos to ya). Just hope you get the time to use it heaps. Well done lads.

08-05-2007, 08:04 PM
Hi Finga so you didnt include the mariner as part of the deal, coulda filled in a lot of hours tinkering with that old girl, value adding for when poo gets his next rig to suit twin 25s:)

Sounds like it was a win win all around, lucky it is when someone happens to have the gear ready but just sitting around more or less surplus at the time.

09-05-2007, 06:58 AM
Whooo Hoooo floating Poo good to see you got it goin Andrew with the help of Finga(good man finga kudos to ya). Just hope you get the time to use it heaps. Well done lads.

Thanks Dave. I will have plenty of time real soon. It was made official that my holidays are approved starting from next week. I have a whole two weeks off. ;D

09-05-2007, 07:01 AM
Hi Finga so you didnt include the mariner as part of the deal, coulda filled in a lot of hours tinkering with that old girl, value adding for when poo gets his next rig to suit twin 25s:)

Sounds like it was a win win all around, lucky it is when someone happens to have the gear ready but just sitting around more or less surplus at the time.

G'day FNQ, I still have the old Mariner motor so I will either do one of two things. Maybe sell it in "as is" condition or pull it down and do it up and then sell it. Will see what happens. It still starts and idles fine, just has a problem in the revs which still could just be because of it sitting still for 4 years. It may just need to be run. But it also may need the rebuild.