View Full Version : Buying second hand boat.
_Dan_
27-04-2007, 07:21 AM
Hi All,
I am wondering about the process of buying a boat second hand that is unregistered and that has no proof in writing of the guy owning the boat.
Its a very good deal and i dont know whether the guy is honestly getting rid of it for the reasons he states or his playing games. Their is no resitration numbers on the boat, no number plates on the trailer although the trailer and boat are branded with VIN numbers.
Is there anyway i can check i am not buying somehting stolen, it was out of the trading post.
peterbo3
27-04-2007, 07:30 AM
Dan,
Ask the seller for a paper trail. It all must have been registered once. But if you think it is a bit suspect, then it probably is.:-[
If there are VINs on the tlr, Qld Tpt can possibly do a search. I doubt if the HIN database for boats is operating yet. Another avenue may be the local police. There may be a database of stolen boats.
Dan, as mentioned check with Qld Transport.
But, if there are no rego docs and checks with QLD T'port come up blank you can safely buy it (even if it was actually stolen, unbeknown to you) as there is nothing in existance to suggest it was stolen. You are operating on the word of the owner.
Make sure you get a receipt for the sale with his drivers licence and address details. You could even have him sign a stat dec that the vessel is not stolen or encumbered in any way.
Should anything occur in the future you are in the clear as you legitimately purchased the vessel and recovery attempts should be directed at the seller.
However, the likelihood of anything coming up in the future is very slim if there is no record of the boat now.
27-04-2007, 07:53 AM
Yeah be carefull, he could have had a falling out with a mate who parked the boat there for a few months, would be surprised if the department of transport will help with history it involves too much competence to head off an illegal transfer for that bunch, but happy to be wrong.
_Dan_
27-04-2007, 07:58 AM
Thanks all,
If he is a crook then hes pretty silly i am thinking, the Boat VIN is still on it, The trailer VIN is still on it and the engine is almost new with the sticker of the local yamaha dealer on it.
I will be ringing them today to see if they have records of the motor purchase as it was only 11 months ago.
The guy doesnt mind what checks i do, he said to whatever is necessary and understands my hesitations.
dan
27-04-2007, 08:11 AM
Dan, as mentioned check with Qld Transport.
But, if there are no rego docs and checks with QLD T'port come up blank you can safely buy it (even if it was actually stolen, unbeknown to you) as there is nothing in existance to suggest it was stolen. You are operating on the word of the owner.
Make sure you get a receipt for the sale with his drivers licence and address details. You could even have him sign a stat dec that the vessel is not stolen or encumbered in any way.
Should anything occur in the future you are in the clear as you legitimately purchased the vessel and recovery attempts should be directed at the seller.
However, the likelihood of anything coming up in the future is very slim if there is no record of the boat now.
if the boat is encumbered is any way, the finance organisation can still repossess it regardless of any receipt you receive from the vendor.
_Dan_
27-04-2007, 08:30 AM
I spoke to the boys in blue and the triler is not stolen, the dealer for the engine confirm the engine was bought from them last year so it is an 06 model as stated.
Las thing is the revs check to see if its encumbered and than its all good.