View Full Version : How close is too close?????
Jamaryiz
26-04-2007, 06:00 PM
How close do you feel is too close when fishing next to someone anchored?
I was out on the weekend, anchored over a spot around sun up when this other boat decided to come over (notice the Ausfish stickers on the bow?). At first, they didn't anchor but decided to sound around and look for whatever it was they were looking for. They decided to drift and moved upwind of us before repeatedly drifting past and then motoring back again. At 38m of water, this repeated movement and sound certainly doesn't do a lot for fishing success but continue they did. There were also a number of times when on the drift, they had to move as their drift would have run into us.
When they finally decided to anchor, their anchor didn't hold and they drifted past again.
Now I didn't get angry or upset about this given yesterday is ANZAC day and you would always expect a lot of boat traffic but this is not Palm Beach in the middle of a strong spottie season - I can't see why any fisherman with a bit of commonsense wouldn't stay at least a little further away. Two boat lengths is pretty close really.
Just wanting to post this thread to get some other thoughts.
Shanoss
26-04-2007, 06:14 PM
Thats pretty close. Would probably give me ths sh*ts. Though in saying that, last trip out i approached a boat thinking that i knew the owner. Turned out to not be him and needless to say got a few sour looks from the occupants. I apologized and got on my way. I must admit i did think about pinging his mark after the Dirty looks i received even after the apology.
26-04-2007, 06:23 PM
Mate I just get me 65grm sluggs out and fix them to me spin stick with Braid and start pluggin at them.. first i ask them if I can hit em in the head with me lure are they too close... only a few hang around after that... managed to get one guys decky in the shoulder one time... he pissed off pretty quick after that :P
hunge
26-04-2007, 06:26 PM
it was a day for dickheads read my post in saltwater every boat should have a rocket launcher
Chine
26-04-2007, 06:43 PM
I was out on the weekend, anchored over a spot around sun up when this other boat decided to come over (notice the Ausfish stickers on the bow?). At first, they didn't anchor but decided to sound around and look for whatever it was they were looking for. They decided to drift and moved upwind of us before repeatedly drifting past and then motoring back again. At 38m of water, this repeated movement and sound certainly doesn't do a lot for fishing success but continue they did. There were also a number of times when on the drift, they had to move as their drift would have run into us.
When they finally decided to anchor, their anchor didn't hold and they drifted past again.
Now I didn't get angry or upset about this given yesterday is ANZAC day and you would always expect a lot of boat traffic but this is not Palm Beach in the middle of a strong spottie season - I can't see why any fisherman with a bit of commonsense wouldn't stay at least a little further away. Two boat lengths is pretty close really.
This happened to me a couple of weeks ago although I was anchored over a well defined (and well known local mark ie small submerged barge).......eventually the fish went off the bite and I weighed anchor.:P
I would ask the same of you..........common well known mark? Maybe it is to be expected?
Not to say that I was not peeved about the intrusion!>:(
Chine
bastard
26-04-2007, 06:46 PM
Just wanting to post this thread to get some other thoughts.Id just try and ignore it,i used to get agro at people that cant work out the six knot know wash thing,youd be halfway through breakfest or dinner and just about every thing wants to slide of the bench,ive thrown sinkers,squid,pilchards and even one day in a fit of rage a full can of scotch but now i just ignore it,some people are just not born with common sense.All you do is get yourself worked up.
madmackrel
26-04-2007, 06:51 PM
>:( Mate same thing happened to me yesterday, maybe we need a section where novices can read up on the right and wrong ways of boating.
Cheers MM8-)
26-04-2007, 07:07 PM
And people wonder why I don't wet the boat on week-ends and public holidays.
I really don't need the agro in any degree.
Tuesday's and Thursdays are good :D
Luckily you've never been to Palmy when it's a bit crowded. You can walk from boat to boat there :)
snelly1971
26-04-2007, 07:09 PM
This is why i LOVE where i live...i would be lucky to see one or two boats when fishing....
26-04-2007, 07:14 PM
Thats pretty close. But then again it all depends on the conditions. Some fishos get shitty really easy. There is no absolute right or wrong. No fisho has the answer that is 'right' in every situation.
Gary - I hope you are kidding mate! A couple of things spring to mind, one of which is getting hit in the eye by a slug, the next is the fella in the other boat wiping you out because of it and the last is a combination of police involvement and having your arse sued off and losing you home because there is no insurance that you can get to cover that...so hoping that your joking. I can though understand yelling out to someone that they are too close and asking them to move away.
I reckon some fishos get a bit to proprietorial about 'their' spots. I remember almost coming to blows with a fella in the Gold Coast Seaway one Winters night - he had no lights on and I only picked him up because I was using a Spotlight to get near a spot that I was interested in near the rocks. He then had the gaul to yell out for me to #### off - needless to say some words ensued. He then had a fit when I anchored about 15 metres away from him...his problem not mine. In the Seaway 15 metres is a long way.
There are some great people of the water...but there are also some wankers and unfortunately often nice enough people turn into wankers when they feel that their space is invaded. Unless someone has done somthing unsafe there is no need to yell obsenities at them - certainly not if you unless you give them a chance with a better form of comms first. I think some people forget that women and children go fishing also and kids seeing conduct like I have seen over the years isnt flash. Thankfully most fishos are good.
Whilst I know that some people dont seem to exercise common sense (like the pic above) some of us more experienced blokes forget somtimes that everyone has to get over their training wheels stage.
Just my 2 cents.
madman1
26-04-2007, 07:14 PM
You cant blame me on that one Lee from al lthe way up here.
Maybe I should start doing that so I can get some half decent points.
If you want any better spots than what you've got, you know my number!!!lol
I'll call next week for a chin wag!
26-04-2007, 07:26 PM
Thats is how the Clueless fish mate - look for other boats as they must be on something. Don't matter if you are pluggin it at Smiths or the Northern Banks - you stop and they will come if they see you.
Who is that anyway LMAO !!!!
Mate, at least he anchored beside you.
While winter night fishing for bream at Caloundra, I've had d..Ks anchor a few boats lenghts (well within casting distance) behind my boat.
26-04-2007, 08:44 PM
Common sense tells me that you don't park within casting distance from any other boat anchored or drifting. I wouldn't get angry but I would probably give a death stare and up anchor and move furthe away and then anchor up again. That at least may give them a hint that they were too close.
death_ship
26-04-2007, 09:36 PM
had a guy do it at shallow tempest the other day when he saw me hooked up, but he stopped and drifted right near me, i just waited till i caught another snapper then held it up and said nice snapper eh? meanwhile they got nuthin and i got a few more, serves them right for using bait, at least they were berlying for me, in my opinion that is plain rude and ignorant, go 100 meters down the reef theres fish there too, clueless and ignorant, seems to be a common thing in the boating world. Theres a difference between a novice and a nuisance, the pic displays a nuisance.
27-04-2007, 06:12 AM
Yep - as I said above some people just dont display common sense on the water; its odd because they often do so on land!
27-04-2007, 06:51 AM
The nuisance factor must depend upon a few variables such as how many people are in the area at the same time, how they fish in relation to you, how they get reasonably close to you etc etc.
For some examples you have to expect people fishing close to you on the close to shore reefs around the goldie ie Palmy on a nice day that happens to be a week-end or public holiday.
If I'm drifting and some else is drifting and their drift doesn't interfer with mine and vise versa then what's the problem
If everybody is anchored so lines can't get crossed then what's the problem.
If I'm anchored and someone idles in slowly or drifts into an anchoring position then what's the problem.
If I'm sitting having a nice quite fish and someone comes and has a nice and quite fish near me I really can't see a problem.
I think the main idea is not to interfer with the other person.
But look out if they start pi--ing me off by making lots of noise, upsetting my drift, getting tangled in my lines, roaring up to the side of us and chucking the kelick out, going past us at full noise when there's 18000 miles of ocean to use, going full noise past us at a distance of 3m in the creek etc etc 'cause I have been known to go off like a volcano. ;D
Personally looking at the picture in the main page I wouldn't be too worried as it would be hard to get tangled. They're a little distance off. If they drifted or idled into that position and didn't make lots of noise then that wouldn't be a problem for me either.
I have made friends with people that got reasonably close to me down at Evans. The bloke saw us, came over, had a fish, got a Jew, I took some pictures and from talking over the water I found out they live out the back of the house blah, blah, blah. Good friends now :D
27-04-2007, 07:34 AM
That pic is too close for fishing a reef, some people only know fish that come straight up, a good fish could be lost because of that boat.
Off cairns their are a couple of nearshore wrecks, when heading for them sometimes someone will be fishing them, there is no way to know where they are anchored near the wreck until you ping and hope it is not on top dead centre as there is enough room for more depending, I make no appologies for that!
Secret spots are not very secret it's just that no-one else has been seen there while the secret holder has been fishing it.
I also cannot pay credence to those who choose to fish light, it is not my responibility to be x3 respectfull distance away just because that is their 'thing', that pooped me at the time. Turkeys abound!
what to do.. mmm, well
i usually start with a polite "your too close mate." , then i move to a "hey, i told ya to f%$ OFF" . The next step involves some pretty bad language and maybe a bag off pilly juice in thier cabin... havent had to get to that yet.. been close but LOL
Jas
27-04-2007, 07:55 AM
JB - If you can toss a bag of pilly juice into their cab unweighted then I reckon their too close! We should start, like someone said, an etiquitte page for newies to fishing and that should appear: "Rule 1 - If you park next to another boat in a fishing area and its Master can lob an unweighted plastic bag of pilchard juice into the cabin of your vessel then you are TOO CLOSE - move away immediately; preferrably out of casting distance of a silver slug."
c'mon. own up ...who are you???;D;D
27-04-2007, 12:28 PM
What intrigues me is, why would anyone want to pull up that close to another boat?
I can understand the argument about busy areas, hot bites, etc, especially when the skippers have skill and respect, but in the middle of no-where is another matter IMO.
I doubt anyone would be overly concerned with a fellow angler anchoring within a minimum of say 60 metres or so, with due respect given to drift etc.
Out of earshot would be the most prudent distance perhaps, certainly out of slug-casting range!
Personally I like to be as far from other boats as possible!
Cheers!
27-04-2007, 01:01 PM
opinions of what is a courteous distance vary with each individual, the particular spot and the circumstances. Normally a good cast or earshot is about right IMHO. There are exceptions, such as bream season at the logs in the broadwater (I don't fish there but I have driven past with hundreds of boats a boat length from each other) and Palm Beach reef. Also, expect more crowds and d'heads on a public holliday or TGO weekend.
Many do not realise the effect they can have by being close. It can take hours of burleying to bring good snapper in close to the boat in the shallows. A boat drifting past with the sounder on and running back to the start of the drift a couple of times can shut it down. Anchor noise etc can also send the fish packing.
I let people know when I reckon they are too close. Politely at first, and then with a bit of vigour. It has worked most times for me. Stuffed if I'll move away from my burley trail for them. On most reefs, there is heaps of good ground nearby. It is just a matter of finding a patch for yourself and putting some burley in the water. Many are just ignorant or don't give a stuff.
bundymal
27-04-2007, 01:15 PM
ive had a guy pull up and anchor about 10meters from me .caught a spanish and then he decided to anchor near me didnt care that much untill hooked another . he was that close that when fighting the fish it pulled me towards his boat and it went around his anchor so i was weaving my rod around his anchor rope thats how close he was .got back to the ramp and a few other blokes that was out fishing as well said should of cut his anchor rope off .luckily caught the fish or might of been a bit pissed off .
mal
Looks like you're on the St Paul there. I'd have to guess that if someone's going to invest time fishing it they probably don't have too many other marks to go to? I know, I get the sh!ts too - more so with pros and charter boats charging in to nick marks - unaseptable behaviour boys.
But sometimes it goes with the territory - eg. I was first on sandhills reef on Saturday morning, but within ten minutes there was fifteen boats there scaring all my slimies away!!! The nerve.
onerabbit
27-04-2007, 02:30 PM
Isn't it amazing, I get the same thing 10mls offshore,
if someone spots you doing a quick move back, straight over to see what you are doing,
I had a boat pull up about the same distance one day, could even here his GPS beep as he logged my spot,
haven't been lucky enough to spot him out there since, 'cos I'm gunna ghost him for a bit to see how he feels.
ozbee
27-04-2007, 03:30 PM
look at it this way you must have the best spot must have it marked on your gps secondly you wont have to waste time hes done that for you so dont bother looking on your sounder thirdly hes hopefully supplying more berley to draw fish in which come straight to the best structure which is under you and last of all its imperative before you leave to idle your motor for a long period to make sure it runs well and last of all throw out your cleaned fish guts out to ensure plenty of sharks. see in the right light he doing you a favour!
Deiter
27-04-2007, 04:22 PM
A 10 ball at mach 5 usually does the trick.
C'mon, someone must recognise that boat.
Damo
27-04-2007, 04:29 PM
Just so let some people know.....
Those stickers on that boat may not be ausfish ones.
There are stickers etting around that are very similar, possibly they are those?
I havent had a real close look yet
samson
27-04-2007, 04:43 PM
Mate put a snapper lead through someones wind screen once it worked on the day but waterways caught up with him another day and he got a decent fine but i think it was worth every cent.
sid_fishes
27-04-2007, 05:04 PM
im sorry ,but it dont take to much to work out does it. if you get onto a good fish only to be fouled in their anchour rope or lines you would get pissed [ i know i wood] and thats exactly how they would react[ even if you are there first] a bit of coomon sense is a good thing and so is a slug/ no 9 ball in a sling shot[ not that there is one on my boat]stuff them and use your manners just like mum taught you
Far side
28-04-2007, 04:28 AM
Fishing off mud the other anchored up along comes a steel fishing hull big boat pulls in in front of me drops the anchor end up 20 feet from the boat on the drift. First reaction anger why the F** are you so close. Then common sence prevailed so said guday met 2 of the roughest nicest blokes you could meet. got some good crabbing spots got some good marks for off shore reefs and times and local knowlege. I dont think that would have happened if they were verballed. Also I think that before anyone jumps to abuse people remember that the same people will probably assist if you are in trouble.
28-04-2007, 07:03 AM
nice approach reachy
Deiter
28-04-2007, 07:12 AM
Fishing off mud the other anchored up along comes a steel fishing hull big boat pulls in in front of me drops the anchor end up 20 feet from the boat on the drift. First reaction anger why the F** are you so close. Then common sence prevailed so said guday met 2 of the roughest nicest blokes you could meet. got some good crabbing spots got some good marks for off shore reefs and times and local knowlege. I dont think that would have happened if they were verballed. Also I think that before anyone jumps to abuse people remember that the same people will probably assist if you are in trouble.
Look, you are probably right, but I still think i am going to be sick.....:-X
28-04-2007, 07:26 AM
hahaha....love it. I am feeling the warmth.
dec0guy
28-04-2007, 07:51 AM
Mate I just get me 65grm sluggs out and fix them to me spin stick with Braid and start pluggin at them.. first i ask them if I can hit em in the head with me lure are they too close... only a few hang around after that... managed to get one guys decky in the shoulder one time... he pissed off pretty quick after that :P
and it only takes one bad apple . . . . . . . . . . . .>:(
Deiter
28-04-2007, 08:10 AM
Go easy dec0guy, he takes the treble off first. Better hookup rate with a big single anyhow.
28-04-2007, 09:20 AM
hahah...it just gets better...no wonder I surf this site.
You didn't anchor up in his driftline did you? You probably didn't being an Ausfisher:) but I know someblokes like to get in close and personal with people who anchor in their drift
wessel
28-04-2007, 01:34 PM
Deep down humans are pack animals. In general, you will find that a newcomer will come to the person already there and set up shop close to them. All that big open scary looking water... it is always better to be up close to the other animals in the herd because there is safety in numbers.(That is genetics and instinct at work there)
Then you get the grumpy old wolf that wants nothing better than being left alone. He will come in and help a member of the pack if they are in trouble, but in general it is better to leave the grumpy old bastards well alone and go find another spot.
I like the peace and quiet when there is nothing but me and an empty blue ocean that stretches to the horison with not another person is site. If I wanted company I would have walked into a bar and ordered a beer.
Wessel
Phoenix
29-04-2007, 02:55 PM
I'd say in open water a good rule of thumb would be 20 - 30 meters. In more shallow, coastal waters probably 15-20 meters is polite. But if it is busy, and you are there first.....
kingtin
29-04-2007, 04:27 PM
The best I can do without the original, but I'm 99.9999999999999999999% sure it isn't an ausfish logo.
29-04-2007, 04:39 PM
I don't think it is either kev. As I mentioned before there are a few SIMILAR stickers getting around.
I believe it's a bit close, another 50m would have made me happy :)