PDA

View Full Version : Cod Fishing Tackle - advice please

jonboy
26-04-2007, 11:50 AM
Hi there,

I'm new to this cod fishing caper and am wondering what sort of gear I should be using to catch these beauties.

I've only been out a couple of times using borrowed gear but am keen to set myself up. I'd primarily (about 90% of the time) be flicking spinnerbaits and other lures from the bank in the rivers around Inverell, Ashford, Tamworth - NSW.

I've noticed reading other posts that there are a few members who seem to fish these and similar waters so I'd really appreciate your advice.

So...

What Rod, Reel and strength line do you guys use?
If money was object what gear would you love to have?
Considering I am somewhat realistic about budget, what gear would you suggest I get for around $250?

Thanks guys, I'd appreciate any advice you'd like to throw my way.

Boomi Boy
26-04-2007, 05:11 PM
Yo, jonboy, onthat budget an abuc3 6500 reel and a shimano raider rod, like the 6ft2 6to8kg would handle any cod likely to be encountered.

for a few more bucks, a diawa low profile like the 153H coastal (I got 1) would be money well spent.

cheers

wamjam
26-04-2007, 07:47 PM
Gday Jonboy
Mate I use an Egrell Woomera 6-8kg with an abu 5600 or a homemade pacific compocite 6-8kg with an abu 5500 . They have 65lb tuf braid for resistance on granite rocks and schneider 35lb leader or sometimes 30lb lo stretch mono. The new abu C4's look a good reel ,I just bought a new abu record RCN50 on an auction so I'll let you know what its like when it turns up.;) As for rods dont spend too much the bloody thing brake to easy.:-/ But I would try and go with something 8kg for better hook ups. Get some bigger lures or spinnerbaits and go and throw them as close to rocks ,logs and any other crap in the water you can.Then the rest is persistence and luck. If there is anything else dont be shy to ask.
Good luck wamjam

jonboy
27-04-2007, 12:19 PM
Thanks for responses guys.