View Full Version : Fitting Rod holders
Crooked
25-04-2007, 07:51 AM
Hi All,
I would like to fit some rod holders to the new boat, it has no rails but does have wide side decks. So I would like to fit the type that you cut a hole and sit flush.
I searched the forums and only found one thread with info, some of the ideas were to use a hole saw.....I haven't bought the holders yet but from memeory the hole would need to an elipse to account for the angle, so a hole saw would cut the wrong shape.
I fitted some to my last tinny but it was so long ago that I can't remember, what would be the best way to cut the hole neatly??
cheers, Evan
Roughasguts
25-04-2007, 07:56 AM
You could mark out the hole, and then drill a series of small holes then cut the remaining bit out and file smooth.
kingtin
25-04-2007, 08:03 AM
Hi Evan,
Mate, I'm a bit of a duffer when it comes to doing jobs myself but in the case of my last big tinny, I simply cut with a hole saw, drilled some holes close together, the shape of the elipse, punched out the metal and then filed the finished elipse with a round file.
Dunno if there's a better way as I did this on the fly without asking here.
If you're doing 'em at the side of the boat, remember to have the elipse pointing out at about 45d so that your rod ain't simply facing the stern but is pointing over the side.............sounds obvious but it's easy to forget the obvious when you're trying to figure out how to do stuff.
good luck
Crooked
25-04-2007, 08:11 AM
Thanks guys,
Sounds like the way to go.
Kev - yeah I'll try to remember to point them in the right direction, is easy to forget this stuff and a bit hard to replace the metal once it's gone!
Evan
kingtin
25-04-2007, 08:16 AM
Thanks guys,
Sounds like the way to go.
Kev - yeah I'll try to remember to point them in the right direction, is easy to forget this stuff and a bit hard to replace the metal once it's gone!
Evan
The holders with the biggest flange make a nice job of covering up the cock-ups and missing metal.............from experience ;);D
Hole saw will do the job,use a bit kerro and it will lube he saw, a rat tail file will help get the shape just right a bit of duralac will stop reactions around screws/bolts
Roughasguts
25-04-2007, 09:10 AM
Heres a tip, tape a open plastic bag under the intended hole to catch all the metal shavings. Gonna save a big mess of fillings that you will keep finding forever.
Also masking tape is good to protect any paint work alongside the intended holes.
Wahoo
25-04-2007, 10:10 AM
what Kingtin said, grab a die grinding bit and fit it to a drill, haveing an alloy boat you will use that bit again n again
great tip on the alloy shavings RAG ;)
Crooked
25-04-2007, 10:24 AM
thanks for the tips, I reckon I should be able to do some damage with all of that.
Daz, the die grinding bit sounds like it would save a bit of work, are these available from any hardware store?
The kero to lube the saw is interesting, I usually use WD40 sprayed on the alluminum when using a jigsaw to cut, stops it clogging...same principle I guess.
Catching the shaving is a GREAT idea, even having only drilled a few small holes for another reason and not thinking of this I am still picking shavings from the carpet.
cheers, Evan
Wahoo
25-04-2007, 10:38 AM
Daz, the die grinding bit sounds like it would save a bit of work, are these available from any hardware store?
yeh mate, most stores have them, about $40 me thinks, have had mine for about 7yrs now, they come in very handy
25-04-2007, 11:43 AM
jigsaw with the correct blade, make sure you have clearance underneath for the blade.
Sea-Dog
25-04-2007, 02:41 PM
I dunno if this would work, but to my mind I can't see why not.
Since the tube of the rod holder is round in section, but mounted at an angle - couldn't you just drill a small pilot hole in the appropriate place, then use the holesaw, but held at the same angle that the tube of the rod holder is at?
Wouldn't that cut a hole in an eliptical shape? :-/
Eg. cutting a round bit of salami at an angle produces eliptical shaped slices.
Same principle, just drilling instead of slicing.
Cheers, Ross
Since the tube of the rod holder is round in section, but mounted at an angle - couldn't you just drill a small pilot hole in the appropriate place, then use the holesaw, but held at the same angle that the tube of the rod holder is at?
Cheers, Ross
yep, should work & if you grab one of the cheap hand hand drill stands it will hold the required angle as well..
Dignity
25-04-2007, 04:21 PM
Cheers, Ross
it works - I used a hole saw with a drill bit as a guide (don't ever use those real cheap ones where the hole saw is out of thin sheet metal) and replaced the drill bit with a longer bit to be sure. Drilled at an angle and had no worries at all. Wish I had of thought of Rags idea about the plastic bag though.
Sea-Dog
25-04-2007, 04:57 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sea-Dog http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=609092#post609092)
Wouldn't that cut a hole in an eliptical shape? http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif
Cheers, Ross
it works - I used a hole saw with a drill bit as a guide (don't ever use those real cheap ones where the hole saw is out of thin sheet metal) and replaced the drill bit with a longer bit to be sure. Drilled at an angle and had no worries at all. Wish I had of thought of Rags idea about the plastic bag though.
Excellent - I thought my brain was functioning correctly. Who says you can't learn something from slicing salami.
Another salami trick I have learned is to lay out slices of salami between layers of paper towel, then pop into the microwave for about a minute.
No greasy, fatty salami - Just little salami biscuits..... Yummm :D
Wahoo
25-04-2007, 05:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sea-Dog http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=609092#post609092)
Wouldn't that cut a hole in an eliptical shape? http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif
Cheers, Ross
Excellent - I thought my brain was functioning correctly. Who says you can't learn something from slicing salami.
Another salami trick I have learned is to lay out slices of salami between layers of paper towel, then pop into the microwave for about a minute.
No greasy, fatty salami - Just little salami biscuits..... Yummm :D
mmmmmmm makeing me peckish now ;D
Crooked
25-04-2007, 06:53 PM
Ahhh now I understand how people use the hole saws, thanks Sea Dog!
Although I reckon I will go with some of the other methods as I don't have a hole saw.
I do have salami however and next footy match will be beer and salami biscuits for me!!
cheers, Evan
Wayne_Red
25-04-2007, 06:57 PM
Dignity and seadog have got it. The trick is to have a longer guide. the standard drill bit in a hole saw is too short act as guide when cutting with the hole saw at the required angel for the rod holder. A normal drill bit being longer than the hole saw drill bit will do the job.
I have a piece of 1/4" round (steel) about 4" long that I use as a guide.
I first drill the pilot hole using the holesaw drill bit without the hole saw fitted (always drill the pilot first without the holesaw, they can make a mess of paint and gelcoat if the pilot drill grabs as it goes threw and you are not hanging on real tight) . I then replace the drill bit with the guide and screw on the right size holesaw. I then hold the rod holder next to the gunwall with the holesaw & drill resting in the pilot hole. Angle the drill to the same angle as the rod holer you are holding, put the rodholder on the gunwall while not moving the position of the drill, hang on and drill away carefully. The 1/4" round bar guide does the same job as the longer drill bit but it holds it steadier than the drill with less catter.
If you want the rod holder facing out a little over the side of the boat, again hold the rod holder near the inside of the gunwall and rotate it to the desired position to get the drill angle and rotation correct and drill away.
Easy as, done it heaps of times in ally and f/g boats. No clean up with files, rotary burrs etc.
Regards wayne