View Full Version : Any pic's of sharks eatting whale on Sunday??/

24-04-2007, 07:06 AM
Did anyone get pic's of the whale getting smashed by sharks on Sunday? Maybe a movie downlaod? Sounded great over the radio. They said 12 tigers and 2 great white's

HIGH and DRY
24-04-2007, 01:28 PM
seen that on the news last night. it only showed 4 BIG tigers but they were hooking in thats for sure. it must smell like absolute crap!!:P

24-04-2007, 06:47 PM
If you approach the news channel that aired the story, they may be willing to give you a copy of their footage.

sambos
24-04-2007, 07:05 PM
sounds like a couple of my rellos at a barbie

samson
24-04-2007, 07:17 PM
Mate went out with burky to film the sharks that day and get a chunk of whale for seaworld to test on to find out how it died when paul jumped in for a swim he had yellow fins on and the sharks were very attracted to them only when he removed them they stopped approaching so much, must have thought he was a giant yakka, the sharks were mainly tigers to 5 meters with the bigger ones hanging deep but a couple of whalers showed up breifly, they tried to find the whale the following day but it disappeared must have been eaten.

The whale was spotted first by a north straddie local who told paul and after speaking with some crabbers the next day they saw it a bit further south and gave him a mark after doing a few drift calculations they located it 7 kilometers south of its previous spot the day before.

Cheers samson

straddie
24-04-2007, 08:24 PM
I wouldn't mind seeing a bit more of that as well, I only just caught the tail end of the channel 7 report and it only showed a white and a tiger.

460 col
24-04-2007, 08:32 PM
samson, anypredictions on where it would be wednesday, is it drifting south , do you think it will re surface. love to take my wife out to see it ...
what a spectical, how far out was it from stradie...
Colin

Sea-Dog
24-04-2007, 08:50 PM
I found an interesting pic on Shark Vs. Whale ages ago...

You wouldn't want to be This whale...... Damn!

Nugget
25-04-2007, 07:29 AM
I had a phone call from John Gooding on Outlaw Charters Sunday morning.
He told me about the whale and number of sharks feeding on it.
I rang Channel Ten News to see if they wanted footage of it but their chopper was out of action.
They did a deal with Channel 7 to share the footage who then sent a chopper out, but it had mechanical problems as well and could only shoot a few min of footage before heading to Nth Stradbroke for an emergency landing.
It turned out the smoke and noise in the chopper was an airconditioning belt - not as bad as they first thought but it grounded the chopper.

On several occasions the sharks nudged John's boat because it was carrying a whale oil slick from being near the carcass.
John does have photos - I'll try and show them soon.
There has been quite a few other shark issues over the past few weeks - I plan to show a few this Friday night just before 6pm during my fishing report on the Channel Ten news.
Always seems to be of interest.

Dave ><>

25-04-2007, 07:40 AM
Thanks Dave i was out at the Banks and could'nt ring the missus to tape the news. The fella's on the radio where saying what a spectical it was to see. I'll have to tape the news on Friday as i work arvo shift.

shaman
25-04-2007, 04:09 PM
paul jumped in for a swim he had yellow fins on and the sharks were very attracted to them only when he removed them they stopped approaching so much, the sharks were mainly tigers to 5 meters samson

WHAT THE ??????

soulfish
25-04-2007, 04:10 PM
i was there with john on sunday it was a spectacle i will never forget.after watching 15ft tigers swimming around the boat i headed 2klm's away for a fish around a fad.outlaw joined us 15 mins later and after a few drifts john called to say a great white was harrasing his 150 honda's.after saying i'll come and have a look,he said don't worry i'll bring him to you he wont stop following me.john slowly drove 100m towards me and went past about 3mtrs away.this massive white just cruised past swimming in his prop wash the whole time.i think he thought outlaw was a wahle because the ocean around the carcuss was just 1 big oil slick which would have been all over his boat.awsome day

3rd degree
25-04-2007, 04:44 PM
Chatting with John, he reckons it gave Outlaw a 'love bite!'

What a sight to see!

25-04-2007, 08:58 PM
some talking point hey-lol
i'd give it a miss tho

bdowdy
26-04-2007, 12:44 PM
paul burt took some footage and is on channel 9 today show, actually got in the water with some big tiger sharks, cheers bdowdy

maxwell9
26-04-2007, 12:47 PM
Heres one a friend of a friend took. The white section in the bottom of the picture is the side of a 685 Outsider

samson
26-04-2007, 05:24 PM
You guys might get to see some more footage yet its resurfaced off jumpingpin bar the southerly change must have pushed it north again pauls out there as i speak getting some footage before it gets too dark but i guess he can always follow the smell.

Cheers samson

manchild
26-04-2007, 07:46 PM
Here is your link:
http://ninemsn.video.msn.com/v/en-au/v.htm?f=39&g=31752a1b-7972-4497-9046-b6a986a48826&p=aunews_autoday&t=m2397&mediaid=101067&_cobr=optus

26-04-2007, 07:59 PM
Impressive footage.

It would be great to see all the footage he took. Some of the scenes were replayed a number of times.

As for the swimming bit, better him than me.

On other footage tonight, they showed large sharks swimming of an island beach. They included on smaller shark washed up with a rather large bite taken out of his back.

Anyone for yak fishing?????

Nugget
27-04-2007, 06:51 AM
Photo from Outlaw Charters - There were plenty of tiger sharks out there but I'm told this one is a white pointer, not a tiger.
And the two below are a hammerhead menacing a kayak inside Moreton Island.

Dave ><>

http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/images/shark2.jpg

27-04-2007, 07:22 AM
If I was on one of those kayaks Nugget, man I reckon I'd be paddling reaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllll bloody quickly to get away LOL :)

bdowdy
27-04-2007, 09:25 AM
want to have good balance and make sure your mate didnt freak out, think i would have been p.......ing my pants. cheers bdowdy

27-04-2007, 09:43 AM
Thanks Manchild and Dave.
Now i know why i don't kayak-cause you can keep that to yourself

shaman
27-04-2007, 06:47 PM
There goes that kayak purchase I had considered, NU-UH

lee8sec
28-04-2007, 06:55 PM
Here is your link:
http://ninemsn.video.msn.com/v/en-au/v.htm?f=39&g=31752a1b-7972-4497-9046-b6a986a48826&p=aunews_autoday&t=m2397&mediaid=101067&_cobr=optus

Link wont work for me:-/ Any one else having problems? Leigh

cuzzamundi
28-04-2007, 07:04 PM
they are fantastic photos nugget! whereablouts inside moreton were they? thanks for the snaps.

cuzza