PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a Hydrofield

sgk1
22-04-2007, 06:47 PM
Hi everyone,
I am completely new to boats, but have fallen in love with the Hydrofield Trihulls.
I am currenlty looking for a good 2nd hand Hydrofield around the 5 meter mark (16-17 feet).
Are there any specific things I need to look out for, should i find one?
Or just like any other fibreglass boat?
Any advice would be appreciated.
One of the reasons I like them is the look of the hull, but also the etxra stability.
If any one has been on a Haines Hunter 17r or v and is also familiar with the similar sized Hydrofield, i would love to hear what you thought of the difference in regards to stability.
We plan to use the boat to do some fishing, diving and wakeboarding, but aren't too serious about any of these - it's more about stopping to work on the weekend and having some fun on Port Phillips Bay.
Oh, if you know of anyone selling a Hydrofield, please let me know - 0418 - 348 907.
:)
Steffan

Wayne_Red
22-04-2007, 07:01 PM
Hi Steffan
I have not been in a hydrofield, I am sure they go well. I think it would be hard to find one, you don't see many around. I saw an 8.8m one the other day with twin 200 optis on the back, very nice. For want you want you couldn't go past a 17r or 17L. It would be easier to find a good one and will all you want with ease.
Regards wayne

Kerry
22-04-2007, 07:42 PM
Won't be easy to find, but if you do you will need to almost make a decision on the spot as you probably won't get a second chance, they will not last long.

There is no comparison between a Hydrofield and 17L/C/R with regard stability, the Haines doesn't come close.

Just keep in mind there a quite a few different Hydrofield versions/models in this length produced over the years.

leezor
22-04-2007, 08:59 PM
I sold a 6.1mt Hydrofield around 18 months ago for $16k, only advertised it once and the first person to see it bought it, he didn't even want to take it for a run.