View Full Version : Help with Trailer Brakes

Fishing_Freddy
22-04-2007, 06:25 PM
Hi guys just wondering where is the best place to get new pads for the boat trailer as I noticed they are starting to get down and don't want to get caugth out with no brakes. I'm base on the northern out skirts of Ipswich but willing to travel across Brisvegas if need be. Thanks in advance for the help.
Ken :beer:

Dignity
22-04-2007, 08:05 PM
Hi guys just wondering where is the best place to get new pads for the boat trailer as I noticed they are starting to get down and don't want to get caugth out with no brakes. I'm base on the northern out skirts of Ipswich but willing to travel across Brisvegas if need be. Thanks in advance for the help.
Ken, thought they were fairly standard - I had a look at mine and found that the local super cheapo store had them available. Fitting them was altogether another issue as there was very little room to spare, maybe I was doing it wrong.

sam

BM
22-04-2007, 08:37 PM
If your calipers are the type that have been used over the past say 15 yrs then your pad number is 1028. Try Supercheap, or Bursons or any other Auto parts store.

Fishing_Freddy
23-04-2007, 05:01 AM
Thanks guys I will pull one out and take it in and see what they have to say.

23-04-2007, 03:57 PM
Mate - went through this exercise the other day. Mine are standard AL-KO disc brakes. Supercheap at Taringa said they didnt have the pads, but the Ipswich Super Cheap is much bigger and better staffed, so you might be OK there. Otherwise Repco at Indooroopilly (and no doubt at Ippy) have them. They are on the shelf with the other trailer parts in a red packet with an Indian's head on the pack. The are about $15 per set. Getting mine off was, as it turned out a piece of cake...undo the 2 caliper retaining bolts (that go through the slides) and then take of the wheel and lift out the caliper. Pads fall out - all rusty and shitty and the caliper can then be cleaned. I cleaned the slides too and bolts, and then sprayed the lot with Inox (not getting anyy on the rotors). I then coated the bolts threads with axle grease and wiped grease on the Inoxed slides to form a slippery mix. I cleaned the slide casing aswell, and innoxed that. I then sprayed Innox carefully on the metal parts of the pad, rubbing it around with my fingers so as to avoid getting any on the pad. I used spray on brake cleaner - heaps - on the discs. I then packed it all back together and tightened, and Walla...new brakes. Sweet.

Ohh.. I took the tension off the cable to make things easier first.

Cheers and good luck

23-04-2007, 04:25 PM
FF - I found the packet - its a roman head of some sort not an indian... Called Trojan - "Brake pads suit Australian Calipers" Part No "PT11201"

Fishing_Freddy
23-04-2007, 05:01 PM
Thanks for the heads up ozscott I will be having a look at them this weekend work permitting.

lethal098
23-04-2007, 08:26 PM
try place at geebubg vehicle and trailer components, have everyhting you will ever need and good price as well.

Sniper
23-04-2007, 08:28 PM
On any hydraulic braking system, make sure you only use rubber grease and no spray lubricant as it may affect the rubber seals in the calipers. On cable brake systems, can't see a problem though. My 2 cents worth.
Billyboy

Fishing_Freddy
23-04-2007, 09:26 PM
try place at geebubg vehicle and trailer components, have everyhting you will ever need and good price as well.
Thanks lethal when I have them pulled apart I will give them call.

Fishing_Freddy
23-04-2007, 09:27 PM
On any hydraulic braking system, make sure you only use rubber grease and no spray lubricant as it may affect the rubber seals in the calipers. On cable brake systems, can't see a problem though. My 2 cents worth.
Billyboy
Thanks Sniper mine are cable so I'm hoping there wont be to many dramas.

2DKnBJ
23-04-2007, 10:04 PM
FF
There is a trailer place at Summner Park that specialises in marine trailers.Not sure of the name but they are very helpfull and only willing to help out with advice.

Cheers Dazza

Fishing_Freddy
24-04-2007, 04:58 AM
FF
There is a trailer place at Summner Park that specialises in marine trailers.Not sure of the name but they are very helpfull and only willing to help out with advice.

Cheers Dazza
Thanks Dazza that sounds like the kind of place I might need, I'll see if I can find them on the net.