View Full Version : Storm

gunna
20-04-2007, 04:41 PM
You Brissy blokes seen whats headed your way. Check the radar. And get the cars under cover.

20-04-2007, 05:01 PM
Yep, just checked the radar, looks like that wee little storm cell has split and will miss Brisvegas...........again.

It may build in intensity as it travels further towards the coast. here's hoping.

Maybe those Kiwi's brought it with them for tonights Test Match !!

gunna
20-04-2007, 05:20 PM
Yeh I am at Miama and its still dry. Overcast though. But according to that radar it should be raining here.

20-04-2007, 05:23 PM
One cell looks likes its dumping on Somerset Dam

sambos
20-04-2007, 05:32 PM
doesnt look like too much to me .cooling of to fast wouldnt expect too much

20-04-2007, 05:33 PM
Just checked again, yep, certainly building since I last checked and it's gettin dark outside.

Humidity just went up 20%. Haven't smelt the rain yet, might stick me noggin outside. !!!!

Lets hope it dumps all it has over the catchment areas.

20-04-2007, 05:49 PM
rain ?????

20-04-2007, 05:52 PM
http://www.bom.gov.au/images/bom_logo.gif (http://www.bom.gov.au/index.shtml)
http://www.bom.gov.au/images/clear.gif (http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDQ20038.html#skip) Home (http://www.bom.gov.au/index.shtml) | About Us (http://www.bom.gov.au/inside/index.shtml) | Contacts (http://www.bom.gov.au/inside/contacts.shtml) | Help (http://www.bom.gov.au/help/) | Feedback (http://www.bom.gov.au/other/feedback/) | http://www.bom.gov.au/images/clear.gif http://www.bom.gov.au/images/clear.gif SEARCH Global (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/global/) | Australia (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/national/) | NSW (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/nsw/) | Vic. (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/vic/) | Qld (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/qld/) | WA (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/wa/) | SA (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/sa/) | Tas. (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/tas/) | ACT (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/act/) | NT (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/nt/) | Ant. (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/ant/) |
http://www.bom.gov.au/images/clear.gif http://www.bom.gov.au/images/clear.gif Learn About Meteorology (http://www.bom.gov.au/lam/) | Weather & Warnings (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/) | Climate (http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/) | Hydrology (http://www.bom.gov.au/hydro/) | Numerical Prediction (http://www.bom.gov.au/nmoc/) | About Services (http://www.bom.gov.au/catalogue/) | Registered User Services (http://www.bom.gov.au/reguser/) | http://www.bom.gov.au/images/clear.gif http://www.bom.gov.au/images/clear.gif

See Glossary (http://www.bom.gov.au/lam/glossary/) to find out what the weather terms mean.
IDQ20038
http://www.bom.gov.au/images/gov_logo_small.gif
Bureau of Meteorology
Queensland Regional Office

The Standard Emergency Warning Signal should NOT be used with this message.

TOP PRIORITY FOR IMMEDIATE BROADCAST

SEVERE THUNDERSTORM WARNING - SOUTHEAST QUEENSLAND

for LARGE HAILSTONES, DAMAGING WIND and VERY HEAVY RAINFALL

For people in parts of the
Southeast Coast Forecast District.

Issued at 5:43 PM Friday, 20 April 2007.

At 5:45 PM , Bureau of Meteorology weather radar detected severe thunderstorms near Harrisville and Peak Crossing. These thunderstorms are moving towards the north. Severe thunderstorms are forecast to affect Redbank Plains, Ipswich and Rosewood by 6:45 PM .

Large hailstones, damaging winds and very heavy rainfall are possible.

The Emergency Management Queensland advises that people should:
* Move your car under cover or away from trees.
* Secure loose outdoor items.
* Avoid driving, walking or riding through flood waters.
* Seek shelter, preferably indoors and never under trees.
* Avoid using the telephone during a thunderstorm.
* Beware of fallen trees and powerlines.
* For emergency assistance contact the SES in your local government area, listed in the White Pages under either State Emergency Service or your local council.

The next warning is due to be issued by 6:45 PM.

This warning is also available through TV and Radio broadcasts, the Bureau's website at www.bom.gov.au or call 1300 659 219. The Bureau and Emergency Management Queensland would appreciate this warning being broadcast regularly.

http://www.bom.gov.au/fwo/IDQ65621.gif?foolcache=200704201744

Home (http://www.bom.gov.au/) | About Us (http://www.bom.gov.au/inside/) | Learn about Meteorology (http://www.bom.gov.au/lam/) | Contacts (http://www.bom.gov.au/inside/contacts.shtml) | Search (http://www.bom.gov.au/search/) | Help (http://www.bom.gov.au/help/) | Feedback (http://www.bom.gov.au/other/feedback/)
Weather and Warnings (http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/) | Climate (http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/) | Hydrology (http://www.bom.gov.au/hydro/) | Numerical Prediction (http://www.bom.gov.au/nmoc/) | About Services (http://www.bom.gov.au/catalogue/) | Registered Users (http://www.bom.gov.au/reguser/) | SILO (http://www.bom.gov.au/silo/) © Copyright (http://www.bom.gov.au/other/copyright.shtml) Commonwealth of Australia 2007, Bureau of Meteorology (ABN 92 637 533 532)
Please note the Copyright Notice (http://www.bom.gov.au/other/copyright.shtml) and Disclaimer (http://www.bom.gov.au/other/disclaimer.shtml) statements relating to the use of the information on this site and our site Privacy (http://www.bom.gov.au/other/privacy.shtml) and Accessibility (http://www.bom.gov.au/other/accessibility.shtml) statements. Users of these web pages are deemed to have read and accepted the conditions described in the Copyright, Disclaimer, and Privacy statements. Please also note the Acknowledgement (http://www.bom.gov.au/other/copyright.shtml#acknowledgements) notice relating to the use of information on this site. No unsolicited commercial email.

sambos
20-04-2007, 06:09 PM
yep still looks like a fizzer

Gilligan
20-04-2007, 06:32 PM
The northerly has dropped and it smells a bit like rain but dont reckon it will happen here at stafford. hopefully it will drop further north where it it needed.

zig on gilligans pc

20-04-2007, 06:59 PM
Just love the way the BOM always put that severe storm warning up. Storm? Hah! I saw a dog outside releasing more moisture on my front yard.::)

Gilligan
20-04-2007, 07:04 PM
Just love the way the BOM always put that severe storm warning up. Storm? Hah! I saw a dog outside releasing more moisture on my front yard.::)

Love your work Poodroo............ rained here for 5 mins now stopped, currently looking for the dog that did it;D ;D ;D

zigfreed

robersl
20-04-2007, 07:14 PM

hey poodroo
did that dog have a lead on it mine got blown away in the wind last week

shane

20-04-2007, 07:20 PM
Just had a look at BOM (19:15 hours) and at this stage it looks good for Pine Rivers area.:D

Trouble is most of these storms move too quick to dump a significant amount in any one place.:(

Drove to Redcliffe around 3 pm and it looked like a good built up towards the south east but then it all seemed to fizzle out.

SeaBreeze forecasts thunderstorms tonight, Saturday, Sunday and Monday.

20-04-2007, 07:34 PM
PHIZZER

No rain tonight people, but the forecast is for rain and thunderstorms over the next 3 days. we''ll see !!!!!

20-04-2007, 08:36 PM
Ah well, we've had our ten minute shower in Strathpine.:)

Will still have to water the pot plant tommorrow.

Maybe better luck over the next 3 days.

With the storm passing, seabreeze shows the wind dropping to 5 knots NNW.:D

Looks like another good day tommorrow.

kingtin
20-04-2007, 08:40 PM
Ah well, we've had our ten minute shower in Strathpine.:)

Lucky bastards! Nothing in Bracken Ridge..........empty tanks and brown plants............... and she won't let me put the rig in the water until there's enough water in the tank to wash it. ::)

21-04-2007, 08:09 PM
Hi Kev,

I've been using the commercial car wash at Brendale to clean my boat.

$2 or $3 at the most (including the back end of the ute) then home for a quick flush of the outboard. Patchy green grass.:)

Re Storms, looks like we're quite 'safe' from anything tonight.:(

Maybe tommorrow!!!

kingtin
21-04-2007, 08:32 PM
Hi Kev,

I've been using the commercial car wash at Brendale to clean my boat.

$2 or $3 at the most (including the back end of the ute) then home for a quick flush of the outboard. Patchy green grass.:)

Re Storms, looks like we're quite 'safe' from anything tonight.:(

Maybe tommorrow!!!

Mate, it takes me nigh on 45 mins to wash my rig properly..............I can't see 'em putting up with that at any commercial wash. >:( I got enough bent nose jobs in the pub game without getting another over salt on a freakin' boat! ;D

21-04-2007, 09:07 PM
I've seen some pretty crudy 4WD take close to 30 minutes at the car wash and leave a mess in the bay they've used.

My little 4M tinny don't take much to clean especially with the high pressure hose.

Plenty of boats there on Sat & Sun afternoons.