View Full Version : Northern Territory,Kimberley

nev-e
10-04-2007, 11:02 AM
Hi,
heading to northern territory and Kimberley - Victoria River,Timber Creek,Wyndham, Kununnurra, Derby Broome etc etc.
Wondered what outfits would be best to take. Have an Abu Morrum 4-6kg rood and abu garcia reel for Barra. Was thinking that a 7-8' spin outfit would be ok to take as well. Would this cover most situations for mostly land based fishing - will hire boat sometimes and possibly a couple of charters in Broome area.
Any comments or advice would be appreciated

Tassie JR
12-04-2007, 07:04 PM
been on some charters off broome got some great fish offshore and all the tackle is suplied,try fishing off the broome jetty landed some big golden trevally off it. Your little barra set up should be fine in creeks and rivers and a 7-8' spin set up would be great. the ivanhoe crossing is a great fishing spot at kununnurra for barra dont even need a boat to fish there. very dirty at derby didnt even bother fishing in the crap.

also watch out for the big saltwater crocs

cheers tassie JR

nev-e
13-04-2007, 11:58 AM
Thanks for that Tassie - will look out for lizards for sure.

Broomey
16-04-2007, 03:25 PM
Hi Nev,

I'm sure you'll have a great time fishing all the spots you have said, Broome will be good, when you heading over this way???
You're spin gear will be given a work out from the Jetty if you get onto some GT's or big Queenies, Charter guys have all there own gear so they will fit you out with some heavier gear that you will have some fun on.
Blue Linned Emperor are on the bite at present , with a lot of guys bagging out with in a few hours,I hear Reds are around in the deeper water as well.
Don't be to worried at the muddy water at Derby, still some big Barra caught of the Jetty.

Hope you have Fun!!!

Broomey

BobbyJ123
19-04-2007, 09:51 PM
G'day mate, when you get to Kununurra, go to the fishing tackle shop and ask for directions to the Keep River. At the crossing, swing north unyil you get to the west-east creek, about 30 metres wide, and there you will have lotsa fishing........and a few big lizards. I fished most of that area north of the crossing and one time, made 10 casts for 10 barra. Missed out for the next 3 casts and then another 5 barra. But that was in the good days.....1960s.:D

nev-e
23-04-2007, 11:28 AM
Thanks Broomey and BobbyJ .
Broomey - will be in Broome 7th-14th july and in Kimberley before and after those dates then to Darwin for 10 days early August.