View Full Version : 2005 150efi Mercury

30-03-2007, 07:58 PM
G'day guys,

I'm selling the 150efi Merc 2 stroke to upgrade to an f200 Yam 4 stroke.

The Merc has done 160 hours and was recently serviced up.

It has a 19" Stainless Steel Vengeance prop.

The merc has never missed a beat and is very reliable. Fires up first pop every time. Fuel economy is around 32-35lt/hr at 3,800 rpm.

It is more than adequate to push the 6.5 mt Riptide, but I'm changing over to get greater range.

The motor is still on the boat so can be water tested, but will be coming off after easter.

Complete with smart craft guages and still has 12 month factory warranty to run

Motor is in excellent condition but has a couple of cosmetic scratches. Complete with Cowel cover.

I'm looking for $10,750 ONO

Call me on 0419-742-078 if you want any info or to arrange inspection

08-04-2007, 11:31 AM
Anyone know someone that is looking for a good reliable, late model donk? Happy to negotiate some commission...

16-04-2007, 07:39 AM
The motor will be coming off this week sometime hopefully

01-05-2007, 04:14 PM
Still on boat and ready for a water test!

07-05-2007, 01:57 PM
I pulled the motor off the boat today, its on a sturdy engine stand so any test now welcomed - except water for obvious reasons!

Engine has been regularly serviced by Jon Eadie and is in real good nick. Even compressions across the 6 cyls and everything working as it should. Final engine hour count 181

copie
08-05-2007, 08:58 PM
Hi there Rhys
I aws talking to jon today about another matter. Could you tell me if your engine is still for sale and what area are you in.
thanks MARK

09-05-2007, 07:33 PM
G'day Mark,

Yep, the motor is still for sale, Jon knows it well and can bona-fide servicing, reliability etc.

The motor is currently at Rip Tide's old workshop in Browns Plains. If you want to check it out call me on 0419-742-078 to tee up a time

28-05-2007, 11:16 AM
Motor still available

Flyin Tiger
03-06-2007, 09:14 PM
Rhys,

Good luck with your sale mate, let us know how the Yammie goes...

Heading up to 1770 next week, will let you know how we go...
Chris...

09-06-2007, 06:52 AM
Yeah g'day Chris,

Hope you have a great time at 1770 and get among them.

Motor still available

18-06-2007, 07:15 AM
Yes SU the f200 is, the 150efi is still a good motor though and will get someone in the water reliably and at a much cheaper initial cost as it did me. It served me well and got me in the water and going while the finances built up for the change and is still available

Price drop...$10,250

My model were around $16,750 new...the same model today are around $17,250 new with all the gear...this one is only 2 yrs old with 180 hrs and has all the gear..$10,250 and open to reasonable offers

18-06-2007, 08:33 AM
Can transport to NQ...$400.00 with Trewins Transport.

I just noticed and error in the original post. The prop is a 17in stainless steel vengeance, not 19in

25-06-2007, 09:27 AM
Motor still available

06-07-2007, 08:07 PM
still here!!!!

15-07-2007, 06:49 PM
Price drop $9500...gotta go at that!

28-07-2007, 12:29 PM
Time to give it a bu mp!

04-08-2007, 07:49 PM
front page again...

murf
09-08-2007, 07:46 PM
its a shame it has a 1 in front of the 50:)

the mate next door just destroyed his 20yo Yam and is after a 50/60hp

Cheers Murf

deadbeatloser
11-08-2007, 04:07 PM
gday m8 just wondering how much fuel she uses ? :-/

13-08-2007, 11:01 AM
On my 6.5 mt platey (around 1550kg) the fuel economy was around 32-35lt/hr at 3,800 rpm and 42klm/hr with a 17 inch ss vengeance prop. Varied a little depending on the day.

Good motor at a good price

27-08-2007, 04:27 PM
now $9250.00

07-09-2007, 08:11 PM
bump, bump, bump

17-09-2007, 02:49 PM
$9000.00???

With the exception of a couple of cosmetic marks, this motor is in very good nick, around $17k new, still a year of warranty with only 180 hours, all smart craft gauges someone must know someone who wants a good motor cheap?

26-09-2007, 12:52 PM
Wow, over 3000 looks must be a record, but its still here, any near serious offers considered

cooky
03-10-2007, 06:05 PM
is there any photos Revs57?

13-10-2007, 03:41 PM
Yeah, still working on the photo's Cooky..looks like any other 150 efi merc with a couple of small marks and a cowelling cover. I wouldn't reckon at the price, the marks would be much of a concern.

The motor still presents very well

roydsy
17-10-2007, 07:21 AM
Mate, I am surprised your donk hasn't sold yet. I was going to list my 115 efi 4 stroke merc which has only 30 hrs on it but I think other advertising avenues might be more worthwhile than here given your slow sale.

Good luck, it certainly is good buying at that price. I will put the word out for you.

Timmy94
17-10-2007, 07:36 PM
What u replacing with roydsy?

flattyfinder
17-10-2007, 08:16 PM
would be gone if it was a opti

roydsy
18-10-2007, 11:02 AM
What u replacing with roydsy?

At this stage either a 115 or 90 etec. Not sure on the prices of these motors.

revs 150 merc is good buying and so will be my 115 2006 efi 4 stroke merc. There must be somewhere on the net that specialises in outboard motor sales?

As new outboards, going for good prices, what is it about people wanting new everything these days? Is the unknown factor that puts people off or just that people expect things for next to nothing.

adamleah
18-10-2007, 01:17 PM
Revs - 150 is a bit large for my boat,
However Roydsy. What dollars are you looking for your 115?

roydsy
19-10-2007, 06:41 AM
Revs - 150 is a bit large for my boat,
However Roydsy. What dollars are you looking for your 115?

Adamleah - PM sent, I would post it up here but I don't want to hijack Revs thread.

19-10-2007, 07:34 PM
Hey Roydsy, at least this is keeping my post at the top of the list ;)...I knew you'd move yours before I got to sell mine as soon as I saw your post. Sure the 2 stk is thirstier, but at the price it should get someone in the water and going while building funds to go with something else. Someone could pick this motor up, use it for 12mths and sell it for similar money, get the benefit from a reliable motor, sure she'd use a bit more fuel, but you're in and away, move it on in twelve months when another option presents itself.

I see fellas with twin 4stks and they have a similar fuel burn to the 150, without the extra maintenence.

I'm certainly not sorry I had it, got us going for 180 trouble free hours, just like to move it on so someone else can gain the benefit of a cheap v6 and put some dollars back in the bank.

Well its all horses for courses hey

Thanks for being considerate

cooky
25-10-2007, 11:46 AM
photos always get people minds working - just good sales practice. Gets you daydreaming about upgrading or how that motor woudl look on the back, etc. just a tip. eg. I have a 2001 merc 115hp on my 5.4m. I would LOVE a 150hp - sounds like the same sort of motor. I don't have to upgrade, but if I daydream about a bigger donk for longer -you just never know. I don't have the funds available, but if I want something bad enough - it doesn't take too much...

Splash
25-10-2007, 07:41 PM
Hi Revs.

Your friends have put me onto this thread.

In the market for a 2 stroke donk - I see you have been trying hard to sell.

SOme questions:

How much warranty left?
Weight of donk?
Condition of injectors?
Photos?

SPlash

25-10-2007, 10:06 PM
Hi Splash,

still around 8 months of factory warranty to run
Weight around 185 kg
Injectors excellent
Photo's I'm working on it

26-10-2007, 11:54 AM
O.K. Some photos finally

26-10-2007, 11:56 AM
some more photos

26-10-2007, 01:16 PM
Hey Splash,

And if you were happy with $9000 for the motor, I'll include the fit up to your boat and a service including a new water pump impella as part of the deal - it really is time to say farewell. Thats around $800.00 more of value.

You'd want to do a service anyway as the motor has been off the boat for a few months now. Impellas do lose their shape if not used regularly. Jon Eadie has always done the maintenance on it, it would take a couple of weeks to get him - he is mobile to Bris Sth Side so it would be a matter of getting you to tow your boat to the place I have the motor stored, Exchange the dollars, get Jon to do the fit up and have him service it at the same time. Whalla - two happy campers!!!

That's gotta be fair?

02-11-2007, 04:43 PM
Oh well, back to the drawing board, does anyone know someone who wants a very reasonably priced, reliable motor?

08-11-2007, 07:08 PM
The deal offered to Splash still stands

roydsy
09-11-2007, 09:02 AM
We have given up trying to trade in our 115HP merc 2006 with 28hrs on her as the loss is too great. Going to shift some weight out of the rear and maximise our dollars elsewhere. Selling a near new motor and buying new is just not worth it when the market for used motors is so poor.

I still cannot believe you haven't sold it yet at that price. Good luck!
Roydsy

16-11-2007, 06:51 AM
Yeah Roydsy, I cant believe it is still here either, must've grown roots by now!

I might have to whack it in the trading post or ebay soon

But the current deal stands...$9000, serviced and set up on your boat from Brisbane South Side, ready to go, or $9000 delivered to the nearest depot to your door and I'll throw in $800 toward the freight!

That's less that half new price for a 2005 donk with only 180 hrs...

Rod Fishing
16-11-2007, 07:58 AM
Mate, ATM I am really trying to convine the missus to let me buy a much newer engine. She was all keen for a bram bewie but as soon as she found out how much it was going to cost she got very cold feet.

Your donk is an option and i would be silly if i didnt consider it. It is now in the hands of the girl.

Cheers Rod....

20-11-2007, 06:20 AM
No worries Rod, I know how these things work!!!

rhys

27-11-2007, 02:22 PM
Still here!

04-12-2007, 07:58 AM
Topped the 5000 lookers, yahoo! gotta be some kind of record!!!!

Someone must know someone building a boat in need of a motor, buying or replacing a motor???

10-12-2007, 08:10 AM
O.K. Need the cash for christmas,

$8000.00 cash, you service and fit up, or $8800 and I pay for service and fit up...no other offers - less than half price for a 2 1/2 yr old motor that has been cared for, never flogged, never left unflushed always serviced on schedule.

Its all there XL shaft, smart craft gauges including hour meter to verify hour status, control module, 17" ss vengeance prop, oil bottle - not a thing wrong with it except a boat to hang of the back of and get back in the water!

If you act as an agent, add whatever you like to the bottom line price and keep it for yourself and I'll throw in a days fishing for one on flamin' riptide at my expense!

17-12-2007, 05:38 AM
Gee, thought that last bit would've got a bite???

17-12-2007, 07:55 AM
Mate I should go and buy a hull just to bung your motor on, add some 'essentials' and then flog the package.
I just wish my old boat was bigger so I could bung it on mine.

17-12-2007, 01:00 PM
Appreciate your support Scott

Deiter
19-12-2007, 05:29 PM
G'day Rhys.
Yeah, that has gotta be some kind of record.

If you want to sell it, throw it in the trading post or on ebay at YOUR price. Also consignment at a dealers could be another avenue. I think you should stop mucking around and take the best offer you get in the next 6-8 weeks, only coz you have had it sitting around for how long now????? It's only losing value, and as much as it hurts to admit it, you may be better off cutting your losses now rather than ending up another grand less in 6mnths time. There's alot of cheap motors around in this size bracket, and not that many buyers. If yours is as clean as it looks and priced reasonably, get it out there and let it do it's thing.

Damo

larfin
20-12-2007, 06:27 AM
Ryhs I have had a lot of luck on ebay and the trading post too but I dont think you should drop the price anymore just put it on with 5 or 6 good pics. As damo said there are a lot of motors around -BUT not a lot of good ones.At 8 grand it is well priced
greg

20-12-2007, 08:17 AM
Thanks for the advice Damo & Greg

Will give it a go there after the Christmas break

rhys

03-01-2008, 08:25 PM
I wonder if it gets to 6000 lookers whether Steve will amke it a sticky????

Bump!!!!

sid_fishes
03-01-2008, 09:00 PM
sell it to reefmaster, cheers ian

04-01-2008, 06:35 AM
lol, you are a funny man Ian :):):)

outsiderskip
04-01-2008, 07:44 AM
hi rhys
u can always add another motor on the back of your boat

04-01-2008, 02:51 PM
you're a funny man too Pete:):):):):)

dicko1980
04-01-2008, 05:29 PM
I can't believe how hard its been for you to sell that motor Revs. If you had any spare cash laying around it would nearly be worth buying an older boat and fitting the motor and flogging the whole lot off as a BMT. That motor would have sold no worries here in NQ. Best of luck mate.

dicko1980

05-01-2008, 08:30 AM
You got it there Dicko, it is a good thing, hard to get my head around it. 6100 plus lookers now, would've thought someone might know someone that wanted a good, cheap, reliable motor.

Looks like a trading post or ebay job

15-01-2008, 06:49 AM
Still available...

15-01-2008, 09:05 AM
Well, the motor is now officially off the market, pending sale 26th Jan 2007...can't wait to put the SOLD! SOLD! SOLD! up

Stay tuned...maybe push it to 7000 looks before its done and dusted to set some kind of new record!

fez
15-01-2008, 01:30 PM
Just bumping the looks up for you mate;D , lets get it to 7.

Seriously congratulations on the pending sale.

Fez

sid_fishes
15-01-2008, 05:42 PM
hope all goes well with the sale mate , cheers ian

bluefin59
15-01-2008, 06:14 PM
Finally someone has picked up this bargain congats mate ...matt

15-01-2008, 07:32 PM

well rhys, ABOUT BLOODY TIME!!! haha

399 views remain ;)

Vindicator
15-01-2008, 09:00 PM

Cheers Rhys
Kezza

dfox
15-01-2008, 10:30 PM
Well, the motor is now officially off the market, pending sale 26th Jan 2007...can't wait to put the SOLD! SOLD! SOLD! up

Stay tuned...maybe push it to 7000 looks before its done and dusted to set some kind of new record!

Come on Rhys get your facts right its jan "2008"! Hope the sale all goes smooth and i'll catch up with you soon ...foxy

murf
19-01-2008, 07:40 AM
haha well done Rhys

what new toy you gunna get with the money??????????

polky
19-01-2008, 11:29 AM
Well done Revs someones got a bargin. Polky.

24-01-2008, 06:36 AM
Thanks for the well wishes blokes and we made it...7001 - C'mon Steve, that's gotta be some kind of record!!!! Can't wait to get the bill for the sale mate ;) and I'll be happy to pay it just quietly

The new toy Murph is called a house...we've just taken possession of a 5y/o place in Wakerley. Hopefully I can twist Swano's arm for a deal on a deck and outdoor living area..Foxy, we've got a couple of plastering spots for you to look at so you won't miss out either.

Yeah polky, its gone cheap, but its gorn...well hopefully on Sunday

Don't want to count the chickens before they hatch now do we

28-01-2008, 07:00 AM
SOLD! SOLD! SOLD! WITH 7100 PLUS LOOKS,BUT SHE'S SOLD!!!!

bluefin59
28-01-2008, 07:23 AM
Thank goodness for that congratulations .... matt:laola: :laola: :laola: :laola: :laola: :laola: :laola: :laola:

28-01-2008, 10:30 AM
Woo Hoooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

backlash08
29-01-2008, 02:12 PM
good things come to those who wait - well done Rhys

29-01-2008, 05:05 PM
Gees ! it will be good to get some bandwidth back for the site :-X;D;D;D;D;D

Well done on the sale