View Full Version : Pine River

gunna
26-03-2007, 06:07 PM
Noticed what looked like a baby trawler when I crossed the river this arvo. They don't actually trawl this waterway do they ??? Oughta be shot if they do.

kingtin
26-03-2007, 06:25 PM
Noticed what looked like a baby trawler when I crossed the river this arvo. They don't actually trawl this waterway do they ??? Oughta be shot if they do.

Nearly every weekday I'm guessing, although I think there's a 3 month closure. I'm guessing that way because I've never fished midweek when there hasn't been a trawler working although that may just be a coincidence. I can't find the research that I did but there's 4 licences issued, I think. Bloody tragic! :( :'(

BR65
26-03-2007, 07:35 PM
Trawl it, scour it, pillage it, flog it.
Take your pick.
Its fair dinkum criminal.
The Pine is my local and I very rarely fish it, the sight of those beam trawlers scrapeing an estuary bare is to much.
Surely it cant be economical to run a river trawler in the Pine? Do these blokes have other income to balance the meager return they would receive from a few months of dragging the guts out of the river chaseing river prawns.
There may well be family tradition, history, established life style, but at what cost to the eco system of the Pine, or any other estuary that is raped, sorry I meant beam trawled.
Think I had better go and have a cool drink, my blood is starting to boil.

Brian

Kleyny
26-03-2007, 07:40 PM
I've also been told that theres 4 trailers still with licenses to run in the pine.
I also saw the trawling about 5m from the wreck.
I think this is just crazy. Just like not digging the dams out whilst they are so low.
Probably some good reasons. but i cant think of them thats for sure.

sarg
26-03-2007, 08:58 PM
I've often thought of getting a petition letter and spending a few hours at deepwater over a weekend and giving it to the local member to see if anything can be done. Kingtin did you used to be in politics would it be worth while/achive anything? And would any other members want to do it?

Lazybugger
26-03-2007, 09:33 PM
I would imagine this is something that should be raised right now as part of the Moreton Bay review.

kingtin
26-03-2007, 10:05 PM
I've often thought of getting a petition letter and spending a few hours at deepwater over a weekend and giving it to the local member to see if anything can be done. Kingtin did you used to be in politics would it be worth while/achive anything? And would any other members want to do it?

Hi Andrew. Yes, I did dabble in socialism ::) but I'm older and wiser now ;) ;D

The local member is Carol Cashman, but I don't know if she'd be the right person to approach as she is now also very busy as the mayor's deputy, I think, although I may be mistaken.

If there's enough support here, then perhaps some willing members may want to start an action committee although The Fishing Party may want to take the issue on board.

What has to be borne in mind though is that we are dealing here with other folks livelihoods and an equitable by-back should be the aim, not simply a do or die approach to stopping it.

Also, as I am led to believe, the trawlers in the Pine provide the bait industry so some may see it as cutting off our nose to spite our face. Personally, I don't use packet prawn on principle and catch my own, but thousands of other do and a reduction in supply would lead to higher costs. Lots of ramifications to be looked at before arriving at a decision as to whether to start a campaign for by-back.

Still_Dreamin
27-03-2007, 05:34 PM
I stopped fishing the pine after an incident about 10 years ago. I was cast netting for live bait near deep water bend in about waist deep water when i got a net full of juvienille bream. spent the best part of 1/2 hour individually releasing each and everyone of them and was wading back to shore when the trwaler went through right where i was casting into. he didn't pull his nets up until he reached the highway bridge. anyway anything in that net was well and truly drowned by the time he stopped. happened to be at the ramp at dohles rocks at the same time as his return to see him lift one blue crate of prawns (i used to catch more with my bait net) i asked if it was worth it and was told to mind my business. so i persisted and mentioned the fish he drowned , he reckons they pass through his nets but as these fish were bigger than the prawns he was catching i think this was BS. my accountant reckons they do it for a tax dodge. something about cheaper vehicles (4x4) etc. often lay awake at night dreaming of dropping a device made out of three star pickets welded at right angles to each other which would roll and get nicely tangled in the nets but realised this would be highly illegal. damn morals

gruntahunta
27-03-2007, 06:10 PM
I got a prototype of just that thing if you,re interested!!

27-03-2007, 06:13 PM
Leave them alone! better to keep the common doctrin alive, if we as recfisherman targeted the real problem in fisheries as a unit, think of all the lost research grants, the compunded continual need to restrict recfishing freedoms by decree! The lack of departmenal power and the lack of green power to manipulate.

Now is not the time to focus on the cause better to decrease bag limits, increase sizes and restrict freedom of movement within recreation.

Leave those trawlers alone! They PAY TAX directly on this govermenatal resource.

clone trooper
27-03-2007, 06:51 PM
many a time have I been at the pine trying to catch a fish only to have Mr trawler come within a couple of meters of where I am. I understand that they are there to catch bait, but I tell you this. they have no respect for anything else in the pine river system. I have seen him put a knife through big bream and throw over the side,by catch for him a feed for us..

sarg
27-03-2007, 11:11 PM
Thanks Kingtin,

I did mean buy them out not just shut them down as you said it puts food on their table. FNQ the pine system is very small and there is absolutly no reason to have 4 (if there still are) trawlers on it they would be far better off in the bay if there boats are big enough.

MarcusF
01-04-2007, 08:29 AM
Talk about managing the fisheries system in SE QLD its a friggen joke I have seen those trawlers for 15+ years pillaging the pine river. This is the breeding ground for all those juvenile fish's. And now theres all this talk about more green zones in the bay around all the islands. Perhaps we need to look at the hyprocrisy here.
It would be a interesting cost benefit analysis exercies to see who puts the most into the local fishing industry (commercial & rec), from looking at the costs of running my rig etc that I could live like a king on fish if I wanted too, so someone benefits from all the dosh I spend on my rig each year, hence the rec side of things still creates jobs and money to the local community.
To destroy a breeding habitat for the sake of propping up a few commercial fishermen is wrong in my opinion and for all of you guys who don't know the pine river its only about 30m wide where I always see the trawler operate, one or two passes through this section would totally strip the river bed clean.