View Full Version : Mercruiser engines

Relic
24-03-2007, 10:57 AM
Hi All, Just joined and it seems like a great site here.

I have an 18 foot Bertram/Carribean and would like to know if any has any info on where i could get a good second hand or reco 120/140 mercruiser.

The one in the boat seem to be a bit rugged and i thought i might look at completely replacing it and leg with an upgrade.

shubeej
24-03-2007, 12:59 PM
hi relic, have you ever thought about a pod & an outboard ,have thought about it a couple of times myself.
shubeej

Relic
24-03-2007, 01:03 PM
Hi shubeej,

That is another option if anyone knows where i could buy a bolt on pod i may even go that way.

I am in tassie and havent found many options my way.

Kiktz
24-03-2007, 03:33 PM
We had a 205 Carribean a while back.
the engine was off and the mech cracked the head tighten it too much.
We had to get a small chevy head for it. Which at the end of the day
cost alot. I would seriouly look at Pod and outboard engine if the
$$ wern't a big hurdle

Aj

24-03-2007, 03:42 PM
Hi Relic
sent you a pm (private message)

Relic
25-03-2007, 04:55 PM
Okay so can anyone advise me on some places for parts as i may look at a rebuild.

shubeej
25-03-2007, 06:24 PM
hi relic,if you do a google search for mercruiser parts there will be heaps to choose from genuine & non genuine parts ,there also is in the u.s.a places that do remanufactured engines & legs that might be worth a look at .keep us posted how you go
shubeej

26-03-2007, 09:14 AM
I know a guy that has a pair of them, one goes like a dream, the other is stuffed, he has a Bertram and is fitting outboards, if you are interested I can get his number and he will sell you the good one cheap (maybe) only problem is, they are out of the boat now, as a dealer has said he will give him a good price for the pair (for parts) but I know one is really good.

Relic
31-03-2007, 01:45 PM
Hi Noelm have sent you a pm thanks.

Well i now have the engine out and have discovered a crack in nuber one cylinder,that is not really my problem though.

I have taken of leg and discovered that the steering bimbal is cactus(the spline is almost gone in gimbal),any ideas of a fix other than $1000 for a new one.

If anyone has any pre alpha gimbals floating around please pm me.

still looking at other options as the rebuild idea is getting a bit expensive atm.

smee
02-04-2007, 09:53 AM
Hi relic
My brother has a 470 out of a 25 ft flybridge has put twin honda,s on only been out for a boat test so far will pst a report at a later date. Anyway if your intersested.
regards smee

Relic
05-04-2007, 05:45 AM
Thanks smee, but i have found a 84 model block and a closed water system so its gunna be a rebuild.