View Full Version : 6.2m Riptide

chris_s
22-03-2007, 06:59 PM
Well its been a long time coming, from saving the coin, placing the order and selling the old boat at xmas time, but now my time has begun. Dave started work on my 6.2m riptide cuddy cab and i feel like a little kid starring at his pressies under the xmas tree. Long way to go, things to organise, gear to buy, but good things come to those who wait (so they say & i dont want to wait) but anyhow pretty excited and really glad i'm dealing with someone as helpful as dave.

chris_s
22-03-2007, 07:01 PM
One with the old man wondering where his spot will be.

chuss
22-03-2007, 08:11 PM
awesome!!!!

anything special/unique going to be integrated on the boat?

chris_s
22-03-2007, 08:25 PM
Nothing that special, maybe a couple of personal touches but its work in progress. Who knows what we may come up in the next several weeks. As they say "if aint broken, don't fix it".

yessir
22-03-2007, 08:38 PM
hey mate good to see the riptide is finally getting started i hope its a quick few months of building, cant wait to see it on the water. yessir.

22-03-2007, 08:55 PM
Very nice Chris, it's great to watch them come together after a long wait off the water. Looking forward to mine :P

Zuke powered ?

23-03-2007, 05:54 PM
Just got back from Dave's workshop Chris and saw your baby sitting there L_o_v_e_l_y

Not long now mate

dfox
23-03-2007, 06:03 PM
Keep the pics coming chris, im looking forward to seeing it come together!

I hope you were down there organising a 200hp outboard Rhys ;)

Say g-day to dave for me, and im waiting to see Christian's new rig ...foxy

23-03-2007, 07:02 PM
You read my mind Foxy! We'll see how we go...

sempre
23-03-2007, 07:34 PM
Slowly but surely its coming together mate , btw i have something for you . Talk to you soon.

dfox
05-04-2007, 02:43 PM
Come on chris!where is some up dates on the new rig mate!

chris_s
07-04-2007, 01:47 PM
Sorry for the delay foxy i'm only back in brisbane every two weeks as im working up at moura (gotta pay for it somehow).
Anyhow i caught up with dave this morning and had a look over the boat and discussed a few things with him or should i say him with me. As far as im concerned dave has built alot of these and knows exactly what to put in them, so i have told him to do what he likes. i trust his judgement and he knows what im after.
Attached are the most recent pics, now with the floor down.

07-04-2007, 02:13 PM

Nice rig there chris, I saw your rig there the other day, had dave doing some mods to my tinny.

Should be a really nice vessel when she's all up and running

dfox
07-04-2007, 07:52 PM
Good one chris, im sure things will move along quite quick now she's taking shape.
I bet you couldnt wait to get down and check out the progress.
What horse power engine are you putting on it? ...foxy

chris_s
08-04-2007, 06:40 AM
Yeah ya right fella's, pretty exciting time cant wait. I have to thank dave for making a special trip in on the easter weekend just so i could have a look and take a few pics.
As for horsepower i am going with a 200hp and been tosing up between yammie or suzzie, but looks like the suzzie now after some of the feed back i have got.

rando
08-04-2007, 06:56 AM
When can we see some more pics??

chris_s
08-04-2007, 07:13 AM
Hey sorry Rando but unfortunately not until another 2 weeks, i fly out for work on monday arvo not back till 10 days later. Thats the earliest i will get to see it. How do ya think i feel. Oh well the old man used to tell me good things come to those who wait, so i guess i might to try and wait.

yessir
09-04-2007, 08:57 AM
Hey chris, good pics there mate really shows how much more its coming along. 2 weeks will fly along and i'll hopefully get down there with you next trip.

chris_s
18-04-2007, 02:26 PM
Just a couple of extra pics that Dave was kind enough to take and send through to me. I will be down there this friday to have a look and hand over some more coin and will take some more pics then. As you will see the hull is starting to take shape. Cant wait.

chris_s
21-04-2007, 07:07 PM
Just an update on last pics added the other day. Went down to riptide today and had a look, its coming along nicely.

dfox
22-04-2007, 01:04 PM
She's taking shape nicely chris..

chris_s
02-06-2007, 11:23 AM
It has been a while since i posted any pics of the new boat, i am glad to say its mighty close now. All the gear and electronics have been purchased, painter is ready to go, hard to decide on a colour after seeing Christians and Sams. But anyhow its getting there.

indy
02-06-2007, 04:59 PM
Starting to look real good i bet your dieing in wait for it but she'll sure be worth it

02-06-2007, 04:59 PM
great boat, and serious hard top!!!! well done

looks awesome.

lipppa

Wahoo
02-06-2007, 06:51 PM
comming along very nice 8-)

how much longer before it hits the water? bet time is going sooo slow for ya
looking good and keep them pics posted

yessir
03-06-2007, 08:44 AM
hey chris the boat looks awesome, i was down that way the other day and i dropped into riptide and had a look. Not long now mate.

03-06-2007, 01:58 PM
That looks like a real solid boat. Must be comforting to be able to see each part to go together and see each join go from tac to weld and its quality. Sould look great once the 2 pac goes on too. For such a big solid boat it should be fairly light so that 200 Suzie should have it flying!!!! Where abouts are Riptide mate. I'm up in QLD in a month for good so i may pop in.

Cheers Chris

chris_s
06-06-2007, 04:42 AM
Riptide are on the southside of brissie @ underwood, look them up. As for the weight of the boat, wet plus motor estimate weight approx 1700-1800kg there abouts. But i agree 200hp will push it nicely.

07-06-2007, 09:14 AM
Yeah, been watching it come together since returning from Fraser Chris...looking real good...you'll need to ask Dave about the haggometer he's welded into the rear sponson spindles dissometer though...looks like a trick bit ;)

09-06-2007, 07:13 AM
Guess who picked up their new Riptide this morning????

CONGRATULATIONS CHRIS!!!!!!

C'mon, now we want the picks of the finished item and the fitout

chris_s
09-06-2007, 05:56 PM
Hey thanks Rhys, i think you had made the post before i had even put it on the trailer. And yes i have taken delivery of it, but it was short lived as i had to drop it off at the painters this arvo, but not until i had done a few laps around the n'side of brisbane (had to test the brakes ;D ). So now its up to the painter to do his thing, and a very big thankyou to Dave (Riptide) for all the help and advice he has offered and the great job he has done. But thats not the end of it for Dave as we still have the tank and motor to go after its painted.

yessir
09-06-2007, 06:31 PM
Didn't take long to get those photos on mate

Reefmaster
09-06-2007, 06:39 PM
Thanks for letting me check it out before you took it home this morning Chris. It turned out really well and it is surprising the amount of room that it has. The boat looks great how it is now imagine when it's painted and fitted out. The workmanship that Riptide put into their boats is second to none so congrats mate I'm sure it will do you proud.

11-06-2007, 08:49 AM
That's a great looking boat mate. I've been in a riptide for a run there a top boat. For a plate boat they ride very well. Looking forward to paintting picks

Mr__Bean
11-06-2007, 06:20 PM
Chris,

Looks fantastic...

Are you fitting it out yourself or are you having it done?

- Darren

chris_s
22-06-2007, 09:33 AM
Yeah im very happy with the way its come up, Dave has done a great job. Now its Paul's turn for the paint. Im going to fit it out, time permitting but it will be going back to Dave (Riptide) for the motor etc. Im always open to any suggestions and advice from those who have been there before.

rando
22-06-2007, 01:42 PM
Hey Chris,
you must be too busy fishing to post the finished product pics.
Ive been waiting for the other boot to drop!:D

22-06-2007, 03:59 PM
Yeah I'm with Rando...C'mon Chris share the glory mate!!!

rhys

22-06-2007, 04:45 PM
Great looking boat Chris (droool..!) just to complement the tow vechile ;D

MR C OTTER
24-06-2007, 07:10 AM
Great looking rig chris just wondering what colour u have chosen,may be something wild like hot pink or fluro purple and does the painter have big upper pecks and handsome lol:D . Got to go and disassemble a mates brake lines
in my shed see ya;D

26-06-2007, 08:32 AM
C'mon Chris, must be getting close now....

MyWay
26-06-2007, 12:51 PM
Chris love that 3td photo as your dog (boxer ) looking and asking his self where is motor ;D

That looks like a real fantastic...

cheers no luck

rando
06-07-2007, 11:31 AM
:DChris.
When are you going to drop the other boot!!!!???:D

mitch-rich
06-07-2007, 11:42 AM
Ilooking in to buying a new boat and just woundering roughly how much it all going to set you back?

17-07-2007, 11:23 AM
Hey Chris, must be close to being finished now...got some photos ....please????

chris_s
17-07-2007, 01:40 PM
Hey Rhys, yes its getting closer slowly, but at least its moving forward. Because i organised the painter and doing most of the fit out myself and trying to do it all around working 6hrs NE of Brisbane it has slowed the process down abit. But i am due to pick it up from the painters on Friday and start fitting out. So maybe its not the quickest build time by doing it this way but at least i know what im getting, and besides it doesn't look like i've missed anything going by the lack of reports. Probably best though as i cant bloody wait.
And remember qaulity takes time.

18-07-2007, 07:14 AM
::)yeah, I keep telling Jackie that!;);D

chris_s
18-07-2007, 12:31 PM
what are ya saying Rhys?

Built for comfort , not for speed?????????????????????????????????::)

nah dont go there to much information.:o

chris_s
18-07-2007, 12:36 PM
Hey Mr C Otter you know where i can get a jockey wheel ????????????????;D

chris_s
18-07-2007, 07:45 PM
Sneak Peak

mad keen#191
20-07-2007, 07:08 AM
Beut boat mate if you dont mind me asking around how much did this whole rig cost you Madkeen

Mad-One
20-07-2007, 08:07 AM
Wheres the Flames ;D;D;D

Cheers Mad

chris_s
23-07-2007, 07:22 AM
I couldn't do that to Rhys, its like a s/shine coast land mark now. Ya know as ya drivin up the coast, on your right Aussie Zoo, on ya left Big Pineapple passing us now Flammin Riptide ;D . Mine is more subtle, still got trimming and decals to go to add a bit more colour.

23-07-2007, 08:13 AM
lookin Goooooood Chris...gotta love the hint of blue, just need some bright red and yellow flames mate...is that subtle enough???

How about some shots of yer set up? take us through the fit out...Yeah I know i'm impatient, bet ya cant wait to wet her!

chris_s
23-07-2007, 08:46 AM
Rhys sent you a PM.

23-07-2007, 10:18 AM
Hi chris

Nice rig, light sky blue or is it "eggshell?. By the way, your going to need a high shed for that one, my neighbours "lovingly" call mine "the hayshed"

chris_s
23-07-2007, 11:24 AM
Hey Thanks Chimo, the colour is actually called "Ice Blue". Looks a different shade depending on the light. As for the shed not a problem at the moment its currently stored next to a 23' cat and RV and a isuzu d/cab pantec all under the one roof and behind secure doors. Only problem is the rest of it is not mine :-[ . Gotta get me one of those sheds.

MR C OTTER
05-08-2007, 06:46 AM
Well just wondering when your boat was going in the water, im sick of cleaning fish ;D also got some good alloy parts for sale inc new jockey wheel:D see ya soon chris

oldballs
27-08-2007, 08:14 AM
is your boat on the water yet and have you any pics
regards shane

chris_s
29-09-2007, 07:44 AM
Thought i better finish this thread off by posting the last Pics. Been away for work (something different) so have not had alot of time.
So anyhow here we are.

29-09-2007, 07:52 AM
Very nice Chris. It has all come together nicely.

What transducer set up have you got on the Furuno ?

yessir
29-09-2007, 07:54 AM
Hey chris the photos look great, thanks for the day out yesterday. Mate that riptide goes f#$@ing awesome.

29-09-2007, 08:17 AM
congrats buddy, that is sweet lookin ride.!!!!!!

chris_s
29-09-2007, 08:41 AM
Hey cheers guys.
Greg i am using a thru-hull trans and had no problems yet, its actually been very good.
Too easy Marty hopefully next week will be a cracker.

Reefmaster
29-09-2007, 11:10 AM
Chris the boat looks great mate. Would love to see more photos or come and have a look at it sometime if possible. Hows the 200 suzi go and are you going to name it?