View Full Version : Awoonga Barra drought broken!!!

Wazzup01
14-03-2007, 10:13 PM
My brother and I went out to Awoonga on Tuesday with local guide Johnny Mitchell to have a go at breaking my barra drought at Awoonga. Talk about breaking a drought it was an absolute flood. Between the 2 of us we hooked 15 and landed 12 (6 each), the largest one going 107cm (Matt caught that one), 9 around the 81 to 85 cm mark and 2 around the mid 60's. Johnny Mitchell is an absolute legend and his attention to detail and knowledge of the dam made it all happen.

Wazzasum

sarg
15-03-2007, 12:56 AM
Nice work there guys some nice photos too. Bet they went well were they all in open water?

CQHORNET
15-03-2007, 06:03 AM
Another feather in your Cap. Well done

And to Johnny as well. You couldn't ask for a better guide.

DNO

SeekingBarradise
15-03-2007, 09:13 AM
Well done Wazza and Matt it's always great to go fishing with family and even
better to catch fish. You guys cleaned up. The pics are great.

Johnny sounds like a very good guide and great bloke as well. Well done again and thanks for the good report.

All the best on future trips - Cheers SB

TIMMY 666
15-03-2007, 10:02 AM
Wow :o nice Barras mate! Johnny Mitchell sounds very knowledgeable, I bet it was worth the $$ ;D.

Tim.

Feral
15-03-2007, 01:14 PM
Congratulations, some great fish there!

husserhunter
15-03-2007, 01:46 PM
Well Done!! They Have Been Catching Heaps Of Late A Mate Caught A 1250cm Last Week!. They Say The Bigger Ones Come Out At Night Great Pics

eotbmg
15-03-2007, 07:27 PM
Congrats Wazzup
Great fish there and big smiles.
How did you catch the fish? Casting I presume but into weed/timber? Hardbodies/Pastics?Day/Night?
Just want tohear a bit more

Murph77
15-03-2007, 08:07 PM
Well done mate, awesome fish, great photos. What lures did the damage?

Wazzup01
15-03-2007, 08:54 PM
Squidgy slick rigs done the trick. Casting around submerged timber and weed beds. Jeez those things know how to smash a lure. Bruises on my stomach from the rod butt are starting to come out.

Wazza

Wazzup01
15-03-2007, 08:59 PM
Johnny mitchell is worth every cent. The man just oozes knowledge and it is a full on fishing lesson, not just a charter trip. If I remember 25% of what he taught us I reckon I will be doing pretty good.

Wazza

15-03-2007, 09:28 PM
Good to see Wazza. It's a sign of a good trip if you've got casting bruises. Did you use any hard bodies at all?

Wazzup01
15-03-2007, 09:40 PM
Tried a couple of hard bodies but only caught one catty.

Wazza

Wazzup01
15-03-2007, 09:48 PM
Here are some more piccies of some of the other fish.

Wazza

Zimbarra
16-03-2007, 10:18 PM
Got to love them barra well done wazzup01.

bneue4
18-03-2007, 05:22 PM