View Full Version : Tammy took bananas on board

Frank OO
01-03-2007, 08:42 PM
My dearest Daughter Tammy has been posted up from Sydney to Brisbane and we had been waiting for a good day to go out and troll for some Wahoo.

Little did I know that she had taken bananas on board together with a cup of tea and the whole kitchen. Anyway a long story short. We trolled about three hours around Hutchies and Wide Caloundra and finally caught one Dolphin Fish.

Funny, What is that stuff on the sounder. Could that be loads of Amberjack and Snapper.

Bugger the bananas and let’s cast some plastics around and see what happens. The bloody things were everywhere. Got blown away about ten times and caught about six.

Frank OO

Snapp
01-03-2007, 09:25 PM
Great catch;
must try plastics next time
i have been trying to go for the last few weekends.
WOW look at this Sunday arvo.
It just gets better. ahhh

Adamy
01-03-2007, 11:10 PM
WooHoo Frank!! Looks like a top day! Looks like we should have headed out today after all!!

Next time!

Adam

Harley000
02-03-2007, 05:51 AM
Nice reminder to keep the jigging gear handy. Was there much current out there Frank?

brad russell
02-03-2007, 07:08 AM
frank with a catch like that keep taking tammy.cheers brad

cupcake
02-03-2007, 07:14 AM
I'm taking bananas out with me next trip!

Fishing_Freddy
02-03-2007, 07:14 AM
Hi Frank it looks like a good day out and plenty of fish caught by all. If only the weather would be nice so I can get a chance to get out
Ken:D

Frank OO
02-03-2007, 07:33 AM
Hi Adam,

The Bay was very sloppy yesterday morning but there were lots of LTs' around.

Harley000,

There was quite a bit of Southerly current and a 15-17knot North Easerrly wind which made fishing a bit difficult.

Frank OO

Frank OO
02-03-2007, 07:36 AM
Hi Ken,

Saturday Morning Looks good. You might be lucky.

Frank OO

death_ship
02-03-2007, 02:49 PM
hey Frank what size jig head you use there?

02-03-2007, 02:54 PM
AJ sushimi...yummo. Looks like the whole family can catch fish Frank....that's a nice snapper Sheila is holding....were you singing? he he::)

Blue_Escape
02-03-2007, 05:42 PM
Gee Frank,
wish I had "bad luck" like that...must be using the wrong bananas?!?:-/

Did Tammy get the big AJ on the S10 or something heavier?

Blue

Frank OO
02-03-2007, 06:39 PM
Hi Blue,

We used two rods for soft plastics. One is Big Bertha which is a very much beefed up version of the S10 and the other is a Loomis. Both are great rods and both make you work really hard.

Big Ren,

I am always singing. That's why we didn't get anything last week. You wouldn't let me sing.

Death Ship,

I was using a 1oz Jig head with a 7" Gulp Plastic Electric Chicken

Frank OO

Pistol_P
02-03-2007, 07:51 PM
You seem to get constant good results Frank.
Well done mate.8-)

reef_king
02-03-2007, 09:21 PM
nice fish there frank, great fun on light gear those Aj's

02-03-2007, 09:40 PM
Well done team!

Last time I didn't bring bananas???::) ::) ::)

Locked Up
03-03-2007, 08:23 PM
do you realise how much money these reports are costing me in gulps and jigheads and braid and............................................... ...................................

03-03-2007, 10:49 PM
Some very nice fish there Frank,

Aside from that some of the photos are fantastic, the ones with a sweeping expanse of sky looks amazing.

As for bananas on board a boat.

If the bananas are in a banana cake, they then become very lucky....works for me! I make very good banana cake...so I'm told.

Well done.
r.

Frank OO
04-03-2007, 08:35 AM
Hi Roz,

That's a good enough reason for you to come up to Bribie. I love Banana Cake.

I will be heading up to 1770 on the 23 March if the weather holds.

Sometimes you just fluke good photos. I do love the clouds almost as much as the fish.

Frank OO

04-03-2007, 11:17 AM
"I do love the clouds almost as much as the fish" I don't believe that for one minute!!!

the pic of Tammy holding the AJ, also the snapper pic are lovely.

I will put you on my list of 'Very Needy' banana cake recipients Frank.

r.

04-03-2007, 01:30 PM
Is your boats' new name going to be "Banana Boat" now Frank?;D ;D

swano
04-03-2007, 02:06 PM
great report and even better results, keep it up frank oo
cheers swano

whiting_rangler
04-03-2007, 03:06 PM
Caught some good fish out there Frank.what brand of plastics?

White_Steenbras
04-03-2007, 03:45 PM
Bet your Sisters arms are a little longer after that trip. Those are solid fish man.

Top Day all around it looks like. Plenty of meals for the next few weeks.

Well done, cheers Barnesy

SgBFish
05-03-2007, 08:53 AM
Frank you make the pros look ordinary...
You are the AJ king!!!!!!!!

snapperm8
05-03-2007, 10:40 AM
how good is that mate those aj's are beauty's

cheers dave

Mattg68
05-03-2007, 03:24 PM
BLOODY HELL

I'm bathing in banana milk the night before my next expedition!

Well done Frank & crew, top catch.

05-03-2007, 04:27 PM
G'day Frank. Please do me a favour and don't put so many photos up next time. Makes me want to take time off work. :P Well done Tammy, Sheila, and Frank for having a day out on the water envied by many.

3Vs
09-03-2007, 10:19 AM
Frank

What model Loomis are you using?

Trying to make up my mind between an Egrell, Loomis and Nitro Godzilla..

Donnie
10-03-2007, 08:19 AM
Good Stuff Guys!!
Funny the bannana story comes up as i was off shore last Sat having a great time (contrary to the weather report) with Swano and Damo pulling in Snapper, Sweeties, Kingies etc as well as getting burnt by some big speed machines. I felt hungry and grabed for my bag of fruit to have a munch only to discover a "BLOODY BANNANA". I was horrified and and quickly went to off load it overboard, but being hungry i decided to eat it anyway. We had a great days fishing and the boat didnt miss a trick so "BANNANAS BAD LUCK" ???.
I could not believe that a bannana made it into my lunch bag but i couldnt blame my wife as "I PACKED IT MYSELF"

Seeya
Donnie

11-03-2007, 08:24 AM
Gees Uncle Frank a great day was had by all by the looks.
Do you ever have quite day??
Cheers Scott :)

Frank OO
11-03-2007, 08:37 AM
No Scott Check out Today's Post

Frank OO
11-03-2007, 10:42 AM
Hi 3Vs,

The Loomis was a GL2 LR 905s/7'6 Heavy - Moderate Action 12 - 25lbs 1 - 2 1/2 oz.

Great rod but I can cast a minimum of 25 meters further with my Egrell using a 1 oz jig head.

Frank OO

3Vs
11-03-2007, 04:34 PM
Thanks mate.

I am leaning towards the S10-H.

Good fishing.