View Full Version : Kayaks?

84mick
21-02-2007, 05:58 PM
Hello ladies and gents,
I'm interested in fishing in/on kayaks. I have never tried it before and am thinking about buying one in the near future but I am unsure of the limitations of them in the ocean? If I did have one is it possible to take it out the mouth of the brissy river? Bribie passage etc etc. I'm brissy local and would travel an hour or two to fish.
oh I would be looking at spending around the $1500 mark, I have looked at the trading post a little bit but didn't have any idea if I was getting ripped off.::)

Dan_A
21-02-2007, 06:50 PM
Hello ladies and gents,
I'm interested in fishing in/on kayaks. I have never tried it before and am thinking about buying one in the near future but I am unsure of the limitations of them in the ocean? If I did have one is it possible to take it out the mouth of the brissy river? Bribie passage etc etc. I'm brissy local and would travel an hour or two to fish.
oh I would be looking at spending around the $1500 mark, I have looked at the trading post a little bit but didn't have any idea if I was getting ripped off.::)

Check out www.akff.net and www.kfdu.com.au both Australian fishing kayak sites.

A few shots of my offshore Kayak

This is an external shot, but does not have the milk crate on the back...
http://thumb13.webshots.net/t/57/557/6/67/84/2596667840027294153rhulYo_th.jpg (http://outdoors.webshots.com/photo/2596667840027294153rhulYo)

Rigged and ready
http://thumb13.webshots.net/t/59/159/0/89/89/2289089890027294153HlJQOd_th.jpg (http://outdoors.webshots.com/photo/2289089890027294153HlJQOd)

http://thumb13.webshots.net/t/20/20/4/71/87/2770471870027294153AFsogg_th.jpg (http://outdoors.webshots.com/photo/2770471870027294153AFsogg)

Fish Finder Rigging and triple arm
http://thumb13.webshots.net/t/16/17/5/13/63/2320513630027294153CCWBqv_th.jpg (http://outdoors.webshots.com/photo/2320513630027294153CCWBqv)

http://thumb13.webshots.net/t/59/759/3/5/18/2644305180027294153havWPm_th.jpg (http://outdoors.webshots.com/photo/2644305180027294153havWPm)

Need to rig an anchor trolley next and am waiting for a RAM mount to come over from the states for my GPS.

stark
21-02-2007, 07:11 PM
Hi 84 Mick

Before spending on a kayak, you would be better off joining one of the clubs such as Sandgate or Wynnum Redlands Canoe Club and see if you like the experience. There are many types of Kayaks including sit on top, sea types and partial smooth water types which may suit. Most clubs have an assortment of types which you can try. Also experience in self rescue and general use would be of great benefit to you.

sjp2
21-02-2007, 07:15 PM
i've got 2 of the above (scupper pros)1 might be for sale (son gone to uni)not so many goodies as Dans,used 5 times,swap for a short shaft o/board or abt $800

Seth
21-02-2007, 07:29 PM
Hey i have a hobie kayak the pedal type and my wife has a normal style kayak. the hobie is about $2000 new and the normal one is about $600. I much prefer the hobie even for the money for it is designed soly for fishing, with rod holders, tackle storage, esky ect. The hobie is very easy and comfortable to fish out of and the pedal power means you dont have to put your rod down when moving. The only set back is the hobie is bigger and harder to carry and launch. i have taking my kayak out to the sea way and ever dragged it out to mud island in my boat and handles it fine.

Dan_A
21-02-2007, 07:35 PM
i've got 2 of the above (scupper pros)1 might be for sale (son gone to uni)not so many goodies as Dans,used 5 times,swap for a short shaft o/board or abt $800

Mine is actually a Prowler Elite 4.5:D

84mick
21-02-2007, 07:47 PM
Thanks guys, John that would be the smart thing to do so I think I might give it ago;)

Cheers, Mick.

Snap Dog
21-02-2007, 08:32 PM
My two brothers & myself have been fishing from kayak's for a few years, we just have the basic viking kayak's which cost $540.00.we fish out from coolum beach (sunny coast) up to 3km out. kayak's can handle solid 1m sea's. Best catches been 25kg spanish mackeral,4kg snapper,89cm tusk fish, 8kg spotty mackeral.we fish with 2 rod's, one floating pilly which sit's in a rod holder(with the drag set loose) & bottom bash with another.marine chart,hand held G.P.S,burley pot & anchor is a must.

SnapDog

Pistol_P
21-02-2007, 09:46 PM
Kayak fishing is great fun.
I have a perception kayak which I use offshore here and they handle great.
The only time they can become a little unstable is coming back in through the shore dump.They are very comfortable and easy to fish out of.
Biggest capture for me so far has been a 22kg longtail tuna which took a painfull hour and fifteen minutes to land.....Great fun though.

Dunks
21-02-2007, 10:23 PM
Call Milan from ProCatch at sunnybank. He sells a few different brands through his store and was a great help to me when I was enquiring and I am very happy with what I bought from him and the advice that he gave me about what he thought suited me best.

I have no affiliation with him apart from the fact that he gave me good service so I don't mind passing on his name.

21-02-2007, 11:16 PM
A friend of mine gets into estuary creeks where nobody else can follow, and has discovered some great territory in the southern bay. Last time he lost count of how many bream he caught on HB's like the Ecogear SK40 I bought him for his birthday!!;) ;) There's also a lot of shallow reef areas around Wello/ Ormiston that I would definitely explore if I had one.

84mick
22-02-2007, 07:19 PM
Snap Dog and Pistol_P they are some serious fish! PP when you where on to the longtail tuna, was it towing you around the place? That would be pretty scary even more so if you didnt know what it was.
Dunks, Thanks for that. I have seen a place with kayaks just ofthe Bribie Island exit near Maccas dont know what its called so next time Im up there I might have a quick look.

Cheers, Mick.

Scalem, hey mate.... wanna be my friend? haha just joking. Thats one of the main reasons i want one, get away from all the boat traffic, sit back and relax! ;)

gunnabuild1
22-02-2007, 07:58 PM
Let us know how you go Mick, always thought it looked pretty good on those kayaks myself. Be interesting to hear the point of view of someone trying them out for the first time not already hooked.
Serious fish for sure, reckon that tuna would give a kayak instant HP.

Dunks
22-02-2007, 11:09 PM

I went to that place about two months after they opened. The place looked like a bomb had hit it:o , they were so busy making kayaks that they didn't have time to set up the store properly;D . I watched them make one for a bit. The guys were really cool and nice, but they didn't know a lot about yak fishing.

If your up noosa way send go in and see billybob off AKFF he was the guy on the front cover of QFM for Jan or Feb. His website is www.fishingnoosa.com.au (http://www.fishingnoosa.com.au)

Just remember to try before you buy.

shayned
23-02-2007, 10:09 AM
Both Milan and Billy Bob have a wealth of knowledge concerning fishing from yaks and you would be in good hands with either bloke. As a general rule sit on top yaks are the weapon of choice for fishing. If you are unsure hire one for the weekend, Rosco canoes Nth Side have a reasonable hire fleet available. Or contact the shops to find when the next testing day is on and try a variety all at once. Mostly though spend time on AKFF, lots of info ,I spent a couple of months annoying them before I bought my beloved "Exploder" and haven't looked back since. But this is mainly because I'm afraid if I turn around on my yak I'll fall off yet again!!!!!!:D :D :D :D

84mick
23-02-2007, 11:23 AM
lol shayned, how hard is it to get back on it? If it tips over what would happen to your fish finder/sounder etc

Thanks guys, Mick.

Pistol_P
23-02-2007, 02:27 PM
[quote=84mick;580478]Snap Dog and Pistol_P they are some serious fish! PP when you where on to the longtail tuna, was it towing you around the place? That would be pretty scary even more so if you didnt know what it was.
Dunks, Thanks for that. I have seen a place with kayaks just ofthe Bribie Island exit near Maccas dont know what its called so next time Im up there I might have a quick look.

Cheers, Mick.

Not scarey mate but hard work.....After about 40 minutes I was wishing it would end!......Here is a pic for you mate.

shayned
23-02-2007, 06:06 PM
lol shayned, how hard is it to get back on it? If it tips over what would happen to your fish finder/sounder etc

Thanks guys, Mick.

Been lucky so far the only thing to tip over so far is me, the "Exploder" has stayed upright. When I get around to surf launches this will definitely change, the go is to store evrything inside before attempting the launch and retrieve. As to getting back on, deep water remounts are a bit of a challenge for me mainly because I'm such a fat B@stard AKFF has some good video streaming showing how to. Planning on taping myself one day, basically to show how not to!!:)

84mick
23-02-2007, 06:26 PM
Thats huge Pistol_P! I've only ever caught fish half that size. haha.
I checked the fishing Noosa web site out and it hase some awesome footage on it.

Mick.

split-shot
28-02-2007, 07:12 PM
84 Mick,

If you are interested, I have a 15 ft fibreglass canoe manufactured by Roscoe which can be rigged with either a single or dual outrigger. The package also includes 2 electric outboards 26 lb and 42 lb thrust, sail, back rests, rod holders, spare centre fibre glass seat and a deep cycle battery. Asking price $2500.

Split-shot