View Full Version : bluefin 4.5 baracuda

mlc
18-02-2007, 09:55 AM
hows it goin,
im just wondering if anyone owns a bluefin baracuda 4.5. they look like a very nice boat, any info on how they ride or any feedback at all on these boats would be much apreciated. and i was also wondering about the price of these boats.
cheers, matt ;)

bluefin59
18-02-2007, 10:19 AM
Hi mlc i have a biased opinion i guess but here we go anyway i have a bluefin predator same except the cuda has a different transome i have had mine for2.5yrs and done 350 hrs of mostly open bay fishing and occasional off shore work it has handled everything asked of it ,it is dry in most situations except in a cross wind i think you will have a problem in those conditions in any boat . It handles the bay chop brilliantly no banging at all they have substantial spray chines to keep it down . I paid just on 20 k for mine on trailer with 60 hp mariner wich is more than enough power imo .. their is a lot to chose from these days in this style of boat if i was looking again maybe a fisher an a,m.m (overpriced imo) or maybe a tabs shop around and get a test ride if you can ... I will finiish up here i am sure you will get lots of opinion on this subject look hard lots of nice boats being made now lots of luck bluefin59.8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

mlc
18-02-2007, 10:53 AM
hey bluefin59,
thanks for that mate it looks like a realy nice setup youve got there, i first looked at the predator but i thought it might pay to get the pod, but im still interested in the predator because like you say it is the same boat. was that the price of the boat completly fitted out with the bowmount electric and sounder and all the other little nic nacs that add up.

bluefin59
18-02-2007, 11:48 AM
everything but bowmount it came with an eagle sounder as well but i changed that for a furuno thats another story the only reason i got the predator over the cuda is yuo lose about 350 mm rear space with the transom set up but if i was ofshore regular iprobably gone the cuda like i said there are a lot of companies building them like this now , i bought mine from theo at Mr,Ts tinnies here in brisbane ,anymore questions feel free to ask mate....

mlc
18-02-2007, 11:54 AM
how far offshore have you taken her. because i like to get out there when the wheather is right. just wondering if you know how much the price diference is between the predator and the cuda.
thanks heaps for the info mate.

BLOOEY
18-02-2007, 12:11 PM
gday mlc,I have a bias opinion also because i also own a bluefin 4.5 warrior.Bought it about 4-5 years ago and had a stand up centre console put in it instead of the side console.Cost14g's on the water back then.And i have to say its been bloody fantastic.Use it from the dams to offshore work.Was tempted to upgrade not long ago but couldnt bear to part with it because of its versatility.Not sure if they are built the same anymore[number of ribs,etc] but they get a good rap from me.

18-02-2007, 12:17 PM
mlc,

Before you purchace a new boat (what ever brand), always insist on a test drive first :) to get a "feel" of the boat and ask questions from the dealer on that test;) ;) ;)

bluefin59
18-02-2007, 02:57 PM
Yeah mate i have had it out to tho 24-36 fathom line of the goldy a few times out of the gold coast seaway , outof moololaba a couple of times and have taken it of the cape around hutchies and hendo's again you must pick your days and what you are comfortable with and of cause proper safty equipment, my wife comes out with me sometimes and she is comfy with that but 90% of our fishing is in morton bay i figure if it can put up with the bay you can go almost anywhere ...