View Full Version : weaves and wraps

12-02-2007, 10:25 PM
Gday don't know anything about weaves but i have built my own rod before. Iwas reading Bearclaws thread and that led me to a bit of googleing and i thought these were pretty cool. You chaps might think there average i don't know like i said i no nothing. How long would this take and how good do you have to be to achieve something like this i'm interested?.

http://www.fishingphotos.net/

Stuart
12-02-2007, 10:59 PM
How long would these wraps take? Well that all depends how good you are and how many times you have done the same wrap. With out knowing the dimensions of either of these patterns its only guess work, how ever I would take a stab at the optical chevron and Maltese cross because I have done them. You would be looking at around 14 through to 24 hours. The longest I spent on a closed chevron was three days or 32 hours. Some weaves can take me 9 hours, but that’s going slow. I can get most weaves done in under 6 hours.

As for weaves, well I have been specialising in those things for 15 years. How good do you need to be, well that’s an open ended question. I have done that many that I can look at a pic and see exactly what it will look like on a rod, what needs to be changed to allow for distortion and so on. There is much that’s never talked about when it comes to weaves because not all that many fully understand all the aspects behind this art form. If shown by some one that has quite a few up his or her belt then you can learn. If you can count, draw picture things in your mind and look a few steps ahead before even getting their then yes you can weave.

How long will it take? Well that all depends on your passion level mate, how bad do you want to learn. Like all things in life, if you want to be good at some thing you need to keep repeating the process until you will never forget. :o The yellow fin tuna takes me 4 hours and that pattern is 7cm over all. The large marlin chassing dolphine fish takes me 7 hours and that pattern is 16cm long. This pattern use to take me ten hours but because I have done so many of these rotten things I now have it down to 7 and some times 6 hours.

Stu

13-02-2007, 08:59 AM
if you are a new comer, try the more simple ones first, like plain old "diamonds" then onto more complex, like "American flag" or simple fish, after that the sky is the limit, plus the number of rods you can actually own or build for mates untill you get the shits with it all (or go blind) but it is all quite easy, but very tedious and time consuming, and of course a lot of care is needed to get a good result that can be proudly displayed to all.

15-02-2007, 05:36 PM
Noelm's advice is sound.

My hobby is wraps and it all starts out slow and steady, but the end result is very satisfying. I have'nt strayed away from fish wraps yet, I love doing them.

Everything is a variation or extention of a diamond, I held that thought when I first began in '05. It didn't seem so daunting after a while.

Go for it Dave, you won't be sorry mate.

r.

DR
15-02-2007, 11:03 PM
love the dragon weave, was once looking at a whole bunch of pics on a US site from a bloke who specialises in dragons, in a word, magnificent, that could be one of his..

16-02-2007, 07:13 AM
Thanks for the info guys and gals i'll have to look into it a bit further. These pics came from the website i posted in my original thread HA HA thread get it anyway thanks again.

Bearclaw
16-02-2007, 07:55 AM
Jim Upton is the guy from the US and Hiro Tananka from Japan.

SIRO
18-02-2007, 09:22 AM
Hiro Tananka is incredible , his work can only be discribed as art.

And that is one of his dragons.

Olly
27-04-2007, 03:10 PM
I was trolling around trying to find out how to do something more than just a standard chevrons and diamonds etc also, and come accross this site and joined up. Can anyone suggest where I can get some info to get me started? Websites, books dvd's etc. I've built a few rods , i'm about to start another and want to go the next step with the 'fancy stuff'
by the way, this isn't the only reason Ive joined up, I'm happy to share what scant knowledge I have

cajunnsw
27-04-2007, 04:19 PM
Dale Clemens "Advanced Custom Rod Building" is the bible.

If you type "decorative wraps" into google you will get heaps of ideas.

Noelm = "but very tedious and time consuming" ain't it so!:o

All my rods are built without any decoration now ::)

But - I used to really enjoy custom building with all the goodies.

Ken

sandyd
27-04-2007, 04:26 PM
I was trolling around trying to find out how to do something more than just a standard chevrons and diamonds etc also, and come accross this site and joined up. Can anyone suggest where I can get some info to get me started? Websites, books dvd's etc. I've built a few rods , i'm about to start another and want to go the next step with the 'fancy stuff'
by the way, this isn't the only reason Ive joined up, I'm happy to share what scant knowledge I have

Olly my husband and I have just started on the weaves which lead him to write a program to produce the working for a weave pattern. You will see more on this in another thread. But what got us going was a video by Doc Ski called "Advanced Weaving Techniques with Doc Ski." On this he tells you what you will need, how to produce a pattern manually, and how to weave with single and multiple layers. We purchased ours though The Rod Works and you can also purchase here at Ausfish http://www.ausfish.com.au/fishing_dvds/ so I just noticed.

http://www.therodworks.com.au/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1

Hope this helps

Olly
27-04-2007, 04:43 PM
Thanks for that, Does the book explain 'how to 'or just recipes?

sandyd
27-04-2007, 04:48 PM
Gday don't know anything about weaves but i have built my own rod before. Iwas reading Bearclaws thread and that led me to a bit of googleing and i thought these were pretty cool. You chaps might think there average i don't know like i said i no nothing. How long would this take and how good do you have to be to achieve something like this i'm interested?.

http://www.fishingphotos.net/

I have attached two pictures the first is my first attempt at a weave with single color. The second one is a picture of James Upton's weave with I don't know how many colors. That will give you a little Idea on what is involved but I have to say he is set up as he is a professional at weaves. My idea is that I will one day do a similar dragon as his. Pretty ambitious at this stage though, but I will do one just not now.

DaveB
27-04-2007, 06:16 PM
Hi Dave.
The following links might help:

Some instruction:
http://www.leapinbass.com/fishing/rod-building.htm

http://www.visualwrap.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=12;action=display;num=1050291347 (http://www.visualwrap.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=12;action=display;num=1050291347)

http://www.visualwrap.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=12;action=display;num=1090063431 (http://www.visualwrap.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=12;action=display;num=1090063431)

Hiro's website:
http://www.hirods.net/

Dave Boyle

27-04-2007, 10:05 PM
Sandyd that looks good. the second pic :-/ looks like a headache coming on.

Dave B good site that, might look more deeply and see if i can get motivated to give it a crack.

28-04-2007, 03:29 PM
Here is a cross wrap using Dave's viswrap program, it was hard for me because it's the first time I've done a wrap with an 8 axis pattern.

It will look a lot better once the extra epoxy goes on, and that won't be until after the butt section is built (rod building weekend), the pattern is called 'scales' I got the idea from Jan, but scale patterns have been around for years.

Olly & dogsbody, I would have to say a fish pattern is a lot easier to achieve although the binding is a little more complicated.

On the other hand, the scale pattern takes a lot more time and VERY careful binding although the actual pattern in quite simple.. I would recommend you start out on a fish pattern imo.

r.

jan
28-04-2007, 06:36 PM
Hi Roz,
the wrap looks great, you did a good job. more like this and they become easier as they take less time to do. I reckon the fish patterns are harder but thats just me. At least the scale pattern and such dont take much extra work because you start from one end and work up the rod and then back again easy,lol. Anyway, good job again.
Cheers, Jan.

28-04-2007, 10:10 PM
Thanks Jan,

Your version of the scale pattern gave me the inspiration, however it has shown me that I need to expand my colour range, I only had two shades of blue in that wrap & I think a darker blue instead of black would have been better, although I am delighted at the outcome.

I am always eternally gratefull to my mentor Volvo, who passed on his knowlege to me. I wouldn't be able to turn out these wraps if it wasn't for people on the site like him.

Having said that Olly & dogsbody, if I can do it, there's no reason at all why you two couldn't!!!

r.

30-04-2007, 05:23 PM
Thanks roz i like the look of the scales. I'll have to do something after i move house shortly.