View Full Version : Good trip to Northern Barwon's

dayoo
12-02-2007, 10:28 AM
Departed Mooloolaba last Tuesday 12 noon for southern Hards/Northern Barwon's on "Alexander" 8.5 metre plate boat with twin 240 suzuki's, 5 on board. Weather was perfect with gentle 6 knot easterly. First mark yielded a nice 3kg snapper and a few 40cm pearlies. Drifted over some good shows on the sounder and over the next hour bagged out on pearlies not too big 40 to 45cm. About 5 pm came across a very good show, first drop resulted in simultaneous hook up by all on board with 4 good snapper boated (4 to 7kg).
Kept drifting over this mark for the next 2 hours caught a few more snapper some big moses and about 10 good venus tusk fish and heaps of pearlies about 40cm which all went back.
Headed back to Mooloolaba about 7.30pm in calm seas doing 32knots.
Total 53 fish for the trip.

12-02-2007, 10:51 AM
Sounds like you had a good trip any pic's.
This boat sounds like abit of a weapon!

dayoo
12-02-2007, 12:35 PM
No pictures as fish were not too big. I do about 30 trips offshore each year and now only take photos of the larger fish.
The boat is owned by my mate and is a real goer. It will be on display a the Sanctuary Cove boat show later this year.
I will try to attach photos of the boat

DaMaGe
12-02-2007, 01:55 PM
Very nice boat, wow, a monster....
A good days fishing and great to see the Barwon Banks still producing even this time of year.

outsiderskip
12-02-2007, 02:10 PM
good to see a few fish turning up at the barwons.
About time conditions were great and keep fresh fish on the table for awhile.

snapperm8
12-02-2007, 04:06 PM
sounds like a great trip mate

cheers dave

bluefin59
12-02-2007, 05:32 PM
Great boat mate make for a great day out it is a true weapon makes mine look like a tender sounds like a great trip mate8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

12-02-2007, 07:19 PM
WoW awesome rig mate.......want to swap.....lol

Hainesy
12-02-2007, 08:25 PM
Way to go yet again Chris. We will have to hook up for a trip soon.

SWANY22
12-02-2007, 10:16 PM
great trip now that is a weppon of a boat.

seapup
13-02-2007, 08:27 AM
Nice boat there mate! Where are your fish photos??

dayoo
13-02-2007, 01:02 PM
Mate, Like I said previously I didn't take any photos on this trip as the fish were not very big. I am retired and fish offshore at least 30 times per year mainly off Double Island Point and Frazer Island. This is my first report on this website and I will include photos of future trips.
Attached is some photos of the last trip off Double Island Point. A 11kg red and 5kg pearlie

dayoo
13-02-2007, 01:09 PM
Try again Photos attached

block
14-02-2007, 05:56 PM
love the boat, what make is it? that was a good catch for the time your were out. any time you can do 32kns it has to be good going .what rpm were you doing at that speed? How deep was the water and was there any run? keep the photos comeing!! i just like looking at fish photos, big or small fish thay are all good
Dwane

seapup
14-02-2007, 07:33 PM
nice work dayoo not a bad red there mate... what part of fraser you been fishing?

dayoo
14-02-2007, 08:04 PM
Dwane,
The boat was built from plans supplied by a Newcastle Marine Architect. It has only done 20 hours on the motors and was only launched in December 06.
It was doing 3000rpm at 32kns in calm seas with gentle following breeze 30 miles offshore. I was aboard on its maiden voyage when the motors were tested by the suzuki engineer in Moreton Bay. It reached 56knots before the engineer backed it off as the warranty would have been breached if we went any faster for an extended period while the motors were being run in.

Attached is a photo of the boat doing 44knots and a 86cm red that was too big for the 80 litre esky .

dayoo
14-02-2007, 08:14 PM
Due East of Wide Bay Bar a bloody long way out

reef_king
16-02-2007, 07:07 PM
Barry some nice fish there mate.

ty

Snap Dog
18-02-2007, 05:33 PM
What a catch of fish, well done dayoo. I have just purchased a 7.6m ocean ranger, I"ve been heading out from mooloolaba 50km out on the eastern side of the banks starting from caloundra wide working up to double island point with not much sucess in the fish department ,i dont know a great deal on deep sea fishing & would love to team one time to learn the finer art of this sport from you,i fish every fishable weekend.

dayoo
18-02-2007, 09:59 PM
Snap Dog
Have sent you a private message

MyWay
21-02-2007, 10:17 PM
dayoo that is good going at barwon well done :thumbsup:

and boat is like misale i bolive you get to north barwon in 35min. in that machine

cheers no_luck