View Full Version : Good day off Gold Coast

Scarey
08-02-2007, 07:21 PM
Headed down to Palmy today to try and raise a feed of mackeral. The morning was a ripper, with virtually no wind, little swell, and nice and overcast. Got down from the seaway fairly quickly, and were greeted by about 20 or so boats, none of which were turning a reel. We trolled minnows for about 20 mins and got a double hookup just east of the reef, one came off and one stayed attached, and after a surprisingly brief fight on 10-12kg we gaffed a cobe around 12kg. Trolled around for another bit with no result and headed wide, the water was really blue and really warm in close, and it continued all the way out. We basically trolled all the way back heading north following birds/current lines and got around half a dozen skipjack tuna, heaps of misses, one snipped (wahoo) and dropped 3 small blacks just north of the casino and we had to get back so we left them biting. It was one of the fishiest days I have seen it off the north GC with hardly anyone else out trolling, and all in all had a great day.

no_wind
08-02-2007, 07:54 PM
wish I was there its bound to be windy by the weekend.

Fishing_Freddy
08-02-2007, 08:21 PM
Typical no wind during the week but soon as the weekend comes so does the wind. Well done on your catch hopfully they we will still be there on the weekend.
Ken;D

aussiefool
09-02-2007, 02:13 AM
Well done mate, there is some nice Cobe's there at the moment and a few spots aswell

Gbanger
09-02-2007, 10:45 AM
sounds fully sick ;)

09-02-2007, 11:11 AM
Typical no wind during the week but soon as the weekend comes so does the wind.
Ken;D

That's how we know it is the weekend FF;D

larfin
09-02-2007, 03:15 PM
Good work
greg

frenzy
09-02-2007, 05:31 PM
Good news fisherfolk
the forecast is a beauty;D

lumox
10-02-2007, 08:47 AM
wish i was out there

BAT
11-02-2007, 05:06 PM
Little bit of common courtesy advice for you & your mate its bloody rude to prep your boat on the ramp when other people are waiting!!!

paranoid
14-02-2007, 02:58 PM
Hey Scary, sound like a top day on the water - how far is it from the Gold Coast seaway to palmy?

Scarey
14-02-2007, 09:57 PM
Takes about 25-30mins on a good day, we usually fish Mermaid but heard Palmy had fish

hooknose
15-02-2007, 07:08 PM
hey BAT,
The Goldy would have to be the worst place I have come across for rude, ignorant pricks on boat ramps who are quite content to take their time and do all the unnecessary prep work ON THE RAMP. Unfortunately cant see the situation changing any time soon !!!

Scarey
19-02-2007, 10:09 AM
I think what you are talking about happened as we had sheared off a through pipe to the outflow of the live bait tank and had been taking water for 3 hours with no idea of what caused it till we got back to the ramp. The other ramp had no cars or boats on it (was free) and this was what we were looking at, as we would move straight away if we thought someone needed to use it. There was a car backing down to our ramp from the other side we didn't see until the end, and then I moved straight away. This is no excuse as I feel exactly like you do and apologise, but we honestly did not see you and normally would not be spending any more time on the ramp than necessary (we thought we had holed it). Just tell us to move our arse next time

Scarey