View Full Version : bow mount for freedomsport

sling
30-01-2007, 04:21 PM
gday all
just wondering if 55lb leccie would be enough for a 5.00 quintrex freedom sport?
also wondering if anyone had some photos of one mounted on a freedom sport or any tips , thank sling

cammac
30-01-2007, 06:09 PM
mates got one mounted on a 475 freedom sport and reckon its adequate rather than great - with the high sides of the freedom sport they are very wind affected so your fighting the wind as well as the boats weight. seemed to have enough grunt in the strait ahead course direct into wind.

See if your quinny dealer has fitted one to a 500. dont know if any higher in the sides than the 475.
Ill see if i can get a photo of mates install job thinkwas mounted at about 45 degrees from the middle of the side of the anchor well from memory. he used a nylon choppingboard under the base plate to bring it up level with the bow edge and reinforced with ally plate under the deck.

the Minn Kota manual says u shud mount the motor as close to the centre line of the boat as possible !

sling
31-01-2007, 05:01 AM
thanks cammac
if you could post a photo that would be great
sling

cammac
31-01-2007, 02:22 PM
Cant figure out how to post photo - maybe somone can PM me!

Steve B
01-02-2007, 01:44 PM
Cam

i think the shaft on a 55 will be too short. A mate of mine put a 80lb minnkota bowmount on a 525 freedom sport and it only just reaches the water. This is a pain in the ... when your trying to electric in a bit of wave, the prop keeps coming out and causes steering and balance issues for the driver on cable steer style electrics. I dont think 55lb will be enough grunt on a 5m boat either. Spend a bit more and go 80lb if you can. They are a big heavy boat the freedom sports.

cheers steve

sling
01-02-2007, 02:21 PM
thanks for your input steve, might have to think about the 80lb only want to buy one leccie. just have to save a bit longer
sling

cammac
02-02-2007, 09:29 PM
the 55lb minn kota was long enough on the 4.75 dont think the 5.0 would be much higher - speak to quinny dealer

cammac
04-02-2007, 10:08 PM
Sling can u advise me your email and ill onforward photos that way thanks

cam