PDA

View Full Version : Trailcraft boats

RICKTA
28-01-2007, 04:55 PM
Hi there,i was in the boatyard today having a look at some boats and climed aboard a 580 or 540 trailcraft can't remember exatly which one,i liked the whole layout of it all except the height of the sides, seemed quite low does anyone have one or been in one that can give me some info first hand on what they're like,ie ride&handling etc.thanks RICKTA.

Stuart
28-01-2007, 05:01 PM
I thought they were a nice well built boat, that’s until I had a look at the video they send you of them building the boats. The way they cut and assemble the frames and stringers is shocking. I had a talk to a naval architect about this very method and told me that he had watched the CD as well and was horrified. He told me that their method reduces the strength by 70% in the frames. The take two pieces of flat alloy and weld them together at the keel by over lapping them. I’m not a boat designer or even a naval architect and I could see this was a very bad idea and a seriously week point for fatigue.

Stu

brrbear
28-01-2007, 06:11 PM
I,ve had 2 and they are tough.I drive as hard as anyone and i've got a young bloke who brakes bricks that spent more time driving them then me and we have had no cracking or structural problems.
They are a wet boat and there paintwork is ordinary.
A good boat for the price.
bear

RICKTA
28-01-2007, 06:52 PM
That will do me then,if i'm gunna pay good money for a boat i want it to be dry at least.

Stuart
28-01-2007, 07:12 PM
brrbear

Maybe so mate but I wouldnt own one, if your happy then fine. Its not what you can see its what you cant that worries me.

Stu

Tim_N
28-01-2007, 07:30 PM
You get what you pay for I suppose!

Wayne_Red
28-01-2007, 08:27 PM
A lot of people make the mistake of comparing a production boats like the trailcraft and quinnies etc with custom built plate boats. You don't get something for nothing.
Like brrbear said, good boat for the price.
Regards wayne

brrbear