PDA

View Full Version : When do you rebuild or replace your Motor

Mad-One
26-01-2007, 06:06 AM
I am looking at buying a new secondhand boat and was wondering at how many hours does a motor need to be rebuilt or replaced. There seems to be alot of boats with motors that have done 150 - 250 hrs but being a novice i don't know how many hours is too many. Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers Phil

blaze
26-01-2007, 06:44 AM
when checking a boat motor for first port of call would be a good visual inspection, if its rough and ready it probably has said something about the previsus owner. next is the compression check, they say all comps within 10% of each other, my thoughts are make that 5%. Some motors may well be going strong with 2000hrs and some maybe on the last legs at 500hrs. Where you can get caught is with a newer motor thats had a dunking and had a quick cover up of damage. Have it check by a profession and then get 5 mates to check it out and then check some more. If possible talk to the previsous owner too. Dont be put off by an old synic and I hope you have joy in finding your perfect boat
cheers
blaze

Mad-One
26-01-2007, 07:48 AM
Thanks Blaze for your input. How's the weather down there? I here it's pretty dry down there at the moment. I originally come from Tassie ( Ulverstone ) but haven't been back for about 3yrs now to bloody cold

Fish Guts
26-01-2007, 08:13 AM
--- ---

Roughasguts
26-01-2007, 08:53 AM
A motor needs a re-build when it gets loose, that is between piston and bore. But that does not mean the crank needs a re-build.

Could be from 500 hours to 2500 hours.

blu
26-01-2007, 09:15 AM