PDA

View Full Version : Anchoring

ellicat
24-01-2007, 05:31 PM
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to the boating scene. I have a little 4.1m runabout/windscreen/bimminy etc and a Sand (Danforth) anchor.

Sometimes I have trouble getting the anchor to anchor.
I'd appreciate any tips from the experienced. :)

Thanks

Dr DRIFT
24-01-2007, 05:44 PM
How much chain do you have on your anchor? Most times if you extend the chain length it will anchor alot better.

Blackened
24-01-2007, 05:47 PM
G'day

Any idea on the size/weight of the anchor?

How long and thick is the chain?

How much rope do you have, what size and what type and how much do you put out?

What ground are you trying to anchor over? sand, mud, rock, gravel or reef?

Alot of questions i know but without understanding the situation, correct advice cannot be given.

Dave

Marlin_Mike
24-01-2007, 05:55 PM
even a pic of it would help with some advice

MIke

Angla
24-01-2007, 05:57 PM
Just to give you a visual of what I have for a 5.75 metre fibreglass half cabin + 140 metres of rope.

Chris

ellicat
24-01-2007, 06:25 PM
Thanks for the questions -

The anchor itself - the stick part is 35cm long, the fins are 25cm long and the width across is 35cm. It hangs off 60cm of fairly heavy chain (the links are 4cm long x 2.5cm wide). The rope is 12mm braided style rope (not the cord style).
I'm having trouble in the sand. As far as how much rope - I vary the length.
On the weekend I was in only 1.5/2 m of water and must have had a good 15m or more of rope out (I started with about 3m) before it held. Even then we drifted slowly for a bit before it grabbed.

Blackened
24-01-2007, 06:42 PM
G'day
Ok, chain needs to be MUCH longer.... about the length of your boat is a good rule of thumb. This acts as a shock absorber.

The rope thickness is right, should be "silver rope" .

A rule of thumb when anchoring in calm conditions is 3M of rope out for every 1M of water, this will increase to 5:1 and 7:1 in rougher conditions.