View Full Version : Out board Trim ? for Signature 1750/1850 LE or RE Owners

16.2_ISAAC
23-01-2007, 12:24 PM
G'day all,
A question for Haines "LE or RE" owners...I have a little 1990
1750RE & I was
wondering about a few engine trim positions..
I know all about outboard positions on like a conventional flat back type transom but what about these extended style hulls..
I have noticed that I have to trim the engine in alot further than I have had to in my previous flat back conventional style transom boats
especially in rougher water..it is as if the outboard is too high..
Is this common with these style of transoms/hulls..thanks

skippa
23-01-2007, 07:40 PM
G'Day Isaac,

A mate of mine has a 1750LE, and for various reasons, I get the skipper's job when we're out fishing in his rig. She's matched with a 150 Merc, which is a pretty good combo ( well the 150 bit is, not sure bout the Merc bit, that's another story tho)

In the times I have driven it I actually have it trimmed out more, just in from 1/2 way according to the standard Merc guages. This seems to be the sweet spot in smooth water, naturally as the seas become rougher she gets trimmed back in. Great rough water hull those 1750's for their size.

This is pretty much the same as my Southwind Yammy combo.

Tony 8-)

16.2_ISAAC
24-01-2007, 07:28 AM
Cheers thanks for the info Skippa....ZAC

harryh
26-01-2007, 12:59 PM
G'Day Zac,

mate has taken pics for u, will post up 2nite.

Harry

16.2_ISAAC
26-01-2007, 01:54 PM
Thanks Harry...I appreciate it..

harryh
26-01-2007, 09:10 PM
Zac,

I've got some pics here of mine, lets see if my mate was smart enough to teach me how to post pics.

Its a good setup now with the foil on, I'm amazed the deference it makes.

harryh
26-01-2007, 09:15 PM
Zac,

Let me know if you need any more info, think I have a couple of more pics too.

Harry

harryh
26-01-2007, 09:18 PM
hey Skip,

I know you like the 150 on her but what's this about Merc's ???

Harry

skippa
26-01-2007, 09:26 PM
Its all Good Harry,

Those VMR boys from Kingscliffe did a great job bringing us home last time .. ;D

PS must be time for another run to 9 mile, what do ya reckon??

harryh
26-01-2007, 09:44 PM
Geez Tony ya had to bring that one up didn't ya.. :-/

Yeah, soon as you snag an day off with good weather we'll head out, I'm starting to get a bit twichy... ;D

Harry

16.2_ISAAC
26-01-2007, 10:48 PM
Awesome thanks guys..I reakon the ol donk mite have to go down a hole..I am looking thru Bundy eyes at the moment so I'll check it out in the morning...nice rig Harry..

16.2_ISAAC
29-01-2007, 07:34 AM
Thanks again guys...upon looking again I think it is in the same position as yours Harry..?..what do you think guys?

http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l146/Isaac_Chestnut/z004.jpg

skippa
29-01-2007, 09:02 PM
Zac,

I'd say those two motors are pretty close mate, should try and organise a day out together or at least a meet on the water to compare them in action.

16.2_ISAAC
30-01-2007, 09:40 AM
I think I will leave the outboard as is for the moment...a day out would be awesome,but I reakon that nice shinny EFI Merc may leave the old tied Mariner puffin & faRtin in the distance..

skippa
30-01-2007, 07:32 PM
Yeah Zac,

The 150 leaves my 115 in its dust, er spray too, but then again I've never been towed back either .... yet ::) ;D

Nah its all good, those bloody EFI's are good on the fuel too, that one uses 1/2 the fuel my 115 does. :'(

Mate we'll organise a day out together anyways. ;)

Tony 8-)

16.2_ISAAC
02-02-2007, 09:37 AM
Hey Tony...that hole I was telling you about..you can just see it in the pic..just above the drain plug..4"-5" hole..goes all the way into the transom well..has a "glasses in" 600mm long tube...WHAT THE HELL IS THAT???
Anyone know?..burley hole??

skippa
02-02-2007, 10:42 PM
Dunno mate,

There isn't one on Harrys, I'll have a look when we get the day out.
Maybe a torpedo tube ....... You could shoot a torpedo that fires out a net .... ;D ;D

Save on bait anyways.

Tony 8-)

SO70
02-02-2007, 10:57 PM
that tube was on all signatures in the early 1990"s.
something to do with allowing the hull to lift i think.
they are terrible riding hulls.
no comparison to a proper Haines Hunter hull.

16.2_ISAAC
05-02-2007, 09:01 AM
Thanks SO70..She'll do me for want to do..
Mint burley hole I reakon Tony..

Cheers guys...ZAC

05-02-2007, 11:08 AM
good call isaac, i've got same hull in a bowrider format ('92 550BR) and i reckon it rides just fine. dunno what those holes at the back do though, possibly for stability at rest (lets water into bottom of hull)

heard heaps of stories about the sig hulls being really rolly and unstable when stopped but mine seems fine, heaps better than the tinny i had before this one anyway.

16.2_ISAAC
05-02-2007, 01:18 PM
Yeah its funny..it seems OK to me & I have owned a "real" Haines before..
Anyway each to their own..thats cool,peeps are entitled to their own opinion..
550BR..Nice Paddles..

ZAC

skippa
05-02-2007, 07:34 PM
Nah Zac,

get yourself a real boat ... go the Southwind ;D ;D

16.2_ISAAC
06-02-2007, 07:37 AM
Hey,your not wrong Skippa...but southwinds are only for the rich & famous:'( :-/
& those upperclass snobs that can afford to live near the water:D ;D

One day mate...one day..:-/

skippa
06-02-2007, 07:23 PM
Hey,your not wrong Skippa...but southwinds are only for the rich & famous:'( :-/
& those upperclass snobs that can afford to live near the water:D ;D

Haha Yeah sure mate, neither rich or famous just Mr Invisible, but I do like living close to the water. Big decisions every day, turn left go to work or right and go fishin, just a bugger I gotta go to work to afford my fishin.

Talk soon.

Tony 8-)