View Full Version : What is the best brand of Cooler for boat

23-01-2007, 09:19 AM
I was thinking Evacool fiberglass - no smell retained from what I am told. I dont plan to bash it around too much.

Wahoo
23-01-2007, 09:58 AM
evercools are great, this one i think is a great buy on this site

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=72226

gotya
23-01-2007, 10:07 AM
Hi, I have one of those Orange TROPICAL 92lit jobs in a twin compartment.
Normal ice lasts up to 3 to 4 days and in the boat it also adds an extra seat. There great as far as i'm concerned. and cheap.:)

saurian
23-01-2007, 11:34 AM
Hey ozscott, I've got a 150 ENGEL esky. Keeps block ice 10 days if you bag
it in layers.(I've proven it to freeze beer cans and milk after 9 days) Not sure who rebadges them for engel but they are white fiberglass , easy to clean and are strong enough to sit on.
I've had the orange large eskies (before tropicals) they are not as good in the ice holding ability but a fair bit cheaper.
I think evacool/baileys are the same as engel ??????
Ta.

23-01-2007, 02:03 PM
thanks very much fellas - I will go on the scrounge armed with that info!!

Cheers again

seatime
23-01-2007, 04:43 PM
1 of each is the go, a large poly (100lts) for day trips and all those fish you catch
the polys (icekool) are food quality, so don't retain any smells, and come in various shapes.

a medium fibreglass for when you need ice for a week, and family days.

weight can be a factor, a 60lt fibreglass cooler is not that much difference in weight to a 100lt poly, you notice when lifting in and out of the boat.

snasman
24-01-2007, 01:16 AM
A stubbie cooler I like the type with a base as well.Cheers Snas

GAD
24-01-2007, 06:40 AM
Ebay , mate 100litre poly esky delivered for $111 to my door , holds ice for 5days in the sun and the price was right

bootyinblue
24-01-2007, 09:51 AM
I bought an Unbelievably Cool box from Ebay.

Its 120L Roto Moulded in white and came with 12 sheets of Techni Ice. Paid $215 shipped to my door. BUT it wont fit under the ute lid!!

Never been used...... Any offers??

abundy
26-01-2007, 12:00 PM
hi ozscott;
picked up awesome 110ltr chilly cooler on e-bay.look under ice boxes, mob on the gold coast sell them. cheap!. staino latches the works
picked up for $214, delivered to my door 2 days later at 7.30 am. excellent esky.
cheers abundy

26-01-2007, 01:37 PM
cheers mate - I just ebayed a red chili one myself - a little 14 litre for $28 delivered and a 60 litre poly one from that mob in Victoria - 75mm lid and 45 mm sides from memory for $120 delivered with a few backs of 'dry' ice.

Cheers again

26-01-2007, 02:39 PM
i bought a big chilli ice box on ebay

110 liters $162.00. excellent box, keeps ice for ages, cant fault them.

cliffo
27-01-2007, 01:41 PM
I'm with mike

I bought a Big Chilli 110lt from ebay for $159, picked it up from Gold Coast
and it is fantastic.

Cliffo

bootyinblue
28-01-2007, 12:58 PM
The mob in Victoria are the ones that throw in the Techni Ice sheets with the eskys. I got 12 sheets when I bought mine and it is truly awesome stuff. Was just in the hardware on unrelated stuff and they are selling it packaged up in a carboard box for $7.95. Thought was was pretty reasonable till I saw the box contained 1 sheet. Do the maths 12 sheets at $8 is $96 total, knock off a few cents for the 95c bit and I therefore paid about $120 for 120 litre esky and will never by wet ice again.

Still doesnt solve my problem of the esky not fitting under the ute lid... Anyone want to swap?

28-01-2007, 01:06 PM
I have a big one mate - alloy exterior and thats why I sent the smaller 60 litre one. I have seen them at BCF - seems exactly the same product at about two and a half times the price and that without the techi ice factored in..

dicko1980
29-01-2007, 11:47 AM
I have a 123ltr Downunder Fibreglass box and would never buy one again. I had to have it repaired the first time I took it to the reef. The corners all cracked and the rubber feet stops pushed through the base. This was repaired at my own cost by the manufacturer. The next time I took the esky to the reef, I tied it down and it stilled managed to crack and push the feet through the floor again. This eksy now owes me over $470 to purchase + $150 first repair job + $What ever it costs to repair again. If I was to buy another glass esky it would only be EVAKOOL. Now I am going to buy a plastic esky and use the old esky for storage.

Dicko1980

29-01-2007, 11:52 AM
My 70 litre Techi Ice one was delivered today from Victoria - record time. It looks and feels very sturdy and well put together - certainly better than anything I saw in BCF the other day and for a fraction of the price - plus it came with sheets of techi ice - I dont know if I can use it more than once or whether its throw away, but Ill find out.