PDA

View Full Version : A How to Question on Tarps

david072
22-01-2007, 03:18 PM
Hi all, as you can see I am only a newbie to this site, but I am also a newbie to the fine art of selecting and erecting the right type of tarp and the basic fundamentals on putting up a tarp (was going to say tarp erection, but I can only imagination the great advice that I would have received).

Anyway back to business, I am travelling down to wonderful Kiama and the sites at Kiama usually measure about 8x8. I have Sprotiva Odyssey and I would like to have the tarp not only to protect the tent but also give the kids somewhere to play (should it rain) and a place for the family to eat.

Bearing in my mind that I will be site by site, I was hoping that some one might have a step by step guide in what size tarp I should use, what types of ropes, poles and anything else that would be needed. Any pictures of some sort or even detailed descriptions would be of high benefit.

Once again thanks for your time and I look foward to hearing from someone soon.

Bates_Motel
22-01-2007, 09:04 PM
My setup is a gazebo 3x3m under an about 21fx18f tarp
The gazebo gives great support to the center of the tarp and allows you to use half the amount of poles.
And if its only sun shade you need remove the tarp.
Useing ropes with springs is a must and poles that the extention is on the top side are good. ie so rain does not run down inside the pole.

Bates_Motel
22-01-2007, 09:14 PM
Sorry photos are a bit small but you get the idea.
The other thing i have been thinking about is one of those tempory car ports from super cheep . They have their own support (on extra poles) their own waterproofing (no tarp)and optional side curtians. But i would still use better ropes to hold it down.

griz066
25-01-2007, 07:01 AM