PDA

View Full Version : Best braid for dragging barra from the trees

scott_b
16-08-2004, 02:07 PM
Gday
# # # # Just like to know which brand of braid can handle a good scuff up the side of a tree.
# # # # # # # #wamjam
# # # # # # # # #

basserman
16-08-2004, 02:12 PM
i'm no expert at all but i do fish with bloke that go up north for a fishing week each year and they all swear by harros bionic braid ;D but as i sayed i have no clue to that stuff yet :(

Fitzy
16-08-2004, 02:33 PM
Bionic Braid or Penn Power Braid are the go.

fitzy..

scott_b
16-08-2004, 02:41 PM
Thanks
Been using some Berkly Gorilla braid locally seems good, any comments.
wamjam

tonyp
17-08-2004, 05:36 AM
Finns is pretty good, I have only used it on Bass in the sticks not Barra, But it holds up fairly well. Soft and easy to cast straight out of the packet !

Smithy
17-08-2004, 06:23 AM
Know a bloke that had his boat permenately at Weipa and just used to fly up and absolutely swears by Fireline in the heavier line classes after much trial and error on the oysters.

McCod
17-08-2004, 07:31 AM
Have used a few lines over the years including most of the above and i am not convinced yet that there is a stonger line than Fireline . 14 lb breaks at around 28lb. All strains are great . I just got some new Fireline XDS in 35 lb and will be testing it at Lake Proserpine in September.Will let ya's know if its any good.
Cheers McCod.

aussiebasser
17-08-2004, 02:50 PM
Fireline over 14lb is a bit wiry, and if you go to 35lb it's like castin fencing wire. I've used both 50lb Bionic and 50lb Finns, and both do the job admirally at Faust. Bionic is aussie made, so it'd be my preference.

scott_b
17-08-2004, 04:47 PM
Gday all.