PDA

View Full Version : Hinze Dam enquiry

Dodge41
20-11-2005, 09:08 AM
Took my kayak up to Hinze yesterday, and although I have no freshwater experience took the rod.

In the bay east of Silver Perch Point about midday, saw a little point with a gutter either side and knowing that to be a good spot in saltwater I cast a small double tail SP onto the shallow point.

It hit the water and there was a meter wide explosion as something took off, unsure who got the greater shock; me or the fish.

Talking to another bloke on the water he suggested it was probably a saratoga sunning itself in the shallows [after the splash I looked and water was about 300mm deep, with 1m dropoffs], what is the opinion of others to the mystery fish?

Also are small doubletail plastics an option or waste of time?

Elysium
20-11-2005, 05:27 PM
I am pretty confident that it would of been a saratoga...there are some monster togas in Hinze and you happen to stumble across one. Chances are you landed the plastic right on it! thats why it got the spook of a life time!

Plastics of anykind will work on their day...But dont ask me anymore than that because I dont fish them...too slow...too boring!

hot_stuff
21-11-2005, 07:15 PM
toga for sure mate. keep given those plastics a go thay will pay off in the end.
azzman

masterdusky
21-11-2005, 07:24 PM
for those that fis hHinze regularly..is it better on dusk or dawn.....or doesnt really matter ..?? :)

Louis
22-11-2005, 11:48 AM
G'day Dodge41,

I'm going with the others and saying Saratoga.

I have seen them do similar things and Hinze Dam does have some big ones although I personally have never caught one there.

I don't fish Hinze regularily so couldn't say with any great deal of certainty but I have found dusk into night best from my experience with Hinze

Louis

Elysium
22-11-2005, 04:16 PM
A question like is better answered if you asked the fish! Only they know when they are going to chew...we just simply do our best to try and figure it out!