View Full Version : Copeton Dam

LOUIE
19-12-2005, 07:01 PM
Fellas

Seeking some advice on fishing this location, any assistance appreciated.

Louie ::)

bdowdy
19-12-2005, 08:06 PM
:)great place for the fam or fisho, have caught heaps of cattys ,redfin,yellas and cod here, but the redfin have dissapeared lately so they say. but this place can be chockers at xmas and easter so if your thinking of going then ring first.hope this helps if you need any more info just sing out .bdowdy :) ;D

gwydir
19-12-2005, 08:51 PM
Pretty big dam - lots of deep gorges and granite boulder / cliff outcrops down in the main basin and right up the top of the dam where the river runs in. Quite alot of fallen and standing timber to be fished also.

Give yourself a few days to get around the dam for a look.

peterr
19-12-2005, 09:35 PM
Louie
Copeton is recieving a bit of a fresh at the moment, there has been plenty of catfish caught off the banks at night. Yellowbelly are spawning & are mainly being caught on bait at the moment, got 5 last Saturday arvo. Haven't heard of too many cod being caught, but they are there if you want to target them.
If you want a powered site or cabin, it would be best to ring beforehand & book. Miles of camping spots if you are tenting it though.
Cheers Peterr.

LOUIE
20-12-2005, 07:18 PM
Many thanks fellas, I live within 2 hours travel of this place and regularly work on the dam monitoring instrumentation however never fished the site.

Without giving away too much, is it preferable to fish the headwaters given there is still a fair fresh flowing in a present.

Louie

peterr
21-12-2005, 10:10 PM
Yeah, but I,d be a bit careful though, might be a few debris floating about. They would definitely be on the chew up there.
You'll do just as well in the main basin though if you put a bit of time in.
Cheers Peterr.