PDA

View Full Version : Freshwater Barra

herby
12-09-2001, 05:41 PM
I'm new to the impoundment Barra scene and was hoping someone could let me in on a few tricks of the trade to get me started. I mainly just flick lures but I am open to new ideas. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Muzzy
13-09-2001, 12:25 PM
I don’t fish impoundments but I do fish fresh water for barra mainly lagoons and billabongs.

Will try and help as best as possible.

Patterns I have sort of identified.

Night fishing is best/full or big moons better.

Gold is a real good colour for freshwater barra also get yourself a tiger lily bomber.

You need to use a sounder in deep water to identify what level to troll at.

Trolling covers more water but make sure you jig the lure don’t just prop it in a rod holder.

In cooler times try small lures real close to the cover i.e lily’s or snags

Live bait is also a productive option for bigger fish.

I prefer to use shallow divers at first then work deeper lures as you try and find the fish.

I could go on and on but I don’t know how lagoon tactics translate to impoundment ones.

P.S impoundment barra are not breeders so if you nail a meter fish don’t feel bad about keeping it for a mount as it would probably taste like a carp!

Brett_Finger
18-09-2001, 04:01 PM
Mate,
look for thr drop offs and big arches on the screen,then look for the hottest water you can find.even if it means circumnavigteing (spelt wrong) the whole damm dam ;D
poppers work well as do Lazer pro's/Bombers bouth in gold.and tigerlillie.i use 50lb bionic braid and a good strong rod,especially if yo are cast and retriveing around the trees and lillie pads,small bays in the lillie pads and along the face of said pads are a good place to start looking ;D
hope this is of some help.
Hookin, Brett

Katrina
29-09-2001, 02:27 PM
;) Circumnavigating! Big words are my thing! Cheers!

Brett_Finger
05-10-2001, 03:14 AM
thank you katrina ;D
all day, all day!!
Hookin,Brett

Danny.o.