View Full Version : Perch

jakester
27-01-2006, 11:00 AM
What makes some good bait/lures for perch?

Herby13
27-01-2006, 01:09 PM
Goldens or silvers your talking about? Live shrimp, crayfish, worms on a float for silver perch!

Thomas.

jakester
27-01-2006, 02:06 PM
silvers. what worms sea or garden? I also heard crickets work.

jakester
27-01-2006, 02:07 PM
What should I use for a rig?

scotty
27-01-2006, 02:30 PM
garden worms yabby tails and shrimp but worm isthe best mate running sinker with about 6lb line

charexblue
28-01-2006, 06:20 PM
:) hi jakester, where are you heading too?. would use same bait as "goin west" but i'd take some heavier line as snags and 6lb can be frustrating . mind you light line ,light rod great sport and good eating on the barbie.
cheers peter

jakester
30-01-2006, 05:04 PM
I think Lowanna or something?

jakester
05-02-2006, 03:53 PM
what hook size, sinker, swivel ect. will be good. I've got some 20lb line on reel and that is a good line of 9.1kg. It will stay on there for a while now and catch some fish (i hope :-[).

Herby13
07-02-2006, 10:26 AM
yeah garden worms on a float with ,about a meter or just over of leader, around the tree's has always been my best spot, but others try weed beds!!

Borumba_boy
07-02-2006, 06:06 PM
Wheres the fun in bait fishing :-?
Ive caught a few yellas on jackals (or the cheap river2seae twin vibs in the green natural colour work really well to) poltergeists in pink and anything in the manns range that dive to over 10 feet.
Hope this helps
Nathan
P.s Catch some big ones ;D ;D

Borumba_boy
07-02-2006, 06:07 PM
Wheres the fun in bait fishing :-?
Ive caught a few yellas on jackals (or the cheap river2seae twin vibs in the green natural colour work really well to) poltergeists in pink and anything in the manns range that dive to over 10 feet.
Hope this helps
Nathan
P.s Catch some big ones ;D ;D

laz
26-02-2006, 03:32 PM
Best lures i've found for river goldens are spinners use to catch heaps on them brands like hog backs,celta's,mepps,blue fox, in size's from about #3,#4, & #5 .On the down side was line twist when using the mepps and celta's.Has anybody out there ever caught a barra on a spinner ? ive been thinking of trying a blue fox in a #6 brass colour .As for bait we just use bait prawns from the local servo you can get two differnt types i found the green colured prawns are better than the red rough looking ones .Not sure but i think the red one's are coral prawns

BlitzBaga
26-02-2006, 10:40 PM
This is a Silver perch on a Blitz Baga.

BlitzBaga
26-02-2006, 10:42 PM
Silver on a Blitz Baga

fish_outta_water
27-02-2006, 10:04 AM
2 or 3 inch sp shads always work well for me

Truck
28-02-2006, 03:03 PM
By far the best bait in the freswater for goldens and silvers is the shrimp. Because you don't catch as many carp on them..... I find if you use worms all you catch is the bloody carp!!

they are also fun to catch on lures!!! seems like any small to medium lure with a fast action works well.

02-03-2006, 01:30 PM
I've caught them in the Namoi on worms dug from ground near to the river. As for lures, I would go for a slow retrieve with a big action lure. Plenty of those around, don't get too worried about colours.

Good luck.

Roz