PDA

View Full Version : technique for creating suspending hard bodies

Papa_Smurf
01-09-2006, 07:49 PM
I have been using suspending lures for barra since 1999. Although the old whitelady bellbrook swayback i used in the 60's would also have qualified. As others have written, the advantage is that you can let the big girls trundle up below and eye ball the lure. They often grab it either when its dead still or just as it moves.

The problem is there are few good ones about. B52s with 6X trebles and heavy split rings and a split ring at the eye are effective and storm saltwater thundersticks are great if upgraded. But a number of others are just too bouyant.

A trick I was shown works a treat.

Take your bouyant super shallow runner, use a fine drill to put a hole just behing the bib. Drill until you just enter the internal cavity. Make sure you have fitted upgraded hooks and split rings and a snap if you use them. Now fill a bucket with water. Use a syringe to inject water into the lure. I use the same syringe i use to deflate swim bladders offshore. Then put it into the bucket. By adjusting the amount of water you can make the lure float/suspend how you want it. Finish with a tiny drop of quick setting epoxy.

A couple of things. In coldwater lures float more, in warmer water they sink more. The deeper they go the less bouyant they are. Most lures will lose some action. But the large hooks probably have more impact.

eotbmg
03-09-2006, 09:03 AM
Thanks for the great tip Cap.
Will be doing it to my lures this week as i am going to Monduran next weekend!!! Cant wait

LOUIE
03-09-2006, 07:34 PM
Guys

A thought!

A critical factor that will effect the bouyancy of a lure is the salt content of the water you are fishing in, I believe this will have a greater effect than a change in the water temperature. The nigger fisherman have this well tabbed when they calibrate their floats for maximum sensitivity.