PDA

View Full Version : What's your favourite lure for fresh?

Canoedle
08-09-2006, 10:31 AM
I'm relatively new to this fresh water lark, and pretty much use 3 lures now on the troll when fishing Wivenhoe. A brown Manns deep diver, a Jackall TN60 and a killalure as seen in the attached pic. I had expected to see bass on both of the latter lures as they have got me solid bass in the past, and the Manns, well the catties seem to love it lol. It was a pleasant surprise to get a few nice yellas on them both as well. I've heard a few locals talking about spinner baits, but never had any luck with em, SO, cough it up! What's ya fav lure for bass and yellas?

davez104
08-09-2006, 11:41 AM
Used to have great success using stumpjumpers in the chrome colours, gold and silver. Also liked the halco polterghiests 50mm in purple or ozfrog. We mainly fished rivers where water depth was rarely deeper than about 4M but also fished Wuruma Dam a bit and did well with them up there too.

Dave.

seajay39
08-09-2006, 02:19 PM
All time favorite bass lure when trolling has to be a Bass Viper,in the brown/honeycomb colour,(pic).

Casting is a Bassman spinnerbait with a purple head black/gold skirt.and 1 Silver and 1 gold blade...

Sean

davez104
08-09-2006, 02:22 PM
Ah yes, the viper, almost forgot about that one. Every bit as good as the others I mentioned but gets a little more depth on the troll, came in handy quite a few times at Monduran. Also used that one in purple.

Dave.

scott_b
08-09-2006, 07:08 PM
Gday Canoedle
Mate I think spinnerbaits work best casting but I have seen them with winged sinkers on them , I'm not sure if it was being trolled because i found it stuck to a stump up the bank about 20 feet.
It was a good find because a few weeks later I put in on for a cast around a rocky loggy area and nabbed a nice 27lb cod.
wamjam

hardb8
08-09-2006, 07:49 PM
G'day canoedle,