View Full Version : glenlyon dam

ida
13-09-2006, 07:33 PM
high fellow fishers im going out to the dam in a couple of weeks .just wondering if anybodys doing any good ?& what are u gettn them on?im a saltwater fisho dont know much about freshwater fishn.any suggestions would be appreciated. cheers ida 8-)

bdowdy
14-09-2006, 08:47 AM
:)gday ida i fish here pretty regulary and try using spinnerbaits in dark olours such as purples and blacks for cod . fish the steep banks and trees letting the lure fall before starting to retrieve,fall again get the lure working up and down the tree or wall, also try trolling with spinnerbaits or a lure with a nice wide wobble. if bait fishing take ashrimp trap as these seem to be the best bait for yella belly, silver perch and even for eel tailed catfish. theres some big cod in here so use some good braid or mono whichever you choose , if you need any more info just pm me id be glad to help, just ask brian or debbie at the kiosk they will help you and put you on to where the fish are when your there. they are really nice people and you should enjoy your stay. cheers bdowdy,aka brett ;)

ida
14-09-2006, 08:02 PM
gday brett thanks for the info will do what you say. cheers ida 8-)

Feral
14-09-2006, 08:07 PM
I am heading out there in the school holidays for 4 days, first time targeting cod, really looking forward to the trip!

ida
15-09-2006, 03:55 PM
we will be out there a few days before long w/e!looking forward to going. might stay about a week ?. cheers ida 8-)

rossco
16-09-2006, 08:02 AM
I will also be at Glenlyon from 30th sept-8th oct
I have ausfish stickers on my boat, come & say g'day.

rossco

Tropicaltrout
17-09-2006, 03:59 PM
Hey fellas is the camp grounds there pet friendlywant to do a trip one day and want to know if i should pack the dog.

Feral
17-09-2006, 07:00 PM
I will also be at Glenlyon from 30th sept-8th oct
I have ausfish stickers on my boat, come & say g'day.

rossco

I'll try and remember! My boys and I will be in Grandads boat, a semi Tri hull looking thing, pretty easy to spot.

ida
17-09-2006, 08:15 PM
yeh will keep an eye out for you guys.ive got a 3.4mtr stessl .dont think you can take dogs or cats out there. i will be out there with ballina rsl fishing club. cheers ida 8-)

rossco
17-09-2006, 08:16 PM
Tropical trout
no pets alowed at Glenlyon dam as it is a national park.

Feral
I will look out for you.

rossco

Tropicaltrout
20-09-2006, 09:19 PM
cheers rossco ;)

Feral
22-09-2006, 05:01 AM
No worries Rosco,
"grandad" has also just informed me he will be outr there a few days earlier than the rest of us with his mate Graham in Graham's boat (guess who gets to tow Grandad's boat out there for him! )

rossco
22-09-2006, 04:26 PM
G'day guys, my have to turn this into a mini meet & greet,what do you guys think?
also keep an eye out for you too ida.

cheers rossco

Feral
22-09-2006, 06:13 PM
Sounds good.

ida
22-09-2006, 06:45 PM
sounds good to me .ill be out there next wed arvo. cheers ida 8-)

bearclaw
22-09-2006, 07:07 PM
Guys lets us know what the camp grounds are like.

Myles

onerabbit
23-09-2006, 12:43 PM
The boys & I will be there before the for the long weekend, will be good to catch up with you guys.

rossco
23-09-2006, 06:18 PM
Gday guys, bearclaw what do you need to know about the camp grounds?
see you there muzz.

cheers rossco

bearclaw
23-09-2006, 06:26 PM
Can't find much on it, other than what I read in Bush"n"Beach, eg can you camp near the water with your boat, kid friendy etc. One has already been answered no dogs.

Myles

rossco
24-09-2006, 06:03 AM
G'day bearclaw,from water to camp grounds is about 500 meters.
glenlyon is very kid friendly,wood bbq's with wood supplied,powered &non powered sites,cabins,kiosk(ice,gas,petrol,tackle & some supplies)tennis court,playground & fish cleaning table.

cheers rossco

scott_b
24-09-2006, 07:08 AM
Gday rossco
Hopefully I'll get there for a day or a night . I'll be in a white Rodeo dualcab with 3.95 tinny on the back.
wamjam

bdowdy
24-09-2006, 12:12 PM
:)gday guys i just got back from glen lyon and what you can all look forward is watching cod in the 30lb mark and up spawning at the dam wall i sat there this morning with brian and my fam and afew other cars and watched them chasing each other and even rolling on the surface, (ABSOLUTELY AWESOME STUFF) . i fished briefly and caught 1 yella on black and red spinnerbait, no cod this trip but i reckon it wont be long till these big spawners will be hungry again instead of loving. hope you all do better than myself cheers bdowdy ;) :)

bearclaw
24-09-2006, 05:10 PM
Thanks Rossco,
Will check it out on the way back from Sydney I think.

Myles

Feral
24-09-2006, 07:17 PM
So likely suspects for the unofficial meet and greet / run into each other would be

Rosco - 30/9 to 8/10
Feral - 30/9 to 4/10
Ida - Rolling up wednesday arvo, length of stay unknown
Wamjam 1 day and a night at some stage
One Rabbit - getting there before long weekend, length of stay unknown
(can someone tell me when the long weekend is, no long weekend in QLD)

rossco
24-09-2006, 07:54 PM
G'day wamjam, we will be in an onsite van, white dualcab trayback hilux.

feral,2nd oct for public holiday nsw.

bdowdy, we seem to find ourselfs giving up a morning or two fishing every year just to watch the cod at the wall, must agree they are awesome.
will be out of town all week with work.

cheers rossco

onerabbit
24-09-2006, 08:42 PM
Love watching the cod at the wall.

The long weekend is this one coming, still unsure wheather to travel Thursday or Friday, probably there until Tuesday.

I will be with the Ballina RSL Fishing Club crew, look for the noisey ones straight down the hill from the kiosk, ( we'll be good this year Brian, REALLY).

onerabbit
05-10-2006, 04:28 PM
Feral, wraithe & rossco,

It was great to catch up with you guys out on the dam, hope we can do it again sometime, cheers guys, what a great weeekend, didn't the dam turn it on for us this year.

Feral
05-10-2006, 04:50 PM
It cetainly did, had a great time, stuck some photo's up in the report section, you might recognise one!

ida
12-11-2006, 08:47 AM
gday guys it was a great trip it was good to meet you guys.i had the best w/e got heaps of yellas &3 cod just undersize.only just got computer on again so will be chatting cheers ida 8-)