View Full Version : Wivenhoe fishing

oztrav
03-01-2007, 10:30 AM
So would wivenhoe be a good dam to hit up tommorrow provived the rain stops or slows down. Havent done alot of fresh water or any fishing lately

Ps would it be better to go into the ' bays for shore fishing' or go down to past the dam wall past the legal limit.

ssab1
03-01-2007, 06:40 PM
catfish,catfish and maybe heaps more ,river would be better option but foot access limited.cheers alex

oztrav
03-01-2007, 07:57 PM
thanks mate I dont mind catfish as long as its something last two times Ive gone surf fishing I caught nothing

oztrav
04-01-2007, 07:25 PM
well my lady caught a 30 cm cat fish and I got nothing. I was surprised to see how much water has been lost from the dam since I went there as a little fella. Its such a long walk now to the waterline dammit

Canoedle
04-01-2007, 07:29 PM
where did you fish mate? You were very unlucky to not get a catfish. :P

oztrav
04-01-2007, 08:10 PM
At cormorant from 0700 to to about 0900 then went up to logans inlet for an hour
then thought I d go to billies bay as it looked nice. (when I drove past a few years ago to cruiser park) now it is non existent and apparently owned by the sailing club. We then went to the area near the info center where the boat ramp was. My lady used Sp and I used some hard body lures. This is my hat trick of fishing 3 times no fish.

Canoedle
07-01-2007, 10:13 AM
Head up to cormorant bay in the arvo as the sun goes down and throw surface lures in the deep water, I've never tried it down there, but this is how I get onto huge catfish up the top end of the dam.

ssab1
09-01-2007, 08:55 PM
get a rattling lure ,brings catfish in from miles away,as canoedle said try later in the day or early morning.cheers alex.

wrip109
10-01-2007, 04:29 PM
Try a hook and a prawn. Two mins and you will have a catfish. Anywhere you like so long as it is wet!

Phil